We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite right for us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI FAMILY LIFE Alcudia Pins
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Reviewed 27 June 2013

First of all this is definitely a family orientated hotel, It does what it says on the tin - water slides, kids pools, loud entertainment, activities and games etc. It's not suitable for couples.

Good Points

The food for an all inclusive offering was good. We've been to other all inclusive hotels and we thought the standard here was slightly better than we'd experienced at other resorts. There's a good selection to chose from and as long as you don't fall into the trap of sampling everything on the same plate then there's enough variety not to get bored. The actual quality of the meat and fresh salads stood out for me.

The hotel is in a great location leading directly onto the beautiful sandy beach. The beach and sea are as good as you're going to get in the med. Most days we chose the sun beds near Thea's coffee shop which meant you could easily alternate between the pools and the beach.

The hotel is spotlessly clean.

All the staff are polite and friendly.

There's a variety of kids slides suitable for all ages. The designated toddler/baby pools are especially good, you can sit on the side of the pool and feel comfortable letting the littles ones enjoy a bit of freedom without feeling compelled to be by their side all the time. The baby pool has a wooden canopy which provides a shaded area whilst being in the water.

We felt comfortable leaving our 4 year old at kids club. The kids entertainers worked tirelessly.

Children's evening entertainment is fun and interactive. Our 4 year old couldn't wait to get to the front of the stage every night and join in with all the dance routines.

Supermarket on site.

Other small shops, cash point, pharmacy just in front of the hotel.

Bad Points

Overall we were disappointed with the accommodation. In my opinion the size of the rooms are below standard and what we expected from a 4 star hotel. The bedroom is basically the size of a walk in wardrobe (it even has sliding doors). Having spent most of the day travelling we felt let down when entering the room and these negative first impressions were difficult to overcome. However having said that it didn't ruin the holiday, we just had it make sure we kept everything tidy to make sure there was enough day to day living space.

Air con - what air con! The temperature in the first few days was about 30 degrees outside and when the air con wouldn't go down below 25 degree I rang reception. They explained that the air con was working but this was as low as it could go (something to do with the ambient temp outside). As the outside temp dropped during the week into the mid twenties the air con in the room did get slightly better but the lowest it went to during our stay was 23-24 degrees. This is not air conditioning, when was the last time you got into your car and thought its hot in here and set it to 23-24 degrees to cool down!

The hotel layout is a little strangle. I suppose this is luck of the draw but you could end up overlooking the back of the catering access like us which isn't ideal. I knew it was a long shot but I asked reception if there was my chance of moving later on in the week if another poolside or beachside room came available but it was explained to me that people had paid extra for these rooms. If this is the case then our travel operator never gave us any options at the time of booking.
Once again this didn't ruin the holiday but we would have been inclined to sit on the balcony a bit more if the room was in a better location.

As the food hall is in a separate building located to the front left of the hotel reception then one of the main gathering areas for the kids after meal time was the turning circle for all the coaches. Although this isn't a high traffic area there's something not quite right about this.

Summary

We had a enjoyable holiday overall and the kids had a great time which is the main thing. There are lot of positive things about the hotel but the overall standard of accommodation lets it down.

It's a very busy hotel and there's no just no feeling of exclusivity. If you take aside the beach location then there's nothing else that really stands out. We had a good time never the less.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,833)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,023 - 1,029 of 1,833 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday with our 9 year old son and I would struggle to pick fault with this hotel in any way. The choice of food was excellent, the room was clean, the pools were great and the location was perfect. As for the service, British waiting staff could learn heaps from these people!

The beach is wonderful with soft sand and clear water. We went para-sailing from just up the beach and snorkelling around the jetty. We also visited Aqualand, and Marineland back down the south of the island which were perfect.

If its a good, fun, all inclusive, family holiday that you want with plenty to see and do, then it's Alcudia Pins all the way.

Thanks to all.

Room Tip: Be aware of noisy children in the morning!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank m n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2013

The hotel itself is very nice. Everything is clean and the staff are very friendly. It's the first time I've acutally seen the pool of a hotel beeing properly cleaned every day. Reserving chairs/beds around the pool isn't allowed which is a huge plus as well. There's a supermarket in the hotel which is very nice as well.

It's no secret that this is a hotel suited for families with kids so I will not hold that against them, but since it's 99% families that stays at this hotel the hotel and area around it is completely dead from 22/23.00 until morning. We found it impossible getting something to eat after 22.00 unless we took a taxi for about 5 minutes.

Alcudia Pins is located somewhat in the middle of the "bay" in an area that doesn't offer much else than the beach. This area seems to be more prone to wind than the ones closer to the port. Be prepared to spend somewhere between 12-15 euros (one way) getting to Port de Alcudia. We found the food to be way better here than the restaurants in or around the hotel, but avoid the ones which has employees trying to lure you in from the promenade.

I wouldn't go back with my girlfriend, but I would recomend the hotel and Alcudia to families.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NilsRuneHjelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

My friend and i stayed early june and found the hotel really well run. Food was really good, pools were great and all the staff were pleasant and helpful. Geared to families with children of all ages but wonderful for very young children. They enforce the rule of not reserving sunbeds which is great. If you leave towels out before about 9.30 they are removed unless you are sitting there. It still gets busy though and sun beds fill up quickly but at least you have a chance. Only criticism is that there are not enough umbrellas. The beach can't be any closer and is lovely. Just over 10 euros for 2 beds and a shade. As 2 adults we did find it a little noisy around the main pool, the adult pool is quieter but because of mobility issues my friend could not use the adult pool as access is only by ladders. We had a great holiday at a really friendly hotel and would recommend it to any family who wants a great time, great food and at a really nice hotel in a lovely location.

Room Tip: Lot's of noise around the main pool in the day so if you like quiet ask for a room away from thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jarobal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Location is good, out of town but with direct bus /sea ferry route to othre resorts. Good facilities close by, we found the 'pins mates' restaurant very good and cheap! Nice walks from the hotel Direct access onto a superb beach. We stayed in room G104, very quiet and central. Some rooms overlook the pool / stage, I would avoid this as it is very busy and noisy until late. Hotel staff very friendly. Pools very busy even out of season, not as cold as some people have said. Room cleaned 5 out of 7 days, not great.
The worst thing about this hotel is the creche. It is a small cold underground room with no nataural light next to the pool toilets. It is very sparsely furnished. All the children on arrival are screaming and crying, seem to be the same when you pick them up. All the staff seem to do is comfort distressed children, distressed because of the awful room and their inability / experience to distract them. On the third occasion my children (3 & 18 months) started crying when we approached the outside entrance! They refused to leave our arms, they are usually very sociable and enjoy nursery / childminder, playgroup etc. We left and let the staff know of our concern. The manager was supposed to contact us but never did. My 3 year old still says 'I don't want to go downstairs'.
We paid in advance for this 'service' unlikely we will see any money back, it is truly awful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DSD1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed at alcudia pins for 1 week all inclusive. I was already aware that the rooms are on the small side but they are adequate and cleaned well and at the end of the day they are only for sleeping in. The pool, is fantastic for children of all ages. It is cleaned, maintained and watched all the time with a strict no reserve rule on the sunbeds. We could safely sunbathe whilst our children 3, 6, 8 and 14 safely played in the water. The beach is fab and sea is shallow. Food was great, fresh and good variety and choice. The staff do an amazing job. My only grumble is that the uk Thomson entertainers are not great. They are friendly and helpful but when compared to the Swedish team that are talented entertainers the uk group are a bunch of young girls jumping around to tacky dances/songs and not so entertaining quizzes. But on a whole an amazing holiday and our kids loved it.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Briggslm83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This hotel was amazing because there is a lot to do for the kids and there are lots of places two chill. The hotel is right on the beach and the pool isn't too deep so the kids can be safe. The cleaners are amazing they do a brill job and I love the hotel I could go back any day!

Room Tip: There is possibly nothing to be done about the hotel it's amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayleb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.1 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#11 of 30 in Playa de Muro
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
312 reviews
0.6 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
1.2 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI FAMILY LIFE Alcudia Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI FAMILY LIFE Alcudia Pins

Address: C/ Canyes s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#19 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Hotel Class:3 star — TUI FAMILY LIFE Alcudia Pins 3*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this unique setting, between the white sand dunes of Platges de Muro and the spectacular Parc Natural de s’Albufera, Alcudia Pins reflects our way of understanding tourism: an offering of variety, happiness and well-being for your entire family.Thanks to personalised treatment, all of our personnel will be attentive to your every need. Our objective is for you to have a good time and leave your cares behind.Designed to provide you with everything you need for your holidays, Alcudia Pins awaits you with a pleasant atmosphere where you can enjoy your favourite activities worry-free in comfortable and safe lodgings that cater to the relaxation and well-being of your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your TUI FAMILY LIFE Alcudia Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcudia Pins Hotel
Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro
Alcudia Pins Majorca
TUI FAMILY LIFE Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing