We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not brilliant.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Family Life Alcudia Pins
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not bad but not brilliant.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 1st week
In June with hubby and 5 yr old twin boys. Weather was great, really warmed up towards the end of the week. This hotel is great for kids, from the pools to the kids club which the kids loved ! Night time entertainment great for
Kids but no good adult entertainment. We were all ready for bed by 10pm anyway. Food was ok, repetitive and sometimes not very hot. Also had to sometimes wait for the food to be replenished. Location of hotel is great for the beach, literally on it. Went down every afternoon for a dip in the sea which was warmer than the pools ! Asked if could keep room on as wasn't getting picked up till 3pm but couldn't so used the courtesy rooms which were ok but be warned, they do not provide shower gel which I couldn't believe. If I would have known i would have brought my gel from the room when checking out !!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bazlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We first want thank you for choosing us as your holiday destination. We appreciate all your comments and suggestions.
We will check the adult entertainment to find out if there are new improvements for the futures.
Thank you very much for the proposal to provide gel in the shower’s luggage room.
We would love to welcome you back soon in our hotel to make it brilliant next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,658 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    590
    318
    130
    77
See reviews for
1,220
107
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bagillt
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Have just spent a week at alcudia pins and have to say what a fantastic holiday we had, our first holiday with the kids aged 4 and 1, lots for them to do. We didnt put them in kids club because we like to spend our holiday with them although im sure they would have enjoyed it, all staff from cleaners to restaurant were brilliant, the food was brilliant, huge selection from morning till evening, the room was fine with fridge and microwave and decorated nicely, two single beds and a bunk bed(family room) beds were very comfy, were stayed in block h216. We were all-inclusive which i must say i liked very much, drink and eat as much as you like. The beach was a stones throw away with golden sand and blue water, the hotel supply you with beach towels aswell. All in all a fantastic holiday and would definately go again, thankyou so much to all the staff for making our holiday so brilliant.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gazzajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We appreciateyour comments and feelings about your trip to Mallorca and your stay in Alcudia Pins.
H216, the room you were allocated in, is a newly refurbished one. We are happy that you liked the new decoration and layout.
We will pass on your compliments to our staff and we hope to see you next summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Last month was our fifth time at Alcudia Pins since 2009. For us it started as an Airtours holiday but has been Thomson for our last two holidays. The hotel is very clean and tidy and the staff are great (no language problems,especially if you try a bit of Spanish, they really appreciate that). TV gets more English channels each time we go which helps if there's any rain. Good mix of English, Dutch and Scandanavian family's, all very friendly. The evening entertainment is good to very good on most nights. It's now all inclusive and the food is great. You may have to wait occasionally to get a seat (more so in peak season) but the staff get you sorted as soon as they can. We were a party of 6 this time, me and my partner in our 40's, our two girls 16 & 17 and my parents in their mid seventies. Everyone found something they liked to eat and being all inclusive you get drinks as well (soft drinks, tea, coffee, beer, wine). The rooms are basic but spotless. The hotel is right on the beach and it's shallow water for around 30M so it's good for little ones and those not too comfortable in the sea. All in all it's in a fairly quiet area so you don't see any bother or rowdiness, If you want pubs and clubs they are a 5 minute taxi away. We love the Pins and will be back some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We take this opportunity to thanks your loyalty with our complex it make us feel really proud of our job and our hotel.
We are happy that every member of your family found the way to enjoy their holiday as our vacation concept is to treat everyone personally.
We will inform the staff of your complements about food and improvements taken, this is mainly thanks to them.
We hope to see you soon, Hasta la vista!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This was our first holiday abroad with our children and our first all inclusive experience. We are definitely booking again next year. Fantastic quality of food and so much choice, excellent pools and slides. Definitely ideal for the under 10's. And the most important thing is - everything was very clean. Access to a gorgeous beach. Not sure why other reviews are complaining about unheated pools - you soon get used to it, and the kids didn't seem to mind. They were in the pool or sea all day so didn't get to use the kids club but will definitely be using it next time. All hotel staff and Thompsons staff very helpful and friendly. We were in G block which was absolutely fine. The Thompsons transfers to and from the airport were very efficient.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leedstraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are very happy that your first holiday abroad was that satisfactory. Thank you for your kind mention to the cleanliness and of our staff, we will pass on to them.
Looking forward to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is probably the paradise for parents who have small kids. It has many swimming pools that kids can play with (roughly about 5 in total). There is always activities for kids, some shows last to 22:30 about. it is very fun for kids. For the same reason, if you don't have kids and don't like noise then it is wise to avoid this hotel. I booked it in last minute and traveled with adults only. For me, it was very noisy because there are always kids and parents walking and talking on the aisle in anytime during the day. Some of them just have no sense on how late it was and how noise it is to others guests in the building that i lived (G). Kids are crying some time around 06:00 am in the early morning (of course, not their fault).

Something that i do feel like to complain is the Internet service at this hotel. Basically, the wi-fi coverage is almost none (i lived actually just above the lobby), and it takes forever to load the web page even when i am in the wi-fi hot spot area. the charge for paid Internet service is 6 euro/hr which i feel it is more expensive than in London. The door lock was broken at the first day i checked in and i had to go down to the reception to inform this. The instruction on how to use the safe box is never clear. I followed everything but couldn't get it worked then again i have to talk to reception to find out why and it turns out you need to do some process twice rather than it says once on the instruction but how would guests know this trick without seeing anything from the user menu?

As for swimming pool, I am not sure if there is even a swimming pool for adults.. Everyday all pools are filled with kids. What i do feel is.. good to have pools for kids but not a bad idea to have one reserved just for adults because it is the time you actually can swim a bit.

Like i said, if you have kids.. you would probably love it.. if you want a bit average quietness then it is not the one for you..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
First of all we want to express our gratitude for your opinion about our hotel.
As you mention our complex is all aimed at families and especially adapted for children.
Regarding the internet issue, we want to explain that it is a new service which is given for free to everyone. We are taking special care to improve it as we want to provide full access.
We will check the safe deposit box instructions to make it easier; thanks for the recommendation!!
We hope to see you again if you ever look for a family orientated resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We had a very nice holiday at Alcudia Pins, we liked being able to swap between the pool and the beach so easily. The weather was rainy at times and also quite windy but generally warm and at times quite hot( we were there 23-30 May.) The staff were friendly and helpful ( staff at all inclusive bar seemed a bit jaded!) Foodwise there was a big variety, good salad and fruit bar and lots of cooking stations for meats etc. We had some sushi on the oriental night but the wasabi was so strong - try with caution!! We didn't use the kids clubs so we can't comment on those. We did watch a bit of entertainment with our kids (4 and 7years) - just cheesy fun for them! We were in Ibiza block and went for a pool view, we were lucky and also got a sea view. I think it's worth the extra for a poolview because it was peaceful in the evenings. Would we recommend this hotel- yes. Would we go back- no but that's only because we always try new location.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hirstfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
We are very glad with your review about your holiday in our complex. We appreciate your special mention to the staff as it always makes them feel proud of the job they do. Its also good to know that you were happy with the variety of food as we constantly check the menus to improve them.
It’s a shame you won’t be back but we thank you for recommending us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

I love a good holiday and have used Thomson's a number of times because the Reps, Kids Club & Entertainment are second to none (which to be fair is still the case here) but I have to say the hotel really didn't live up to what I have come to expect.....It has the makings of a fabulous family resort but everything is just falling short. This was a half term break so I had already been stung by the price for this week. We got the 0825 flight out to Majorca but was delayed at Gatwick for 50 mins due to slow baggage stowing....forgivable I hear you say...which it was until we reached Palma where the consquences of it played out. Here they too were finding it a slow process to unload our baggage as we had arrived late so after a further 45 mins waiting for the carousel to move we finally had our bags and were on our way.....or were we??!!! You see Thomson have done away with Reps on airport transfers and due to our delay had sent coaches off without us. So when us as a party of 7 (my parents in their late 60's, my husband and 3 children twins aged 14 & a 5 yr old asked for our transfer coach their was some scratching of bus driver heads. We ended up being split up so my parents went onto another coach which would divert to our hotel while we went on the original one. The biggest surprise was that their luggage wasn't taken off the original coach but luckily we found it with ours on arrival. The coach driver did not announce any of the hotels on the hour or so transfer so there was a number of leaning heads to windows everytime we stopped. Once at the hotel we found out that they did not have two family rooms we had booked (twin beds & set of bunk beds) and asked if this was a problem! I asked if there were enough beds for everyone which she assured us there were so we found our way upstairs of Reception in Dragonera Block G. The rooms were lovely and modern with flat screen TV(A good supply of English channels, although CBeebies not on all TV's), sofa area and bathroom with bath and shower over. I have to say this was nice except the sofa bed in our room (instead of bunk beds) had no linen or pillow for our 5 yr old, a broken hairdryer and my parents ended up with a dirty kettle in their room that had black/rust bits floating if they boiled it. Both rooms were also a bit far away from the pool and close to the turning circle for the coaches that beep day and night. Due to delays we arrived at snack time which literally as we found out is demolished within 5 mins of biscuits and pizza and isn't replenished, so our first meal was 2 mini walls ice cream tubs. The next day my mum sat on a sun bed which bleached her shorts from navy to pink. The hotel admitted it could be chlorine (not want you want around kids) so paid her 15 euros for new ones once Thomson got involved. The wifi at the hotel although free is absolutely useless and drops out within a few minutes if you can connect in the first place. The swimming pools were freezing, so freezing infact my 5yr old sons lips turned blue after about 15 mins and I had to run him a hot bath after every dip as it irritated his bladder. I was later informed they do have heaters in a couple of pools but don't bother to turn them on (not sure about this though). The a la carte restaurant which you can have once a week free on all inclusive took over an hour and a half to provide us with a main tapas course although it seemed more due to staff shortages than shabby waiting service. The Green and Grill restaurant which used to be an option daily has become twice a week only of an evening. The coffee shop that used to be the bar before the hotel's rejig is now not available to all inclusive customers unless you want to pay for a coffee which is a massive shame. If you need a drink you have to walk across the complex past the pools to the Green and Grill which means its a trek. The week we stayed we had lots of rain showers and a thunder storm. The indoor bar was only reluctantly opened once which meant a full drenching to the Green and Grill for any drinks as the walk is not under cover. The main restaurant steps and slope are lethal in rain and my mum fell down the stairs almost doing the splits in the process. You would think they would have a non slip surface on areas used so often. The main restaurant does offer a good selection of food but you do have to do several circuits of it to work out what will go with what to make a complete meal. The entertainment was mostly dedicated for the TUI Nordic customers (put on by TUI staff) which was disappointing as it was very 80's cabaret. The singers were ok but it was very repetitive. I have to say the Thomson kids club was a god send and Sammie Whammy went out of her way to make my 5yr olds holiday memorable for good reasons rather than bad. My 14 yr old boy had loads of fun meeting others on the football court and it was a shame nothing was organised for 12yr olds. Our return transfer was a horrid affair which meant we left at 0915 but didn't actually leave the resort until 1010 and finally got to the airport for 1050....1hr 35mins is much too long when the actually journey is only 40mins. The flight home was also delayed as they found 2 bags extra so had to unload everything and find them. The Captain was fantastic and offered cockpit visits to all the children while we waited for the bags to be found. This gesture seemed to pull the holiday back on track at the final hurdle. All in all hotel fell very short but could be amazing with its beachfront location, Thomson need to get the transfers sorted but their staff really did pull out the stops.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
We thanks the time you have taken to write your opinion about your holiday.
We will pass on all your comments about the flights and transfers to the tour operator, we are sure it will help them to improve.
Regarding your experiences in the hotel, we would like to apologise for the issues encountered in your rooms at the check in. We hope you informed reception so we could solve it immediately. Also we explain that there is a restaurant included in the “all inclusive” option, serving lunch until 4 pm and its open again for dinner at 6 pm, in between its open with mini snacks.
The water at the pools cannot be heated as they are not prepared for it.
We would also like to inform you that children up to 12,have daily activities with the entertainers from 11am to 4 pm.
We are happy that overall you enjoyed your holiday, we hope to see you again at the Alcudia Pins.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
1.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Viva Bahia
Hotel Viva Bahia
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
1.3 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#14 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,344 reviews
0.7 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.1 mi away
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Family Life Alcudia Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Family Life Alcudia Pins

Property: Family Life Alcudia Pins
Address: C/ Canyes s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#19 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Hotel Class:3 star — Family Life Alcudia Pins 3*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this unique setting, between the white sand dunes of Platges de Muro and the spectacular Parc Natural de s’Albufera, Alcudia Pins reflects our way of understanding tourism: an offering of variety, happiness and well-being for your entire family.Thanks to personalised treatment, all of our personnel will be attentive to your every need. Our objective is for you to have a good time and leave your cares behind.Designed to provide you with everything you need for your holidays, Alcudia Pins awaits you with a pleasant atmosphere where you can enjoy your favourite activities worry-free in comfortable and safe lodgings that cater to the relaxation and well-being of your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Family Life Alcudia Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcudia Pins Hotel
Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro
Alcudia Pins Majorca
Family Life Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing