We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice but some issues!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Valentin Playa de Muro
Ranked #6 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Just returned from a 10 night family holiday with 2 young children aged 7 and 3. We booked this with Travel republic flying with BMI baby from Birmingham and got a good deal.
However there were some issues! Flight was great and I can recommend BMI as they were ontime and seats had plenty of leg room.
Our transfer was horrid. It took over 1.5hrs to get from Palma to resort which was crazy especially when we arrived at hotel at 2am! The hotel staff did not speak English, so trying to book in and get keys was not an easy task.
Once we got to our apartment, there was no air con working, so had to come back to reception and complain. It took another hour to get fixed, but clearly needed longer to cool down, so had to sleep on balcony as it was over 30 degrees inside! The staff were not helpful at all and didnt even give us an option of another room whilst ours got fixed.
There was food left for us in a fridge, but no water.

The next day we were infested with ants, which seemed to be common with most people, but again got reolved eventually. The room was small and compact, but bathroom was very small. Also the beds were very hard and uncomfortable, so bad backs all round!

For the first week we were the only Brits onsite, so not an issue, but shame for the kids as they didnt make friends easy due to the langauge barriers. 80% German, plus Spanish/French and some Eastern Europeans....

The resturant was ok, but a bit cramped. They clearly were not geared up to deal with lots of people, as the coffee machines broke a few times and variety of food was ok but not brilliant, however staff were very nice and helpful.

The resort was big and had plenty of activities. 2 swimming pools, one was a 6 lane 25m pool for swimmers and the other was a 40m pool (30m for adults and 10m for babies), with one end being 3m deep and a shallow end great for youngers ones. However there was no lifegaurds at all!!
There was a volleyball court and tennis court plus a bike shop hiring and selling high spec road and Mountain bikes (Focus). There was a gym onsite, but sadly like most gyms in Spain none of the CV equipment worked, but there were free weights.
Also a kids club and some gaming machines were onsite.

The sun loungers were dated and very worn, so if you have a bad back - beware! You needed to be down by the pool by 8am to find a sunbed, but even then plenty had towels already positioned on the loungers - or you were out of luck.

The beach was close by across a main road, but it was circa 20mins walk to the nearest town (Can Picafort). Alcudia was 7km away. The nearest supermarket was 500m walk along a very busy main road, so beware at night.

Overall it was ok, but very isolated from any shops/towns/main beach etc............pools were the best feature and pretty clean.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jogrady2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

165 - 171 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2011

Just arrived back from a very pleasant trip to Blue Bay. Nice to have small bungalows spread out on complex rather than cramed together, they do face eachother so not a lot of privacy in your room or terrace. Food good, if not that varied and staff helpful. Read another review that said mealtimes were leiurely - well dinner finishes at 8.30!! Too early for us.
We like a holiday of mixed nationalities, but the children were a bit sad that no other english children to chat to - and the sunbed stealers were back in force (it was August I suppose) Bike hire shop on complex. Enjoyed the evening entertainment but it wasn't on every night. Beautiful beach across the road (hidden from main road by nature reserve).

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank izzyam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2011

+ Excellent location
+ Peaceful, but there are some entertainment in the evenings, which is good
+ Friendly service
+ Good for disable people
+ Food in the restaurant is good- especially cold food. We would recommend it to vegetarians, too.
+ Easy to get to the beach- also to people with wheelchair
+ Hotel room= bungalow is big and very clean, you also have your own cooking facilities.
+ Staff speaks english well enough, if compared to many other countries...
+ Lots of sunbeds

- Free wi-fi only works in the lobby and bar, not in the pool or hotel rooms.
- No early-breakfast in case of early check-out

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HajuTasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2009

Me, the wife and two young daughters (3 &6), stayed all inclusive and were pleasently surprised on arrival. Immaculately clean, the reception staff spoke perfect English and the check-in was hassle free and quick.

Food - I can see why some wouldn't enjoy some of the food. It is mainly catered for the Spanish and Italians but because of this there is plenty of fresh salad, fruit, fish, pasta etc. Personally I actually enjoyed this because I've been to other all inclusives that only serve nuggetts, burgers and chips every night! (I could go to Blackpool for that!) Another plus is that your beer is served in proper glasses (large or small) unless you are drinking by the pool then they like you to use the plastic cups that are mandatory in some lesser hotels.

The resort itself is immaculate. The fact you have your own detached (allbeit small) bungalow means you don't have to listen to every sound in the room next door like some hotels. Inside and outside very clean. Air-con in rooms a God send!

The entertainment is the only thing letting this place down. That said, my girls loved it despite of this. They were happy in the pool all day and the mini-disco after dinner allowed them to make friends to play with until bedtime (even though they all spoke different languages - that doesn't stop kids!)

There is no entertainment for the adults as such, and all the entertainment staff speak Spanish, Italian and French in that order - like I say, no problem for the kids but a little frustrating for the adults - but then again we are in Spain...

I couldn't beleive my eyes on the first morning walking to breakfast at 08.45 - there was not ONE towel on any of the sunbeds. I soon realised there were no Germans in the resort so it made sense! We made our way to the pool at about 10.30 and had a choice of many free sunbeds.

In summary, this resort is perfect for a relaxing holiday, located between the busier Alcudia (7km) and Caan Picafort (10 minute walk), means you can choose to have a lively night out up the road or retreat to the resort bar area and relax. The gym is pretty good here too and if you like to swim for excercise as well as fun, there is a seperate half size Olympic pool in the resort specifically for that.

Blue Bay does cater more for the Spanish and Italians but this in my opinion is a good thing for a holiday. Most of the staff do speak good English but why not learn a bit of Spanish yourself - they respect you for it. Everything is done at a slower pace than what we are used to - dinner is later than usual for example. Would definately reccomend the all inclusive.

Bottom line is this. If you want Blackpool in the sun, head for Maguluf or to a lesser extent, Alcudia town centre. If you want a relaxing time to unwind and a chance to appreciate the Spanish way of life then choose Blue Bay Resort. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bignuts1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

If you want a relaxing time, this is the place to be! If you don't mind English language being in the minority, not very much entertainment and the bar closing at 11.00pm, you will have as fantastic time as we did.
Towels were not put on sunbeds until after 9.00am and at a leisurely pace, no need to rush, didn't matter what time you got to the pool, there was always sunbeds available!!
During siesta time, the pool was empty!! Fantastic!!
Bungalows quite adequate, cleaned every day, clean towels when you want them changing.
Food no problem, unless you are really fussy!! Don't expect a full english, cos there wasn't a sausage in sight! Still plenty to eat. Never went hungry.
Ten minute walk to Can Picafort, just long enough. 150 metre walk to the beach across the road.
Staff all very friendly, considering a lot of them don't understand a lot of English, but more than willing to try. In all fairness, maybe I should learn Spanish!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anngeraghty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kohlrouladen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank KeinGuterNameMehrDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa de Muro hotels
2.6 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,183 reviews
3 mi away
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
Las Gaviotas Suites Hotel
#4 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,363 reviews
2.5 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Albufera Park
Iberostar Albufera Park
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
785 reviews
2.6 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Muro
Iberostar Playa de Muro
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Iberostar Albufera Playa
Iberostar Albufera Playa
#5 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valentin Playa de Muro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valentin Playa de Muro

Address: Carretera Arta Alcudia Km 23.4, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain (Formerly Blue Bay)
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Muro
#5 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: £76 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Valentin Playa de Muro 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Valentin Blue Bay is especially suitable for families. Swimmers and cyclists also chose the hotel to practice. The hotel is situated in the middle of the nature park S'Albufera, famous for its birds. Nearby there is the wide beach of Ca'n Picafort with crystal clear water and white sand, surrounded by dunes and pine woods. Also nearby the centre of the area of Albufera which offers entertainment and lively, summerly ambience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Stayforlong S.L., LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Valentin Playa de Muro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valentin Blue Bay Hotel Playa De Muro
Valentin Playa De Muro Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing