We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire England
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“very good hotel”
Reviewed 2 October 2009

Hotel recently refurbished in trendy minimalist style. We had a very comfortable spacious suite overlooking the garden, with good beds and pillows. Hotel is generally quiet, with double-glazed patio doors, good sound insulation and low-key entertainment only 2 nights a week. However, having tiled floors like most Med hotels, there can be some disturbance from people dragging furniture around in rooms and balconies above. Slightly disappointed with indifferent service particularly in dining room, but overall a classy hotel which we can recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bunnio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,211 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    758
    363
    62
    17
    11
See reviews for
353
613
34
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
1 review
Reviewed 28 September 2009

This is one of the best value hotels we have stayed in. Food was excellent, rooms were spotlessly clean, and the pools were super. Very good value for money, and well worth their 4 star rating. Ideal for a quiet break, close to the beach. Ian Jones, Oxon UK

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IJoOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

There are already a couple of very detailed reviews on here about the food & facilities on offer at Las Gaviotas, so there's not a lot for me to add. The hotel is very new, very sleekly furnished and spotlessly clean. It's just across the road from a gorgeous beach (lovely for evening walks). Both pools are lovely with plenty of sun loungers. Basically the hotel is great for a lazy, chilled out break. We had one week there and, apart from one day where we explored the island more, we just read, swam, relaxed, had massages by the pool and totally chilled out. Bliss! My only word of caution is that the standard room we were shown to on arrival was TINY. I would consider it extremely small to even spend a night in for a business trip, let alone for a week's holiday. We had to pay €155 to upgrade to a suite as there are no rooms in between te size of a standard room and the size of a suite. This was a disappointing start to our holiday. Of note, none of the standard rooms are pictured on the hotel's website and we certainly weren't aware when we booked the holiday that our standard room would be teeny tiny. The suite, on the other hand, was enormous! Basically it had a standard room as the bedroom and then also had an entirely separate, second room as the lounge with a corner leather sofa, TV, mini bar, desk and table and sliding doors to the balcony. Even with paying for the room upgrade the holiday was good value and we would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MissPiggyMoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2009

Having read so many good reviews about this hotel on this site, we were rather disappointed by the reality. Yes, the rooms and reception area are smart but the rooms seem unfinished, and the owners have skimped on the details that really make a hotel comfortable for its guests - this is rated 4* so where were the tea/coffee making facilites? any tissues? enough hangers? (not to mention any pictures on the walls!). Our room, 330, was completely overlooked so we had to keep our curtains shut to get any privacy. On the plus side, it was all very clean. We were also disappointed by the low level of service. There just are not enough staff, and very little information. There was no porter, so no-one to show us to our room or provide any room service. The chambermaid was run off her feet and sometimes did not get to our room until well into the afternoon. And in the restaurant, the waiting staff seem to be there simply to clear the dishes between courses (and they did not manage that most of the time). They took our initial drinks order, and delivered them, but after that did not seem to have time to speak to the guests at all. We all had to go and settle up our drinks bills at the end at a cash desk by the door - again, hardly what is expected of a 4* hotel. One final comment on the food. It is geared very much towards the hotel's predominantly German customers. Whilst breakfast offered a wide variety each morning, dinner was much less successful. A strict format is offered - for starters, soup and salads plus one"guest" option (included tinned tuna and sardines!); then fish - hake every night, plus other fish occasionally, or meat (very chewy if you had the grilled option!), and too rarely some Spanish food - the paella was lovely but only appeared twice. Plus vegetables and always chips. Dessert always included rice pudding and jelly and a choice of gooey cakes. It was all Ok and we always found something to eat but it became quite boring and not very appetising after a few nights. All in all, not a great success and we would not go there again.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonBarneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

After arriving at the hotel at 5am and being shown to our room we decided that although it was beautiful we did not have a view and as it was our honeymoon so requested this. With no hesitation they moved us to the 2nd level which had a view over the beautifully kept garden. The rooms were spacious included living area with TV large bedroom large balcony and fantastic bathroom with robes and toiletries. The bar area was very sleek and prices very reasonable for a hotel of this standard. Breakfast was great everything you could ask for from fry ups, omlettes, continental, fruit, cereal all the juices you can think of tea and coffee etc etc just what you need for a good start to the day. The actual area we stayed in had a lovely beach but we hired a car and went out to explore the northern half of Mallorca inc Deia, Pollenca, Palma ( you must try and visit these) The place as a whole is spotless so clean the pools were immaculate this is a 5 star hotel not 4 star the staff were amazing we mentioned it was our honeymmon and we had a bottle of champagne sent to our room from the staff such a nice touch!!! I cannot say enough about Las Gaviotas we have a 10 month old and will definately be returning with him to this hotel next year WELL DONE LAS GAVIOTAS YOU MADE OUR HONEYMOON COMPLETE THANK YOU X

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corletts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

Great hotel and friendly staff. Very clean and tidy. Half board food had a wide selection suitable for all ages. Breakfast spreads were great including omelettes, pancakes and usual hot breakfasts. Good variety of dinners.

Suite rooms were large and very comfortable. Swimming pool was large with a good number of sunbeds. Location was excellent on Player del Muro. Walking distance (3 mins) to lovely beach.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKHotdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2009

I have just returned from a week at Las Gaviotas and I would happily recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing break. From the moment you arrive you can see it is outstanding and a very good quality, clean hotel.

Firstly, although most holiday companies advertise it as being in Alcudia, it is not, it is in Playa de Muro. Alcudia is approx a 10 minute taxi ride (or you can get the bus outside the hotel, for less than 2 euros). I am told you could walk into Alsudia, about an hour, ut I did not do this myself. The beach is across the road and from there you can pick up most of the boat trips on offer. We chose to head to the beach in the mornings and return to the pool for the afternoons. Upon return there were plenty of sun beds and I would imagine that even in high season finding a lounger would not be a problem. One pool is a very quiet pool and the other is more lively, with the bar next to it and music playing. They are both close together so you can walk from one to the other.

We stayed in a suite and I can recommend this, it was well worth the extra and all the facilities were of a high standard. The bathroom was superb, you can tell the hotel has undergone recent refurbishment and the walk in shower was really nice. We had bathrobes too and the towels were the large sheet ones and still fluffy. The beds were excellent, very comfortable and the bedding was new. It was nice having the fridge in the room for us to make use of and there are lots of shops next to the hotel where you can stock up on beers and soft drinks.

The food was very nice, well presented and tasty with good choice. It is a self service buffet for both breakfast and dinner- you sit where you fancy and either pay for your drinks at the end of the meal or charge them to your room. The lobby bar & pool bar also allows you to charge drinks to your room so you can pick up your tab at the end of your stay if you'd like to. The food at the pool bar was fairly priced and tasty and you could have waiter service for drinks at your sun beds.

The bar is quite chic and it is easy to while away the hours sitting outside watching the world go by. It is very popular and well priced. We enjoyed every evening in the bar.

The staff were a real asset to the hotel and everyone we spoke to; from the maid through to the reception staff; were extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The is no entertainment as such (a singer twice a week) so if you are looking for hotel based entertainment then this would not be the place for you. Like wise although there is the baby section of the busier pool there is not really anything for children to do, so the hotel is very much aimed at couples. But if you are seeking complete and utter relaxation in a nice resort at an upmarket hotel then this is the place to visit.

My husband and I had a brilliant time and hope to return again in the future.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HighWycombeBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
0.4 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,036 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
Hotel Astoria Playa Only Adults
#1 of 48 in Port d'Alcudia
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
0.1 mi away
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
IBEROSTAR Alcudia Park
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,531 reviews
1.9 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel

Property: Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Address: Avenida de la Albufera 51 | Urbanización Las Gaviotas, 07408 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Best Value Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel - a pioneer in the area as far back as in the -70s and with more than 30 years of experience - consolidates stars and a image: modern lines in every corner invite you to a holiday oasis where quality is the common element and white, the colour that permeates everything. Here you can enjoy gardens, comfortable suites and modern facilities. But Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel is much more than just a beautiful design. Our identity is, above all, friendly treatment and good service. Our experience and know-how, together with each guest, will do the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Lastminute, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Las Gaviotas Hotel Playa De Muro
Hotel Las Gaviotas
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing