We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great unique place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn
Hangzhou, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great unique place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My husband and I just stayed here for two nights. We both agree that it among one of the best places we've stayed in all our travels in China. Previous reviews have been pretty accurate, describing the basic room and bathrooms, the great food, and great service provided by Steven. It's rare to find someone who not only speaks as good English in a rural village in China, but is insistent in trying to make everyone have a good stay. He makes it easy to make the trip to the village as an English speaker, due to the directions on the website and the fact he picks you up where the bus drops you off. He can also help you plan your time during your visit.

My only advice besides definitely stay here, is if you use his uncle to drive you around, make sure you're clear with him about what you want. My husband and I wanted to drive out to Chuxi to photograph the cluster from the lookout point during "golden hour" (before sunset), but not to spend time in the village. We didn't want to spend more money on entrance tickets, and there was a miss communication and we thought we could go to the lookout without having to pay the entrance fee but we were wrong. We were also told his Uncle would take us to see some Tulou that had no entrance fee, but that only included stopping for a minute on the side of the road on the way to Chuxi. However, we know this was just a communication error, and it didn't spoil our experience.

As a Western tourist, Changdi Inn just gets it right. Most places in China think travelers want marble floors and lots of concrete, but here they have hot water with good pressure, coffee, English speaking staff, toast for breakfast, and WiFi.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kim23fly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    27
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
12
15
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bonn
Level Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for two nights in the Changdi Inn and it was a great experience. The rooms are simple and there are only shared bathrooms but the friendliness of the staff, the building itself and the location compensate this by far. The food is also good. It was a great experience and this place can only be recommended

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank acapricorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

The Changdi Inn occupies part of the 150-year old, phoenix-shaped Fuyulou earth building. It is owned and run by Stephen, who arranged our trip to explore these amazing constructions. We stayed 2 nights at Chandi Inn.
Rooms are basic: bed(s), chair, side table (with a hulking great TV), hooks on the wall, bed linen was clean. Communal bathrooms, Chinese-style, on each landing. Daily life, including meals, happens out in the courtyard (weather permitting). Stephen and his family look after their guests with enthusiasm and a charming mixture of local and western habits (eg. congee, home-made bread and expresso for breakfast). We had two excellent evening meals and some interesting conversations with fellow-guests, all for a fraction of the cost of one night at an average Shanghai hotel - and the WiFi works better!
Not for the faint-hearted, but a great way to get acquainted with this fascinating part of the world.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
240 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 December 2013 via mobile

We had the pleasure of staying two nights at a triple room at the Changdi.

The room was quite basic, and the toilet and shower facilities in the hallway, but both the AC and wi-fi worked well and we had a good nights sleep. 

Breakfast in front of the house, with the sun shining on our faces, the sound of the river and breathing fresh air - wonderfull! We also got the best breakfast tea we've ever had. For dinner we enjoyed delicious food in the courtyard. 

Stephen (the owner) arranged both the accomodation, the car and driver and intinieries for our days there. We got to see a lot of beautifull and interesting tulou houses and villages. As we do not speak or read chinese hos help was absolutely necessary to do this trip. We would never have managed public transport, tulou tickets etc. on our own. Thank you Stephen! (The kids says hallo to the dog!)

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Arrived after a bus journey and was met by Stephen and his father and were taken to the house.
Our room no 204 was on the upper floor which was not a problem. The cleanliness of the room was very poor. On the floor tiles were two used cotton wool buds which appeared to have been there sometime. The small window had cracked and missing glass which left sharp edges.
There were wires coming out of various places in the wall with no indication what they were for.
The wall had insect webs on them and at the rear of the head board which was clearly visible were plastic era wrapping rubbish for previous occupants and the very large cobweb the they sat was covered in dust which indicated it has been there a lit longer than we stayed.
Would I visit again, yes to have a look around but certainly not to sleep.
Having now read TA some got breakfast included which we didn't and it wasn't offered.
We did eat am meal there which was very nice but firstly we we're give a table in the courtyard square which we declined as the floor has food on it and small drainage either side which has even older food laying the the stagnate water. We asked to me moved into one of the side rooms which was far better.
Stephen was very helpful but his father drove is to the bus stop but declined to help us put our luggage into the boot of his car even though he parked the rear of his car in a muddle puddle. When we arrived at the bus stop he just opened his bar book and walked away!
The lady who cooked our meal was delightful and was glad we ate it all and was happy we enjoyed eating it all.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed three nights here, the manager Stephen arranged pick up from Yongding train station. 100 RMB for a double room with shared shower and bathroom (Chinese style). The rooms are basic but this is not really the point of staying somewhere like this - the building itself and the surrounding area is beautiful.

Only about a third of the tulou itself has been converted into hostel accommodation (with wifi and an outdoor restaurant), the rest functions "normally", with a clan shrine, a few teashops and a school. We thought the food there was great (potato and pork with a cold Tsingtao especially) and ate there several times, including the free breakfast of course - not sure why but I liked the fact that all of the food preparation, laundry etc was done in the communal outdoor areas in the middle of the tulou, the family running the hostel were always very visible and high-spirited, it made us feel at home.

Location-wise, this is a good base for exploring not just Hongkeng village but some of the neighbouring tulou villages. This is a World Heritage site so as you might expect it has been developed for tourism, but reasonably tastefully I think - the tourist groups tend to be most visible at lunchtime but the evenings are very quiet. Just outside of the gates of the village, about 10 mins walk from the hostel, are some simple restaurants where you can get cheap food and beer if you fancy a change.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Oliver H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

If you're looking to stay in a tulou, you won't find anything better than this. The building is a tulou (though not a round one) still used by the family that owns it. The location is great: in the middle of tulou country, on a river, and surrounded by a small town. The rooms are adequate, with a/c and wifi, and the food is good, if a little pricey for the location (though cheap by the standards of just about any other location in China). It's worth nothing, too, that there isn't another restaurant in town.

You'll share a bathroom, most likely with other guests and some members of the family. And if you're expecting five-star cleanliness I'd suggest looking for a vacation somewhere other than tulou country.

The family is very nice and helpful, and they want you to enjoy the surroundings. So, if you're up for visiting tulou country, and you want to stay in a tulou (with everything that choice entails), then this is your place.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FeltonS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Yongding County
5.9 mi away
Shuiyunju Inn
Shuiyunju Inn
#25 of 105 in Nanjing County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
93.7 mi away
Hakka Earth Building Prince
Hakka Earth Building Prince
#4 of 25 in Yongding County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.0 mi away
Qingdelou Inn
Qingdelou Inn
#1 of 105 in Nanjing County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Yuqinglou Hostel
Yuqinglou Hostel
#5 of 24 in Yongding County
4.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hakka (International) Hot Spring Resort
Hakka (International) Hot Spring...
#9 of 25 in Yongding County
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Panda Hostel
#1 of 2 in Yongding County
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn

Property: Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn
Address: Fuyulou Earth Building in Hakka Earth Building Folk Custom Cultural Village, Hukeng Town, Yongding County 364100, China
Region: China > Fujian > Yongding County
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Yongding County
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuyulou Changdi Inn is located Hakkas folk culture village. Fuyulou has 134 years of history, is a traditional Hakka architecture. 7000 Square meters. A total of 160 rooms (inn of 20 rooms). 1.We offer car services, arrange car to pick you up in Xiamen. 2.Bicycle rental, we have a map. 3.My family did featuring Hakka cuisine. 4.We like to drink tea, but we also have good coffee. 5.We have a local wine, there are also ice-cold beer. 6.We have a washing machine. 7.Fifth floor there are a lot of books. 8.We have a public computer. Has WIFI. 9.Here the night sky is very beautiful. 10.Or eat with us.Chat with us. 1. Take long distance coach (Xiamen-Hu Keng) at Xiamen Hubin Road Long Distance Bus Station. There are 3 coaches each day: 6:50am, 9:10am and 1:00pm. It will take 3.5 Hours. Please get off at "Earth Building Cultural Village", one stop before the terminal station "Hu Keng". The fare is RMB 63. Please contact the inn when it leaves from Xiamen and the inn will arrange the pick up at the village. 2. Take bus (Longyan-tulou) from Longyan Old Bus Station. There are 12 coaches everyday and the last one is 4:50pm. The price is RMB 23,It will take 2 hours.Please contact the inn when it leaves from longyan and the inn will arrange the pick up at the village. 3. Take bus (Yong Ding-Gao Tou) from Yong Ding Bus Station. Please get off at "Earth Building Cultural Village", one stop before the terminal station "Gao Tou". The price is RMB 13,It will take 1 hours.Please contact the inn when it leaves from gaotou and the inn will arrange the pick up at the village Changdi inn is inside the Earth Building Cultural Village. The entrance ticket RMB 90 per person. Only need to buy one.You can use many days. PS: . Our Inn has a bike rental. We can arrange car pick in Xiamen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulou Fuyulou Changdi Inn Yongding County, China - Fujian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing