We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly staff and super small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins
Ranked #21 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Boden, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unfriendly staff and super small rooms”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I booked this hotel with my family via Fritidsresors in Sweden. They said it was a 4 star hotel with many amenities and commodities. The first impression was fairly good, the hotel employees took care of all the people checking in in a very fast and organized manner. The room was a total disappointment, the double bed in the bedroom fitted the room perfectly, but nothing else. It was difficult to get to bed because of the little room left between the bed and the walls. Leave alone to put anything in the wardrobe. The "beds" they offer for my two tall sons were a couch/bed kind of thing from which my oldest son's feet stuck out. The mattress was so thin one could actually feel the ribs of the thing under it. But, OK, we could live with that, after all only a week, one can adapt. But, the problems with this hotel were more severe than that, we felt that on Saturday when we tried to buy some items with a 500 Euros bill. The hotel refused to accept the money and further more diss informed us that in Mallorca these bills are illegal and can only be exchanged in the local banks, which unfortunately were closed until Monday! For the first, this was a lie, for the second after asking a bit around we got the bill exchanged at the Iberostar hotel only 300 meters away. When confronted with this the staff said it was policy of the hotel and that they "apologize" for that, but nothing they could do about. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone, if you are traveling with your family avoid this hotel like fire, it will do you no good.

Room Tip: If you anyway decide to book this hotel, call them and ask for decent rooms, they seem to have two o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natalia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We first want to thank you for your review explaining your holiday.
We are glad to know that you had a good first impression, and we hope you enjoyed our food and drinks, entertainment and all the different services and the many facilities we have in our resort.
The room you were in will be refurbished as we understood it needs to be renovated according to the category of the hotel.
We want to apologise if you were given wrong information of your bill, but the hotel has the policy of not exchanging such a big bill, as all the places have only a small till to work during the day. It is a shame that this incident spoilt all your holiday, we apologise again.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    575
    624
    342
    142
    88
See reviews for
1,321
112
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

i have just returned from a one week holiday with my father and two children aged, 3 and 8.

the transfer to the hotel from the airport was a lot longer than expected, because our coach was dropping off at a few other hotels all on the north of the island. if we were told this we would have booked a private hire taxi, our flight landed at roughly half 4 and we arrived at half 7 at the hotel.

the hotel itself was lovely, our first room was brilliant, we were told that we couldn't have a bunk bed as they wernt in the pool view rooms however when we arrived we found that we did have bunkbeds, as well as twin beds and a sofa which turns into a twin bed. however my the third day we had to complain about the music from the evening entertainment, we couldn't hear each other on the balcony because it was so loud. aslo it went on until after 11 most nights, and we found it really hard to sleep. the staff were brilliant and found us a new room the next day which was the other side of the buildings and much quieter and we had a sea view which was a bonus!

we booked through tomson and the reps were brilliant, my children loved the kids clubs and went almost every day!

other than being so far from the airport, the location is excellent, right on the beach, and only a short bus ride into the port of alcudia, which is a lovely spot for shopping and has some nice resturants. we also found that we could get a boat back to the hotel, and they drop off just outside the hotel on the beach.

the hotel also have towels to use outside the room, we had to ask at the from desk to get a voucher to take to the shop. and return the towels at the end of your stay. brilliant not to have to pack towels.

the pools were brilliant, we spent most of every day by the pools, they have slides for small children and a larger slide for the older ones. my children didn't want to leave the pool!

the food was excellent a large selection with two resturants and a further one that we could visit once.

Room Tip: ask to be away from the evening entertainment, ideally not in buildings a or b. and in the front of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RebeccaELHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thanks for holidaying at Alcudia Pins and further more thank you for reviewing the hotel.
We are glad that you were pleased with the room, and sorry for any disturbance had by the music and room change.
It’s good that you made use of the towel service, it’s certainly handy to have extra space in the luggage.
The restaurants are always working to make sure that we provide something for everyone, we are happy that you enjoyed them.
Nice to know that your children had a good time as well and we will pass on your appraisal to all the children club staff.
Even though we are on the other side of the island to the airport it means that we are surrounded by more natural areas as the Albufera and the long stretch of beach.
We will be pleased to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Well outside Alcudia (Which is good!) and right on the beach. Good choice and quality of food and a great choice for a family looking for an all inclusive break away from the busy part of town.

Only disppointment was size of room. Room a little dated a squeeze for 3, let alone 4 people. However, we believe that other things are more important than the room and we recommend this hotel. If you want a choice of bars and restaurants, stay closer to Alcudia, or even better Ca'n Picafort, which would appear to have the best of both worlds, not too busy but other things to do.

Room Tip: I would check to see if you can get a bigger room than a standard 1 bedroom studio, if more than 2 p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We appreciate you review of Alcudia Pins, we are situated on the outskirts of Ca’n Picafort and a few miles from Alcudia, although there are a couple of smaller tourist areas in between, with bars, shops and restaurants.
It’s nice that you had a good holiday and enjoyed our services and facilities.
We all hope here, that you plan your future holiday in our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We have just returned from our second stay at Alcudia Pins. We stayed for 2 weeks from 24th July to 7th August (peak holiday time) as a family of 2 adults and our twin daughters aged 4. We have had a fantastic holiday yet again. We stayed in a 2 bed apartment with pool view, as booked, in Block D. The 2 bed apartment was great - extremely spacious and much better than 1 bed apartment we had last year. These rooms have not yet been updated but were still very clean and well equipped. The only comment which has been previously mentioned is a full length mirror would be welcomed. Block D is close to stage but the entertainment is always over by 11pm at latest. If this is a concern for you ask to be away from main stage.

The restaurants and bars were again excellent. Great service, quality and selection. There had been a number of improvements since our last visit, such as bottled water in bars, green and grill restaurant improved in evenings etc. We chose to eat at Tavern by the Sea 2 evenings when our children were in kids club as we could have a more relaxing evening.

The location of the hotel is fantastic right on amazing beach. Along with the numerous pools there are many options for people depending on what they want. We tended to base ourselves near the baby/toddler pool which is quieter than main pool and go to other pools / beach for short periods throughout the day. This year my daughters appreciated all the pools and had great fun.

The kids club offered by Thomson is excellent. I can't praise the kids club reps highly enough. The energy and personal service they give is fantastic. A special mention to a Raving Rachel who is the team leader and especially Ollie who my daughters loved and were in tears on the morning we left because they wanted to see him! If you read this many thanks to all of you for your hard work and giving my daughters a fantastic holiday and lasting memories.

The Thomson entertainment was much improved this year. Again special mention to Jonny Rocks who my daughters loved and found hilarious. Also Jessie J who has a very good voice. The Blue Village team were good but I felt this was not as good as last year (maybe because the Thomson team were better) but I also found the blue village shows very repetitive on last year with many of the shows the same and repeated on a weekly cycle. There were a few more external acts this year which seemed to be responding to feedback.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel for families especially with younger children. It is very busy but we were there during peak holidays both years and never queued at restaurants and only briefly at bar in evening in between shows and there is now bar at back of entertainment area which never had queues. You can also find quieter areas near pools away from the main pool. The wifi signal was not great but seemed to improve on the last couple of days so we suspect some improvements had been made. We could have happily stayed for a further week even after 2 weeks and would return if the price was right, however next years prices are looking very high during the main holidays unfortunately. We paid £4200 this year for 2 weeks all inclusive so not cheap but worth it.

We did a number of trips but none through Thomson as we found a local company called 'no frills' who we used last year and did 5 trips with this year. They offer great trips and good value for money, especially if you book before you leave. Would recommend seeing a bit more of the Island as it is a fantastic place.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
8 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Thank you for a full and nice review of the hotel and services.
It’s fantastic that you and all the family had a good time.
What’s nice is that you could compare it with last year and appreciate the improvements that we have put in place, such as at the restaurants and bars. It’s also nice you give future guests tips on things to do and see, so that they can be informed a bit more of the island.
We, of course, will pass on your good comments to all the Thomson staff and entertainers, which is always a nice encouragement in the height of season.
We hope you able to find a good deal, as we want you back, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We went as a family of 4, mum , dad, 3 yr kid daughter and. 1 yr old son.
The positives - The quality of the food and drink is very good. The location is lovely. The facilities for the children was great. Thomson staff were great with all ages of kids also.
The negatives - The rooms were not great, we moved rooms, although the second was an improvement on the first, the second was not great. Also many people are saying its overcrowded, it really is. Sunbeds and personal space are a luxury.
We paid good money for this holiday, expected the earth but probably got what we paid for. If we want better next year we will look at 5 star hotels. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jedimatt69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We are grateful with you taking your time to give your opinion about your holiday with us.
We want to thank you for valuing the food and drinks we offer, as we prioritise the quality and we are constantly checking all the menus to give a pleasant experience.
As we mention many times before, August in Mallorca is high season and our hotel has a high level of occupancy, but we will study what the hotel can do on this issue.
If you ever decide to go back to a hotel of our category we hope you choose us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deal, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Scenic journey by coach across the island from the Airport, with multiple drop-offs/pick-ups at various other Hotels in both directions.
Hotel clean and tidy, staff helpful and accommodating. Food varied and good supply as were the liquid refreshments. Wi-Fi was rather patchy and unreliable. The main pools were very bracing, did not try the small ones.
Great for long walks along the sandy beach, also good for swimming.
5 year old enjoyed the "Kids Club" well looked after by the staff and the teens made their own fun with the facilities provided. Adults had sun on loungers around the pools and on the balconies.
The evening shows were entertaining.
The stone steps are slippery when it rains.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sailor513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
We want to thank you for your words explaining your time on holiday in Alcudia Pins.
We appreciate very much your mentions to the cleanliness of the hotel, the variety of food and drinks, and to our staff. This words help everyone here, to keep on working hard and giving a personal touch to our guests.
We want to explain that the company who provide the wifi service is still trying to ensure full access to our huge resort. We take note about your advice of the slippery steps.
Thanks again and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Where do l begin??!!! I am two weeks back from the most amazing holiday and still have major holiday blues!!! I stayed at the Alcudia Pins for 2 weeks from the 8th to the 22nd July, along with my Husband and 6 year old son. We had a one bedroomed appartment over looking one of the pools. We were in Block D. It couldnt have been better situated. We could see the astro pitch and also the outdoor stage where the evening entertainment was held. I had read before travelling that the noise was terrible if you had children trying to sleep but in fact one night we were all wrecked so we went to bed early and with the doors closed there was only a faint distant hum of music. Speaking of entertainment, we really enjoyed what was on offer. It was very professional. Given that our little boy is so into football, we were able to have a drink and enjoy the shows while he played with all the kids on the football pitch!! A word of advise to parents of budding soccer stars: bring runners/astro boots!!! Real kits or Barcelona kits are all available to buy at the markets or gift shops around Alcudia!!! A word about the Holiday Reps, l dont think l have ever seen such hard working, friendly and helpful people. From the moment we arrived till the moment we left they just couldnt do enough. Anna Bannana and Johnny Rocks were two of the Entertainment Team. They were exceptional. I dont think that l have ever two such brilliant Reps. They are the cream of the Thompson Team. There were lots of daily activities for adults and of course all the kids clubs. We went self catering but judging by what other guests were saying the all inclusive food was of a very high standard. The Complex was spotless and well kept. If there was any rubbish left lying around it was due to messy people not because staff werent doing their job. I loved the policy on not putting towels on sunbeds and leaving them unattended before 10.00am. It meant that at least there was a chance for all guests to get sunbeds without killings!!! The beach was right at the back of the Appartments and what a fantastic beach it was!!! It was paradise!!! Alcudia Pins is a busy family complex. Our second week was busier but still not over crowded. There is a wonderful bus service right outside the appartments that brings you into Alcudia, Alcudia Port or Puerto Pollensa. All worth going to. l know there is so much more that l could say but when you go there yourselves, you will see what l mean!! I cannot wait to book again for next July and hopefully we will get the same appartment again and meet up with some of the really lovely people we had the pleasure to get to know over a few yummy Mojitos!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
10 Thank Babsy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlcudiaPins, Gerente at TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
What a lovely review, sincere thanks for taking the time to write this out. It’s great that you had sucha amazing time and that the hotel and all it’s environment had such a positive impact on your holiday. It is exactly the result we try to achieve; that everybody is happy, relaxed and is enjoying themselves.
Great words of encouragement to the entertainment and children club staff, we will pass these on.
Really hope to see you beck in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.0 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
1.3 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 mi away
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
Grupotel Mallorca Mar
#12 of 19 in Cala Bona
278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
Hotel Condesa de la Bahia
#12 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,494 reviews
8.6 mi away
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
Aparthotel Playa Mar & Spa
#11 of 29 in Port de Pollenca
1,671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins

Property: TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins
Address: C/ Canyes s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#19 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Hotel Class:3 star — TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins 3*
Number of rooms: 598
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In this unique setting, between the white sand dunes of Platges de Muro and the spectacular Parc Natural de s’Albufera, Alcudia Pins reflects our way of understanding tourism: an offering of variety, happiness and well-being for your entire family.Thanks to personalised treatment, all of our personnel will be attentive to your every need. Our objective is for you to have a good time and leave your cares behind.Designed to provide you with everything you need for your holidays, Alcudia Pins awaits you with a pleasant atmosphere where you can enjoy your favourite activities worry-free in comfortable and safe lodgings that cater to the relaxation and well-being of your loved ones. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcudia Pins Hotel
Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro
Alcudia Pins Majorca
TUI Family Life Alcudia Pins Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing