We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for families - children's entertainment excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa
Ranked #5 of 30 Hotels in Playa de Muro
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just returned from a week at the Albufera Playa and mostly wanted to make a comment about the in-house entertainment team - they are briiliant! They really work hard from early morning right through to the end of the evening and make such a huge effort. Haven't stayed in Playa de Muro before, found the resort very quiet, however for a relaxing holiday having the beach on the doorstep and a selection of pools to choose from, was a real bonus (the pool at the Park was less busy than at the Playa). We up-graded on the second day to all-inclusive, which we found to be the best option for us. Our hotel room was on the first floor in Block 5 (the middle block) and quite near reception so not really the garden view I was expecting, but the room itself was nice and kept beautifully clean. Not overly impressed with Thomas Cook; would not recommend paying 12.50 euro each for priority check-in like we did, as there was no benefit at all once at the airport (which was stressful).

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diana W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have just returned from a really brilliant two week holiday at the Albufera Playa. The hotel is so clean and the gardens are exceptionally lovely and well kept. The three pools have easy-access steps and are graded for depth so everyone, from the non-swimmer to the competent, is catered for appropriately and there is always a life-guard on duty. There is a pool for tots and on the other side of the hotel, Albufera Park, there is a larger pool for children. There are plenty of sun-beds, comfortable sitting areas in the garden and the entertainment area. The rooms are modern and very clean. The food choice is excellent with several cooking stations at all meals. Eggs at breakfast are always cooked to order and served with a smile. The restaurant staff are excellent. The bar staff and animations team are brilliant, so friendly, full of fun and laughter as well as being totally professional. The kids clubs are popular and the children were so well behaved as the team are able to command their respect. Parents enjoy the kids entertainment too, especially in the evenings, they join in with the children and the team with great gusto and add the to entertainment for everyone. Well done Alburfera Playa and thank -you.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Maggie504214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Just returned from a 10 day stay with my wife and 3 year old. We stayed on an all inclusive basis and travelled with Thomas Cook who were far from perfect but this was not the hotel’s fault.

The transfer from the airport takes around 50 minutes and the hotel entrance is fairly grand. Upon arrival there was no glass of champagne as other reviews mention? We asked for a ‘quiet’ room and were offered a family room with garden view in the sister hotel – Albufera Park.

They both sit side by side and it’s really just one hotel divided into two. We were assured that this was a bigger room with more space and we were happy to give it a try, however we are left feeling unsure if we got value for money as when we booked it was less expensive to stay in the Park than the Playa?

During the stay we found that reception was often under staffed and long waits to be served were the norm due to guests checking in/out. Internet is available in either reception with 30 mins free per 24 hours and not per calendar day and it’s very slow!

The room was well located overlooking the garden and lagoon style pool. The interior was very spacious and comfortable with a small fridge, microwave and hob. The mini bar was restocked only after we complained to reception. The paint job was very ‘amateurish’ and it would be fair to say that parts of the room were starting to look a little rough in places but not a problem. The air con worked well and all the usual TV channels were available.

Breakfast and dinner are served in two large buffet styles restaurants. One on the side of the Park and the other on the side of the Playa. The Park side tended to have more children and is open from 6-9pm, whereas the Playa side feels a touch nicer and brighter and has less children and is open from 6.30-9.30pm, although they remind you that it closes at 9ish which makes you feel hurried. I never not iced any difference in the food in either and guests from the Playa and Park ate in both.
Lunch is available in a small restaurant on the Park side or in the beach restaurant which overlooks the Playa but you can’t really see the beach due to the foliage. The beach restaurant was far busier and sometimes difficult to get a table at peak time. The food overall was ok. I have had better in other hotels. In my opinion the quality was lacking at times, certainly with regard to the meats on offer. The coffee served at breakfast was awful, but you can get a better cup from a machine that is available.
Sandwiches, fruit, biscuits and cake etc are available throughout the day. Service in the bars and restaurants is generally quite good apart from the pool bar which usually only has one member of staff which isn’t enough. Alejandro and Sonya in particular were fantastically friendly and efficient.

The entertainment and activities are generally quite good. There are daily aerobics, spinning classes etc but the gym itself is very small. The evening show finishes at 10.30 and everyone drifts off. No loud late night music.

The pools are all good and the sun loungers are excellent as they are very new and have a mattress, although they are crammed in. A lifeguard is on duty on either side. The male on the Playa side was often on his phone and once away from the pool area (he may have been on a break!) Towels are available from reception for a 10 Euro deposit and can be changed from 10-12 and 4-5.
The beach is a one minute walk and is very good with life guards and great water for swimming. Loungers can be rented but it’s easy to just nip down from the pool area.

There was no tennis court as advertised on the Thomas Cook website and confirmed by reception, but there are 2 padel tennis courts which cost 12 Euro or 15 when floodlit. There is an artificial 5 a side/basketball pitch just outside the front entrance along with a small park. There is another small park beside the pool bar and stage.

For our last few days the mosquito’s were vicious and we received several bites whilst watching the show despite using repellent.

Finally it would be great if the hotel could ban or at least create ‘smoking areas’ as it seemed that virtually everyone smoked in the pool area or outside stage area, which is not very pleasant when it drifts into your face.

Overall a good hotel which I would recommend, although I don’t think I am likely to return in the near future.

Room Tip: As a family better to go to the Park instead of the Playa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IanDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

I have never written a review on these sites ever however I feel given the experience that my and my partner had, we would love to help others make the right choice on where to go and this hotel is definitely a choice that you should consider!

Upon arrival we were greeted with champagne and given an upgrade to a sea view room free of charge! Something that we were so greatful for because our view was breathtaking!

Again once we got to our room, we were completely taken a back on how lovely the rooms were and how clean they were. Being from the uk, we understand that stars aren't always the equivalent when travelling abroad and that rooms never appear to be how the photos make them look but these really were, if not better than the photos!

The staff are lovely and friendly and never leave you without a drink. Our entire stay, we were waited on, a member of staff even came round the pool to offer everyone laying around the pool a drink which was very much appreciated. The waiters at night would ask if you needed another drink even if you hadn't quite finished the first one, you were never left with an empty glass.

The food was lovely with lots of choice and I loved that there was always two or three chefs cooking the meat dishes in front of you so you knew it was freshly made, cooked properly and not laying around in the heat. They were more than happy to serve you up more than one portion at a time if you fancied it which my partner always seemed to!

Again I have to stress that I do not really leave reviews however I know how helpful trip advisor can be when choosing a hotel so I really would love to recommend this hotel so that more people can have the enjoyable experience that me and my partner had.

Location was fab, beach was only a few steps away and port d'alcudia was a 10 min taxi journey away.

Would definitely return and are happily bragging to all our friends and family about how lovely this place is and urging them to go!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophie88x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Sophie,

We are thrilled you enjoyed staying with us at the IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa hotel and are sincerely grateful for the time you spent to share your satisfaction here on Tripadvisor; it is wonderful to hear we were able to meet your expectations of an enjoyable holiday experience under the sun of the amazing island of Majorca.

It is very rewarding to read that you appreciated the comfort and cleanliness of your accommodation as well as the quality of our buffets; the gastronomy being an important aspect for IBEROSTAR, our talented Chefs do their utmost to please all palates; It is enjoyable to read that we were able to conquer yours.

Last but not least, we want to express our utmost gratitude for your amazing words towards our staff, as you well say their great attitude, genuine helpfulness and full commitment to ensure that our guests are enjoying their stay at our hotel is definitely our main asset; we will certainly not miss this opportunity to congratulate them for their contribution to your wellbeing throughout your stay among us.

Thank you again for the courtesy of your time and very kind recommendation to Tripadvisor’s readers; it will be a real pleasure to welcome you back on your next trip to Majorca and please do not hesitate contact us beforehand to organize every detail of your stay.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I had a weeks holiday here to celebrate my 70th birthday. We found the staff, cleanliness of hotel and catering facilities to be very good. We were on the all inclusive package and this proved to be good value with all premium drinks available at no extra charge.
It was disappointing to find that many guests made little or no effort to dress for dinner. This did little to enhance the experience one expects when staying at a 4/5 star hotel.
Although not in a school holiday period ( times we try to avoid) there was an abundance of young children who were very well looked after by the animation teams.
Light entertainment was available every night and was worth seeing

Room Tip: We booked a side sea view but were lucky enough to be given a full front view room overlooking the t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Woofalot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for choosing our IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa hotel for such a special event as the celebration of your 70th birthday and for the time you spent to review your overall holiday experience among us.

We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, form the genuine kindness of our staff, to the value of our All Inclusive basis and the quality of our animation program.

Thank you again for your visit and the courtesy of your time; it would be a great pleasure to welcome you again at your earliest convenience.

Kindest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Have been as a couple and brought grandchildren love it when you step into reception you feel your on holiday the only problem is there isn't a concierge which you would expect,We always book a suite but only cos of the sea views and space the standard rooms are fine especially garden /pool view .foods amazing only problem a bit of rush need more dining venues .Will update after our visit

Room Tip: Block one or Severn block five over looks entertainment area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wendy441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

2nd visit to this great hotel in Majorca, admittedly not the cheapest hotel on the island but you certainly get what you paid for!!!

We are planning hopefully another week away this year and another two for next.

Cannot fault this hotel in any way!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Steven Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IberostarHoteles, Online Reputation Manager at IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

We first would like to thank you for your return visit to our IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa hotel; it is wonderful to read that once again, you thoroughly enjoyed your stay among us.

We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon, ensuring you in advance of our utmost commitment to provide you with “another great holiday” in the beautiful island of Majorca with IBEROSTAR.

Warmest Regards,
Online Reputation Manager
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa de Muro
1.5 mi away
Viva Blue & Spa
Viva Blue & Spa
#1 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,167 reviews
27.7 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Palma
Iberostar Playa de Palma
#1 of 78 in Playa de Palma
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Prinsotel La Dorada
Prinsotel La Dorada
#8 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Iberostar Albufera Park
Iberostar Albufera Park
#2 of 30 in Playa de Muro
785 reviews
1.5 mi away
Iberostar Playa de Muro
Iberostar Playa de Muro
#7 of 30 in Playa de Muro
224 reviews
1.8 mi away
Iberostar Alcudia Park
Iberostar Alcudia Park
#9 of 30 in Playa de Muro
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa

Address: Avenida Albufera s/n, 07458 Playa de Muro, Majorca, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Balearic Islands > Majorca > Playa de Muro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Spa Hotel in Playa de Muro
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Playa de Muro
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Playa de Muro
#5 Luxury Hotel in Playa de Muro
#8 Romantic Hotel in Playa de Muro
#10 Family Hotel in Playa de Muro
Price Range: £81 - £280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa 4*
Number of rooms: 360
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa hotel is located on the seafront of Playa de Muro, one of the best-maintained sandy beaches on the entire Mediterranean coast. This is a highly recommended hotel to enjoy a family holiday with children or as a couple. SPA, cuisine, sports, entertainment... The services at the Albufera Playa hotel are wide-ranging and will allow you to enjoy an ample variety of entertainment for adults and children alike. These include five restaurants and two bars in the all inclusive accommodation type (optional); Miniclub (ages 4 to 7), Maxiclub (ages 8 to 12), Teenieclub (ages 13 to 17); as well as a playground and children’s pool. There’s also SPA Sensations, the space where you can restore the balance between body and mind, a fitness centre, and Fit & Fun activities... there’s something for every member of the family. And if you also seek that extra touch of exclusivity, the Albufera Playa hotel offers its Star Prestige service with luxury services, such as a rooftop VIP zone featuring Balinese beds, Jacuzzis, Open Bar with drinks and amazing views of Playa de Muro. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Iberostar, Expedia, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Albufera Playa Hotel Playa De Muro
Iberostar Playa De Muro
Iberostar Hotel Albufera Playa
IBEROSTAR Albufera Playa Playa De Muro, Majorca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing