We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely not 4star- room for improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Life Alcudia Pins
Ranked #20 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Whitehaven, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Definitely not 4star- room for improvement”
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed here for 2 weeks from may 9th as a family of 2 adults and 1 six year old child.
We found that the rooms were very well equipped and surprisingly modern looking.
We were quite pleased with the hotel as on first glance it looked really beautifully especially with the picturesque beach out the back. However we did start to notice that the cleanliness just wasn't up to 4* standards in our eyes especially when it came to the room being cleaned.
We found that the floors weren't being cleaned when the cleaners were coming round so it was a case of washing your feet again after walking on the floor when coming out of the shower as the floors were so gritty.
This also was the case around the pools and general public areas- we seen the cleaners "mop" these areas but it just wasn't good enough really- most places hose these public areas down on a daily basis, this was not the case here.
Another down fall is that this hotel hosts for a lot of Scandinavian guests and it felt like their entertainment staff got most of the limelight of an evening. Don't get me wrong they were a very talented trio of singers but it became a bit self indulgent, listening to them sing night in night out, if truth be told. The English Thomson entertainment team were more about involving the audience which we find more entertaining.
Everything else in the hotel was absolutely fine it's just let down by its general lapse daisy attitude towards cleanliness standards.
This is a great place to stay if you don't want to do anything but sit and sunbathe 24/7 but if you like to be adventurous then this place is out of the way from anywhere worth going so probably best not to stay here.

Room Tip: We stayed in block G dragonera which is really close to the entertainment stage so if you want an ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank john l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Thank you for your review of the hotel. We appreciate you explaining your experience with the cleaning, as we want to detect the flaw in the procedure that caused a problem. We strive to improve everyday, in all our services.
Regarding the entertainment , there are 2 groups of entertainers at the hotel, and they work together on the shows, but we will keep on working to co-ordinate them better.
We hope you consider the hotel for the future, as our aim is to find our weaker points and to provide a solution.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    555
    606
    333
    136
    81
See reviews for
1,266
111
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We have just returned from a week holiday to Alcudia pins and I have to say we enjoyed evey minute! We went as a family of 2 parents, 2 grandparents, a 4 year old and a 5 month old. From the moment we arrived and were greeted by several Thomson reps and other hotel staff we felt very welcomed.
The room we were given was unfortunately not the one we had booked as it did not have bunk beds as advertised but we managed for the week. We had a fantastic view of the pool and also the sea from our good sized balcony. The hotel was incredibly clean and tidy and housekeeping staff come round on 5 out of 7 days. The one bedroom apartments, which we had, are only just big enough for a family of four including a cot although there was not a lot of room to move around in the bedroom.
The food was beautiful and there was a good variety and the children's area was very good for my 4 year old.
The pools were lovely although quite cold but we put that down to the time of year it being at the beginning of the season. My oldest son loved playing in the splash pool and managed to go into the main pool a couple of times!
The location is great as it is right on the beach, however my only issue with this is there is no suitable path for a pushchair so we rarely took our youngest son on the beach.
At the time we went (5th-12th may) it was outside school holidays the hotel was obviously not as busy as at peak times but there were loads of sun beds to choose from and enough shaded ones too as my 5 month old got a little fed up at times!

All in all it was a brilliant holiday and we are looking at coming back again next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
We are very grateful with your comments, we will give your compliments to our staff and the Thomson staff. Your words make us feel proud of our work.
We check constantly our cleaning processes to detect where to improve and give a better service every day.
We would like to announce that 200 apartments have been refurbished this winter to give the rooms a new layout and make them more comfortable.
Our 4 pools are not heated that’s why at the beginning of the season the water is a bit cold, but in a couple of weeks the temperature will increase and water will be warmer.
We all hope to see you soon, again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hassocks, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We stayed here very recently 1st may -8th may 2014 and we had a great time there was me my husband and two young toddlers. We where in block c Ibiza which was great our only issue was the size of the room as we booked a one bedroom but lesson lurnt. The food was great and the staff where friendly and very willing to help. We loved the location of the hotel and spent a lot of time on the beach. The pools where great my oldest loved them and we struggled to get her out the only downside was that the pools where too cold for our youngest. The whole place was very clean and well kept. All in all a great holiday

Room Tip: Don't choose a one bedroom
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Director General at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Thank you for taking your time to express your experiences about your holiday in Alcudia pins.
Our family orientated complex has everything you need for the little ones, for example our baby lounge, where you have all the necessary facilities to take care of your toddlers, right next to pool area.
We will pass on your comments about the food and cleaning to all our staff who make a big effort to cater all your needs and work hard to do so.
Our hotel has bigger apartments than the one you were in. Apartments with two separated bedrooms and a larger living area you can book from your travel agency.
We all hope to see you soon again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

we stayed here june 2013 for two weeks. great location great food and service from the bar area equally as good. however (perro) reception staff apart from ramon, care not a jot for you or your stay. we made numerous attempts to move room. but the only reply was the hotel was full and that I'll need to speak to thomsons. we did that but it seemed they were on holiday aswell as they did nada. I was shocked when I was standing at reception a few days in and a Scandinavian girl got a room change with a sea view "no problemo" said the receptionist. again I asked for a move at reception but they reffered me to thomsons. when I ask to speak to the reps manager, they say she's not at the resort and they don't know when she'll be here. so I ask for her name. couldn't make this up. they said "under data protection act we cannot give you her name" I gave up soon after and just got on with it. my kids loved it. I grew to like it. even though walking through reception every day they looked at you like " here comes trouble", wich you have to do if you stay in the H block or the other block that's above the restaurant. also beware of the cactus that sits at the bottom of the ramp leading to the restaurant. my daughter fell in it she was lucky. a small boy fell in it the day before and had to go to hospital as the cactus gives of a poison. but don't worry the onsite doctor will check your'e kid out for 80 euros. in all honesty if you are lucky enough to get a good room you will love this place as the beach is stunning, pools good but busy, towel situation is the best i've seen abroad (they take them away from unused beds till 9;30am.) that can be entertaining at times. but I wouldn't go back unless I was Scandinavian you'll see what I mean when you get there.

Room Tip: stay away from H block unless you like watching bin lorries or buses turning up every 10 mins having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mickybhoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Director General at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Firstly, thank you for telling us about your experiencies at our hotel, reading it carefully we are able to find the points where we can better.
We would like to explain that during high season it is really difficult to change apartments. All the blocks are classified for the views by the touroperators, and reception is not allowed to move anyone without the booking being changed via the agency. We always treat customers as individuals and not by nationality.
Regarding the medical center placed in our complex, we would like to mention that is a private service. The nearest place to use your national health service is in Inca at the general hospital.
We take note of your impressions, for sure will help us to improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for 2 weeks at May school holidays. We had a fantastic family holiday- 2 parents, 2 grandparents, 4 year old and 6 month old.
The food was simply excellent. Lots of choice and brilliant quality. Never a day went by when we all didn't find something we loved. I don't think you will find this standard of food in most 3/4 star hotels.
Lots of pools to chose from. The hotel's policy of removing towels from unattended beds before 10am is a great idea- I wish all hotels did this! It meant there wasn't the usual scrabble for sunbeds that you see in most hotels. After 10am, this doesn't happen- I think they realise that people are in the pool etc by then.
My eldest attended the kids club and loved it! My only gripe is they have limited numbers so you had to get in the queue early if your child wanted to go- this is a family hotel in the school holidays so there should be more places available!
Beach simply fantastic.
Location is not great if you like to get out and about. Not much in the immediate area and 15 minutes in a taxi to Alcudia (not 5 as the Thomson brochure states).
Excursions expensive but I guess they always are when booked through the reps.
We loved that there was a playground and a football pitch next to the outdoor seating area- it meant we could sit and have a drink while being able to see the children.
Rooms were fine- we were on an all inclusive holiday so never planned spending too much time in them!
Staff were always polite and helpful.
All in all we loved the holiday and would have returned this year (never done that before! ) but unfortunately the price in August for 2 adults and 2 kids was a bit too expensive for us so we're off to Palma Nova instead!
Enjoy if you're going!!! It's a wonderful family hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
9 Thank Marilyn14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Director General at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
we appreciate your comments about your holiday, specifically about the food. The quality and variety of cuisine is our 4 different restaurants is one of our main objectives. Last May we opened the new Green & Grill restaurant, a different buffet option with a large terrace facing the sea.
Our policy about sunbeds is clear, they cannot be reserved and all the towels if left unattended will be removed. This is a welcomed measure by our clients.
We also would like to mention that 200 apartments have been refurbished and updated.
We hope you enjoy your time in Palmanova but not too much, so you decide to book our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We visit alcudia pins every holiday we take it is very clear and tidy and also wheel chair friendly this is the best family resort I have seen and can't wait for our next visit in August the children love to play by the pool and the staff friendlyness is amazing we get off our coach and it really feels like home

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank bgalbraith13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Director General at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
We thank you for your review. The best comment somebody can tell you, if you are working in a hotel is that "they felt at home", of course there is the possibility of mistakes, but those kind of comments make us feel proud of our efforts.
As you wrote, we are a wheelchair friendly resort, that's why this winter we have built ramps to all entrances of the 4 remaining blocks which didn't have them before.
we look forward to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Was a little concerned when I booked this looking at some of the reviews and the size of the hotel complex, but it looked really good for our children and close to the beach. Having been on many Thompson Holidays thought it would be Ok and it was... Yes it is busy during the school holidays but it is a hotel aimed at people with young children and that is why we went there. All inclusive is the way forward... Kids had as much to eat and drink as they liked and I did not have to worry about the cost. Food was reasonable and there was always something on the menu that we would all eat. The resort is a bit isolated, but we had no need to travel most days. We did catch the bus from right outside one day to go to the market. Kids had a great time in the clubs and have asked to go back. Happy kids = peaceful holiday..!!

Room Tip: Ibiza Block with a Sea View....
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Thank you for your comments about the hotel, we therefore hope to see you back next year and of course we will use them to improve our service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
1.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,032 reviews
0.0 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#6 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,018 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,432 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Life Alcudia Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Life Alcudia Pins

Property: Family Life Alcudia Pins
Address: C/ Canyes s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#19 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Hotel Class:3 star — Family Life Alcudia Pins 3*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this unique setting, between the white sand dunes of Platges de Muro and the spectacular Parc Natural de s’Albufera, Alcudia Pins reflects our way of understanding tourism: an offering of variety, happiness and well-being for your entire family.Thanks to personalised treatment, all of our personnel will be attentive to your every need. Our objective is for you to have a good time and leave your cares behind.Designed to provide you with everything you need for your holidays, Alcudia Pins awaits you with a pleasant atmosphere where you can enjoy your favourite activities worry-free in comfortable and safe lodgings that cater to the relaxation and well-being of your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Cancelon so you can book your Family Life Alcudia Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcudia Pins Hotel
Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro
Alcudia Pins Majorca
Family Life Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing