We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and quiet”
Review of Eden Playa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Eden Playa
Ranked #29 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Hungary
Level Contributor
56 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Clean and quiet”
Reviewed 9 September 2008

As the hotel is located between two towns, Alcudia and Can Picafort, it is peaceful and quiet, void of all the hustle of seaside resorts. Yet if you want some hustle and bustle, you can either walk to these towns (2-3 kms) or take a taxi for 5-6 Euros. We wanted to select a place which was peaceful and not one of the large multi-storey hotels lined up along the beach. Eden is surrounded by a couple of similar 2 or 3 storey apartment hotels. Because of this, there are quite a lot of mainly small children everywhere. The hotel consists of six blocks with a pretty atrium in each. The garden is extremely well groomed, everything is clean and is in good repair. There are computers in the reception area for a small a charge but you can use your own laptop free of charge in the reception area once you received a WIFI code from reception. The rooms (one bedroom and a living room with additional sleeping possibilities) are clean and neatly decorated. Housekeeping works fast and effectively, and the lack of housekeeping service on Mondays is clearly stated in their information materials. There was also a small kitchen (invisible when entering the room), with basic but adequate kitchen utensils. Other postings on Tripadvisor warned me to take my travel kettle with me, which I could make good use of. The large breakfast room was fairly chilly, probably to make people get dressed properly. The buffet breakfast was sumptuous and varied, with things like self-service orange-juice squeezer. There were a few pools in the middle of the property with deck chairs. Well, these deck chairs were usually reserved in the morning – and funnily enough some of them had no other occupant during the day than a towel. I think that these pools are mainly for the kids, and we always went to the beach, which was over the dunes separating the hotel from the beach. The deckchairs were not free and there was a strange reservation system. You could reserve a deckchair for the complete time of your stay which was shown on a poster on the umbrella stands. If you only hired the bed for a day, the first letter of the name of the day was written in chalk on the umbrella stand. The beach and water was extremely clean, although I missed the beach shower and the toilet. We had to walk back to the pool area to be able to use these facilities. All in all, the Eden Aparthotel offers respite to those who want a peaceful and quiet holiday and do not mind having to cut their ways to the restaurant through a large number of pushchairs and all that goes with that.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — evening entertainment
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Cickany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    52
    28
    3
    2
See reviews for
96
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 August 2008

We were 2 families (two single moms with 4 children ranging from 3 to 10) staying in the hotel. Our kids loved the hotel, as they had the pool, the sun and all the kiddie-entertainment (mini-disco etc.) they wanted.
We liked the apartments (decent size, relatively clean, although the cleaning people could improve), the sea-side and the waiters/waitresses at the pool-bar (very friendly, even if you have special wishes).
Unfortunately, the receptionists made our stay a lot less enjoyable than it could have been. If you have special wishes and are not an average family of 3-4 people, then you can forget it at Eden Playa. First, we tried to book a cab which would fit all of us in. The receptionist (German lady) didn't even try to call the cab service but just told us it wasn't possible.
Then, we asked about the pool chairs as those were all reserved by the crack of dawn and we never could get even 2 or 3 (6 were never possible of course). The receptionist actually had a cheek to ask us, what she is supposed to do, since they know the situation...
In the end of our stay, there was quite a nasty discussion about us using a telephone at the TUI-desk to call the TUI-free hotline (according to their information placed next to it). Apparently, it was not free after all and we were forced to pay the hotel 1.50 euro. We were screamed at and when I asked the receptionist Magda to try and see the situation from our customer perspective, she said she didn't care about the customer perspective....
Says a lot about the attitude of the hotel stuff in my opinion...
We definitely are not staying in this particular hotel ever again after this treatment. But the area is good and there are many nicer hotels around there...

  • Liked — the seaside
  • Disliked — the receptionists
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SwissZH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

My family and I are just completing our fourth stay at Eden Playa. We have returned here having experimented with another hotel in the area - Viva Bahia - which we rated highly. However Eden Playa will remain our Mallorcan destination of choice due to its friendly, welcoming ambience, ideally suited to the needs of families with children.

Since our last visit, in 2006 we have noted some key improvements, most noticably food quality which can now be reasonably regarded as of four star standard. The restaurant and cafe areas have also been upgraded.

The apartments are pleasant and roomy, many of them with sea views. They are kept impeccably clean despite the best efforts of my wife and daughters.

Eden Playa's main point of difference however, is in the quality of its staff who are generally friendly and efficient. This is particularly brought to life by the legendary Rudi and his consistently engaging and enthusiastic entertainment team. They are loved by children and parents alike and appear to be a key reason why so many holidaymakers return to Eden year after year after year.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PBBUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
n ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

The apartments are very nice , better than expected but does need kettle and toaster. Lots of mozzies take repellant. Pool lovely but very cold, lots of sun beds never had a problem getting beds and parasols. The evening entertainment is dreadful we went to the viva bahia just up the road their evening entertainment was great. Only ate in the restaurant once it was fine. Lots of europeans, Dutch, Swiss,Russian, German etc loads of small children ideal for young families lovely and quiet at night. Worst meal of holiday at Bulls Steakhouse opposite it was absolutely dreadful. Take bus to las gaviotas only about 3 or 4 stops towards alcudia and lots of really nice restaurants. Alcudia port has a restaurant called bodega des port, FANTASTIC proper Spanish food, a bit pricey but you get what you pay for. Altogether a lovely holiday.

  • Liked — view and close to beach
  • Disliked — noise from other apartments sound proofing not great, no kettle and toaster
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank smiths57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
redditch
2 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2008

We have just returned from 8 days at the Eden playa hotel . as we have 2 small children we wanted something a bit quieter , which it was (very), we went self catering as the children can be really fussy eaters and wanted the option we found a nice restaurant their. the hotel its self was very clean the room was about right kitchen a bit small you had to hire toaster and kettle but that was OK. its about 95% of German's their.The day time activeties was fun. The evening entertainment was the worst i have ever seen, i don't think we would be returning their again

  • Liked — close to beach
  • Disliked — kitchen quite small
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank twins23Redditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2007

This was our second visit to Eden Playa this year!
Its the best hotel in Muro in our opinion. I travelled with my partner,son and my mum.
The hotel is very welcoming and the rooms are lovely. They are very spacious and fresh. Each has a huge balcony and very resonable size bathroom.
The pool area is huge with lots of seating (beware the Germans do place towels on the chairs at about 5am) but not a problem we just pulled them off!!! No one said anything.
Very clean pool a little cold but you soon warm up!
There is a lovely poolside bar and the prices are very fair. They sell a fab variety of slushes for the kids and lovely cocktails for the adults.
There is a inside pool but its freezing, no heat and the sun does not get to it so we gave it a miss!!
The reception staff are fab always willing to help and the entertainment is good too, there is always something going on.
The buffet breakfast is very nice, lots of fruit and cooked stuff but my fav was the freshly made pancakes!!
I would say the bulk of the guests are German but the entertainment is English.
Muro is a lovely little resort we love the food there just opposite the Playa is a great pasta place and just to the left Bulls Steak House thats the best steak ever!!! The area is very clean and safe and not too busy.
We love the Eden Playa and sure you will too.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lauren83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
83 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2007

Just back stayed there last two weeks in Sept 07. Stayed with my partner and 14yo. Great place with plenty to do for the kids with clubs etc for them shows on every evening. Good links into the town on bus and taxis close by. Mainly german and europeans saw only 2 other Brit familys there Staff very helpful and friendly and the Buffet in the evening was really good plenty of choice and well cooked. Out side a choice of bars and places to eat but not to many to make it like a blackpool.Plenty of sunbeds for all those worried by the Germans. I will use again and would recommend for families or a mature couple who are not bothered by kids. But the kids are far better behaved than British ones.

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank swanseasailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
0.1 mi away
Playa Garden Selection Hotel & Spa
0.2 mi away
Zafiro Bahia
Zafiro Bahia
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
506 reviews
0.5 mi away
Be Live Collection Palace de Muro
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Grupotel Parc Natural & Spa
Grupotel Parc Natural & Spa
#18 of 30 in Playa de Muro
230 reviews
0.3 mi away
Iberostar Albufera Park
Iberostar Albufera Park
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
685 reviews
0.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
986 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eden Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eden Playa

Property: Eden Playa
Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia Km. 7, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Muro
#19 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Eden Playa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 298
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Eden Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Playa Hotel Playa De Muro
Eden Playa De Muro
Eden Playa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing