We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Guest House, Great Food”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hordern Vale
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hordern Vale B&B and Inns
Sankt Englmar, Germany
2 reviews
“Wonderful Guest House, Great Food”
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed 2 nights in this charming guest house and were treated to delicious gourmet meals -ingredients mostly direct from the kitchen garden. The Garden Room room was decorated in simple cottage style with a wonderfully comfy bed and spectacular views to Castle Cove. The main living room, with its large open fireplace, was a great place to relax and enjoy the views. After a day of walking, exploring and great outdoors, this was a terrific retreat, with home comforts and classy food. We'll be back for more!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    8
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
23
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
161 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

spent a couple days here just before Easter,and found the location to be ideal to explore the parks,fish,surf,or just relax and read a book.The host Susie was charming without being overbearing,the room was old cottage style but everything worked except no TV,phone,internet,just sublime!Would suggest an in house dinner as all the ingredients come from the garden and have some interesting combinations.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hbgser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
448 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

My walking partner--we were walking the Great Ocean Walk during the day--and I stayed two nights here. Perched up on a hill, it is a beautiful bed and breakfast. My room was simple, nicely decorated with a plush bed. The fire in the common room was always aflame and the food--gourmet and homemade--was a nightly adventure. The second night, the proprietress, Suzy, served up rabbit. Never had it before, but very tasty. Suzy was always helpful and friendly. A great place to stay, right off the Great Ocean Road, and not far from the Otway Lighthouse.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank W-Hartford_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

My partner and I were lucky enough to stay at this beautiful guest house for 2 nights while doing the Great Ocean Walk. After a day of hiking it was a most lovely sight. The property is gorgeous and the rooms are spectacular, especially with the large balcony surrounding the house. We stayed in the corner room and had spectacular views of the valley from our bed.

But what made our day was the warm welcome we got from Suzie. She really is something special and her stamp was on everything on the property. She is warm, kind, diplomatic and totally understands what her guests want. And her food was outstanding - 3 courses each night, each course absolutely delicious. Our first night we had blinis with horseradish & smoked salmon, followed by trout caught in the pond on the property and then a tastey dessert. All I could say is "wow" after a hard day of hiking. I don't think we could ever go back to staying in campsites. Suzie has convinced us that this is the way to do bush walking.

We will definitely be back - hopefully for more than 2 days. Staying here has got to be the best way to relax.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank curlyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed 11 December 2011

We stumbled upon this place through google maps and could not have been happier. We were in Australia visiting family in Upwey (we're from Charleston, SC) and we left for a few days to travel the great ocean road. This was our fist night away and we couldn't have felt more at home. The dinner we ate on the porch overlooking sunset and the fields was phenomenal. It was great to mingle with the other guests but there was also plenty of room for privacy. The room was well appointed, the bed was very comfortable and the property was gorgeous! Breakfast was above and beyond what we would have expected and every detail was taken into consideration. The property is open to walk around and explore, and the owners are in the process of perfecting each and every part. Fresh veggies grown on the farm, eggs from the chooks, horses walking the property, pure bliss! Great music in the living area, a fantastic fire place, great books, comfy couches the list goes on! A MUST STAY if you're anywhere nearby.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dewey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2011

What a beautiful spot! Stunning views. Suzie and her beautiful family took great care of us and were so welcoming. I cannot recommend highly enough. Perfect place to base yourself whilst touring. We spent 2 nights there whilst walking Great Ocean Road. To come home to hot showers, wonderfully comfy beds, and Suzie's cooking.......what more could you want. OMG, that Lemond Curd Meringue!!! We set off with her packed lunch and carefully warpped snacks each morning, and were welcomed with a cuppa in the afternoon. 10/10. Thanks again Suzie!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amosi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2011

What Luxury! What Pampering! Cooked Breakfast to start the day, followed by a packed Lunch to eat along the Great Ocean Walk and back to an absolutely delicious 3 Course Dinner , sitting in the dining room with wonderful views down the Aire Valley . Being picked up daily and transported to the walk made it a trip to remember. I wil certainly be recommending this to my walking friends in Adelaide

Room Tip: Thr Front rooms have superb views
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenstephens4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hordern Vale
3.2 mi away
Cape Otway Cottages
Cape Otway Cottages
#1 of 1 in Hordern Vale
22 reviews
3.4 mi away
Great Ocean Walk Retreat
Great Ocean Walk Retreat
#2 of 2 in Glenaire
10 reviews
6.7 mi away
Cape Otway Lightstation
Cape Otway Lightstation
#5 of 5 in Cape Otway
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Glenaire Cottages
Glenaire Cottages
#1 of 2 in Glenaire
69 reviews
9.2 mi away
Motel Marengo
Motel Marengo
#2 of 12 in Apollo Bay
291 reviews
5.4 mi away
Shearwater Cottages
Shearwater Cottages
#3 of 5 in Cape Otway
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House

Property: Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House
Address: 2590 Great Ocean Road, Hordern Vale, Victoria 3238, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Hordern Vale
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Hordern Vale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aire Valley Restaurant and Guest House is situated just west of Apollo Bay on the Great Ocean Road, Hordern Vale. The Homestead dates originally from the 1890s and overlooks the lakes of the Aire River Wildlife Reserve and the Otways. Guests can wander around the vegetable garden while their vegetables are picked for dinner. Salads for lunches for walkers on the Great Ocean Walk are picked fresh each morning. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing