We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great option but be careful with what they promise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Ranked #4 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2009

Although we were originally planning to stay at the Prinsotel La Dorada we switched to this hotel at the last minute after finding an offer on Travelzoo for almost half the price per night, plus a free dinner and massage. All in all, we're glad we made the change - the rooms are large and the location is unbeatable, next to the best part of the Playa de Muro.

However, although Las Gaviotas is a good hotel, they seem to have a habit of promising more than the can deliver (as I also saw in some other reviews). We asked every morning for the massage but it was booked until the 4th of September - coincidentally the day we left. We never got it - apparently they only had 5 opening per day. Although we did get the free "three course dinner" it was just an open buffet and they charged us for the drinks. Not really what we had in mind.

There are a couple of other things to complain about - for instance the exercise room had no air conditioning and the pool has very dangerous and slippery tiles (especially for our 16 month old). Also, although I know they are going for a minimalist vibe, the square showers and sinks didn't drain very well and caused quite a mess with all of the beach sand. Although the rooms could really use a mirror or painting or something - just a little too bare and white for our tastes.

If not for ticking us off for their over-promising, we would have nothing but a glowing review for the hotel. The rooms were quite large and the private balconies were great. The snack bar by the pool has some excellent food and great prices.

If you have never been to Playa de Muro before it is a great option. The bay water levels and low and create a long safe strip of shallow water for kids to play. There are plenty of beachfront restaurants and shops with (in our opinion) very affordable prices.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wynnwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,315)
There are newer reviews for Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

525 - 531 of 1,315 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2009

We have been to Mallorca a lot. This is better than some of the 5* on the island . Fantastic! From the trendy minimalist decor to the friendly staff throughout the hotel this is a gem. Cocktails (reasonably priced) whilst 'people watching' in the evening a real treat. Great pool and poolside bar. Definitely on the revisit list!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2009

This is the 2nd year I have stayed at Las Gaviotas, this year was as good as last! Hotel is absolutely spotless, staff very helpful and friendly. What it doesn't have in entertainment and activities it makes up for in relaxing quality surroundings. The food selection is not as vast as say an all inclusive larger hotel, but what they offer is of very good quality. If you were really fussy, then you may not be happy with the temperature of some of the food as sometimes it was not as hot as it could have been, but when it's self service sometimes it's unavoidable. Stayed at the hotel when it was full and the only time it seemed a bit crowded was when we went to breakfast at 9.30. Usually we went at 8 - 830 and hardly anyone else there! We always found loungers around either of the pools at any time of the day. Pools and pool areas kept immaculately clean. The beach is approx 3-5 minutes walk away and we think it's the best part of the bay. Absolutely ideal for children as the water is very clean and the bay is very shallow for a long way out. There is not the nightlife around playa de muro that younger travellers may be looking for. It is a fairly quiet resort with just hotels/accommodation, tourist shops and restaurants/bars. Alcudia is a fairly long walk for the faint hearted, but there are plenty of regular buses that pass outside the hotel every 15-20 minutes, even though a lot of the time they are absolutely packed. There is also a taxi rank just across the road or you could use the horse and carriage taxis which are about 5 minutes walk towards Alcudia. I would go back to this hotel year after year with no hesitation at all.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank suzywongBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2009

walked in off the road asking for a two night stay after visitng some other hotels. Immediately impresses with the welcome received from the reception staff. Very competitive rate for B&B so checked in. Hotel very clean and stylish, food at the pool bar and breakfast was great and value for money.
Room was amazing and very clean - stayed in a suite so not sure what the double room would be like. A special thanks to the lady on reception wtih short dark hair and dark glasses, cannot remember her name sorry....
Definately recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area. As most reviews say the surrounding restaurants are not great and offer same food so go into old Pollenca or Alcudia town.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManchesterSteveB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2009

We have just returned from a 10 day holiday at this hotel. We initially booked to stay a week but we loved it so much we added on 3 extra days. The hotel has recently been refurbished and is immaculate. The rooms were cleaned every day and the hotel grounds were constantly being cleaned and maintained.

We booked a suite room which was well worth it, we had a sofa and lounge area next to the bedroom which was a really nice touch. We had a small fridge, big enough for a few bottles of water or beer/wine and a TV. The only minor fault we could find was that there are no tea or coffee making facilities in the room which was a shame.

Playa De Muro was very quite. It has a lovely beach and quite a few restaurants but we didn't find any of them to be of a very high standard. Half way through the week we found a lovely bar right on the beach called Maremar. It is very modern and above a tacky British bar which you can hardly notice but we are so glad we did. Their cocktails and pizzas are great but apart from that bar there wasn't really anywhere to go after eating.

We only stayed B&B and the breakfast was great, a large selection of fruit, yoghurt, cereal, pancakes, cakes, bread and a German orientated cooked breakfast which consisted of bacon, frankfurters or meatballs, potato cakes, eggs and tomatoes. We never went hungry and very glad we did B&B because there weren't many places around to eat a decent breakfast.

We ate at the pool bar a few times for lunch and found the food was lovely. The price is also reasonable. We didn't see any of the evening meals, they are served in the same restaurant as breakfast and are also buffet style.

The two pools are lovely as well, there is a smaller quieter one and a larger busier one near the pool bar. There weren't many children at the hotel but those who were stayed around the larger pool which is more suitable for them. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to families particularly as there is no entertainment for them day or night. Occasionally there was a pianist in the outside bar in the evening which was very sophisticated.

The staff were very friendly and couldn't fault them. You get blue beach towels in your room and the other towels can be changed daily if you wish. There is also shampoo, body lotion and shower gel in the bathroom.

We got the bus a few times to Alcudia and Can Picafort which is well worth doing, it only take about 5-10 mins and costs about 1.50 euros. The restaurants are much better and in Can Picafort there are lots of nice looking bars and a few clubs. If we could have picked the hotel up and put it in Can Picafort it would have been perfect.

We booked the holiday independently through travel republic, easyjet and resort hopper which I would recommend doing as we got it cheaper than the packages we found.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2009

My partner and I stayed here at the beginning of August this year and we were delighted. The hotel is very modern and extremly clean. We had a suite, which was great as you have a separate living area and you get a larger balcony. The room had a fridge and a flat screen tv which even has BBC1, BBC2 & ITV. The large bathroom was lovely with a huge walk in shower which always had hot water. The hotel provides beach towels which is great because you don't need to bring your own. The pool area is lovely, never over crowded and you could always get a sunbed. The breakfast is amazing! There is so much choice, even a chef making fresh pancakes and omelettes every morning. All the staff were really friendly and helpful .The location is great for the beach (2 min walk) but not so great for nightlife. We found the area near the "Bellevue" complex alot busier with more choice of bars and restaurants and is 5-10 mins in a taxi or bus (bus stop right outside the hotel front door and buses run every 15mins apparently but we found them unreliable). Would definately recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flea888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Staid in Las Gaviotas in the beginning of July. Very clean, comfortable and spacious rooms. Had a partial view at sea from balcony. Beautiful. Modern interior, good breakfast, lacked choice of jar jams though. Pools very clean and not crowded, always place to get a sun-bed at the pool. Very nice co-hotel mates, not loud nor unpleasant. Very nice pool-bar service. There is not much to do for a small child but a children's pool, but that was to know forehand. Very close to the sea, just 3 minutes walk. Sea very warm 30 degrees and amazingly clean. Sun-beds around 8 euro. Not so expensive as at El Trench, were beach is dirty in my understanding - sun-beds 16 euro. In Playa de Muro plenty of places to eat at, though there are some places that take advantage of tourists, do not tell in advance that all the stuff they offer as welcome gifts are actually included in the receipt later.
Close to the hotel very many car hire shops and bus station infront of the hotel. Alcudia is about 10 minutes on taxi - more shops and restaurants.
Very pleasant stay

Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
1  Thank Puteshestvenniki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,127 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,080 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 49 in Port d'Alcudia
2,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Alcudia Park
Iberostar Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,646 reviews
1.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#3 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Address: Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: £64 - £237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel - a pioneer in the area as far back as in the -70s and with more than 30 years of experience - consolidates stars and a image: modern lines in every corner invite you to a holiday oasis where quality is the common element and white, the colour that permeates everything. Here you can enjoy gardens, comfortable suites and modern facilities. But Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel is much more than just a beautiful design. Our identity is, above all, friendly treatment and good service. Our experience and know-how, together with each guest, will do the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Muro
Hotel Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing