We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 1 June 2011

Chose this hotel from the Thomson Chic and Unique brochure and were not disappointed.. Very nice public areas, white leather sofas etc, We had a double room, nicely appointed overlooking smaller of the 2 large pools, walk in double shower, balcony with comfortable chairs, fridge which you can load up yourself, or you can order minibar supply from hotel, prices same as bar prices, no ice compartment if that is important to you. Air con is controllable 24/7 by you which I prefer, (I hate when it is controlled centrally as it is often turned off some time in the night..). You are issued with 1 card key, so ask if you want a 2nd. We had a double room, bit tight for space at the bottom of the bed, I would have a suite next time.. Towelling robes were provided, but no soap. Provided toiletries are shampoo, body cream, shower gel.

There is a Spar shop next door and several others in the vicinity. If you want to hire a car, I think it was around 36 euro a day, that daily rate reduces slightly if you hire for 3-6 or 7-10 days. The bus stop is outside, we went to Puerto Alcudia (go across road to bus stop) and C'an Picafort (stay the hotel side of the road) bus fare to those destinations at time of writing is 1 euro 25 single, buses run every 15 min. If you want to go to market, get an early breakfast and be out shortly after 9.. later and you risk buses sailing past, already full...Market days are marked on the bus table available at hotel reception, from memory, it is Ca'n Picafort on a Friday. Pollensa and Alcudia on a Sunday. You can get a bus to many places, but to some more distant spots, the bus goes in the morning and returns in the afternoon so if planning a trip, check out the bus times beforehand.

If you are travelling with Thomson, you may wish to note that the rep presence is 'on demand' only at this hotel, so if you have any enquiries, you have to ring the thomson 24-7 number which is back in the UK, alternatively you can email them. The hotel has a wifi area, I could use my apple ipod free of charge using the wifi signal near the wifi area, but didn't have any success in trying to put in the hotel code to use it elsewhere in the hotel, probably operator error on my part, the ipod is new to me!

The hotel has a nice pool bar and the food from there is good. For prices it is 2euro 10 for a small beer, 2.60 for large one, 2.50 for a glass of house wine. Meals lunchtime are well presented and cooked to order, prices around 5-15 euro for a light dish.

Restaurant is all buffet, good service, nice fresh buffet and good choice especially of salads and puds, food was never really hot, but I guess that is a perennial problem with buffets.....?? the caramel ice cream was a hit with us. Wine around 8-18 euros a bt, we generally had a rioja for around 10 euros.. Mineral water is served in small split bts.

Cocktail bar for drinks before or after meal is very nice. Expect 4 euro 50 for a gin and tonic, bt Cava 13.

Think that is about all useful information I can impart, have tried to major on the detail of prices as the rest has been much reported in by other contributors. Happy to answer questions if anyone wants to mail me

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

1,218 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    761
    366
    63
    17
    11
See reviews for
354
618
34
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
toronto
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2011

I recently stayed here for the weekend away from the city of Palma and I was amazed at how comfortable, classy and clean this hotel is. It's kid friendly and foot steps away from the beach. the food was amazing and a great variety to suit any dietary requirements. I would definitely come back here again either by myself or my kids.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2011

Spent two weeks at Las Gaviotas on a birdwatching holiday. It is an excellant hotel chosen by my husband and I for it's close proximity to what british birders know as S'Albufera Marsh, which is a 1-25 euro bus ride away, (the Marsh is HUGE and several days can be spent walking and still plenty to see).
Las Gaviotas is a spotlessly clean hotel. We were upgraded to a Junior Suite as the first room we were allocated was next to the air con unit and a little noisy. All was done swiftly and with a smile and a bottle of champagne also magically appeared in our room. The service and friendliness in this hotel is second to none, from reception, waiting/bar staff, pool attendants, and the whole army of cleaners who do a most magnificent job.
I do feel however that they have't quite got the food right. Fresh bread, salads and cheeses are very good, as is presentation, but after two weeks on half board we were very tired of the lack of decent main courses and fresh vegetables/potatoes/rice. This is probably only a personal grumble as there was always a choice of griddled fish/chicken or chops but always with frozen chips and occasionally peas and carrots. There was always tons of salad. This aside, I do feel Las Gaviotas deserves it's no 1 Trip Adviser slot. Everyone works incredibly hard here, and it is a very pleasant base for travelling around the north of the island, with a bus stop right outside the door. Buses run on time and every 15 mins

Room Tip: Smile !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed here For 1 week and couldn't fault the hotel or it's staff!!
If I had to nit pick about something it would be the small matter of no kettle in the room!! But it's only a small thing!
Hotel was so clean and room was cleaned every day and fresh towels provided! Breakfast was AMAZING with a huge selection of everything from cold meats, breads , cereals, cooked breakfast, fruit,yogurt,pastries,tea,coffee,fruit juice and there was even a chef cooking fresh crepes to order!!!
They do a great dinner deal where u can eat in the hotel for 3 consecutive nights for €36 per person! Again dinner has a huge selection of everything, something to suit everyone unless your really fussy and then you should go self catering!!!
I would highly recommend this hotel and would certaintly stay here again should I return to the area!!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2011

This is a great hotel. It has a modern look and open feel. We received excellent service from Markus and everone else at the front desk. The room was large and comfortable. This is a beach hotel so do not expect high end furnishings but they were more than adequate. There are three pools, fitness center and large restaurant. We only ate at the breakfast buffet which was free with our room. Free WIFI. It was not noisy but then again it is only May. The hotel is not on the beach but across the street from the beach. The beach is quite shallow and not very wavy. A great beach for kids and sunning. There are other beaches for more active water sports. The hotel had very limited parking and we ended up parking on the street most nights.. I think all rooms have balconies. Las Gaviotas was very relaxed and friendly. We were very glad we chose that side of the island which was very scenic and laid back.. Only a 45 minute ride from Palma. I highly recommend Las Gaviotas. We even changed our flight at a considerble expense to spend additional time at the hotel and on the beach. If you go I suggest visiting both Porto Cristo for the scenic bay and the old section of Alcudia for it's rich history, charm and great restaurants. Also, nearby is a park where you can either walk or ride a bike thru miles of unspoiled marsh and grassland. We loved that bike ride. A great place for a drink is in Alcudiamar in the Port of Alcudia. This is the marina area. Just keep walking along the marina until you get to the end. Find a comfortable couch under the stars and gaze across the bay. Is that a ship or a hotel?

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We stayed here on honeymoon,we were treated to a bottle of bubbly and smiles all round from the staff,we have a funny feeling they were tipped off that we were on Honeymoon.
The room was really nice,small downside was that 2 beds were bolted together as 1 and we had no kettle(we love our tea)
Everything was cleaned every day and even though they ask you to re-use towels they give fresh ones anyway.
Staff were always smiling an helpful and nothing was too much trouble.
We payed for bed and breakfast and the selection was just immense,all tastes catered for,we had to be rolled out the first morning as we tried everything.
We decided the breakfast was soo good to try their dinner deal, 36euro for 3 nights,great value and the selection was huge,again everyones tastes catered for.
A fantastic stay and we definetly recommend it to anyone.
Thanks Gaviotas :)
T&G

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Hotel is in a great location, less than 2 minutes walk to a nice sandy beach. The hotel is also ideally placed for exploring the island either by car or bus which are regular and stop outside the hotel.

We stayed in one of the hotel rooms as apposed to the suites. The room was very clean and modern with a decent balcony, comfortable bed and spacious bathroom equipped with a very good shower. The only downside is they are on the small side although there is plenty of storage space.

The hotel has 2 pools, one of which is enclosed on all sides by the hotel (courtyard) a second more popular and bigger pool with a bar and jacuzzi. There is also a fitness centre but the equipment did not look the best and we did not see anyone using this all week.

The breakfast and dinner in the hotel is fantastic, huge choice of meats, fish, fruit and veg, everything is fresh and of good quality. The best buffet hotel food we have seen!
we booked on bed and breakfast deal but on arrival there was an offer to upgrade to half board for 3 nights. This is well worth doing as there is not a massive choice of decent places to eat within walking distance of the hotel.

In summary, this hotel prides itself on its cleanliness and quality of food together with a great location to explore Majorca.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,037 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,536 reviews
1.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Property: Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel - a pioneer in the area as far back as in the -70s and with more than 30 years of experience - consolidates stars and a image: modern lines in every corner invite you to a holiday oasis where quality is the common element and white, the colour that permeates everything. Here you can enjoy gardens, comfortable suites and modern facilities. But Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel is much more than just a beautiful design. Our identity is, above all, friendly treatment and good service. Our experience and know-how, together with each guest, will do the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Lastminute, Expedia, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Muro
Hotel Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing