We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A superb restaurant with 5 stars for everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Roc du Boeuf

Le Roc du Boeuf
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$21 - US$42
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chabanais, France
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A superb restaurant with 5 stars for everything”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Since we retired to the Rochechouart/Chabanais area of south west France last year, we have been meaning to pay this renowned establishment a visit. We did so on 15 February 2014 and we were not disappointed.

This is an exceptional restaurant with sublime food, terrific ambience and a beautiful setting adjacent to the river which is a real pleasure to watch, daytime or evening. Having dined in Michelin starred restaurants in the UK, Paris and Nice, Le Roc du Boeuf is right up there with them and I would suggest Le Roc is much better as the dining experience is so much more intimate.

Diners are offered three main tariffs for evening dining and it was apparent that most of our fellow diners chose the middle offering at 39.50 euros for three courses (others are 29.50 & 49.50). My wife and I were quite taken aback by the astounding flavours and presentation of all our courses and a special mention must be made Natalie's hosting and attentiveness. Natalie's English is very good too, should one need some assistance.

A really exceptional experience indeed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    211
    35
    5
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, our favourite restaurant in France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

We've eaten at the Roc du Boeuf at least 5 times in the last couple of years and our experience has always been exceptionally good. Our latest visit on 2nd November 2013 did not disappoint.

Everything is spot on - the decor, ambience, and service is impeccable and the food is creative, delicious and beautifully presented on quality china and glassware.

The chef artistically uses seasonal ingredients and classic methods to produce dishes that are unique, unusual and tempting. Each dish (even the clever amuse bouche) has been carefully designed to embrace the attributes of taste, texture, smell and visual appearance.

The menus change with the seasons and we've now experienced all four. Each visit has been exciting and pleasurable. In August we dined outside on the attractive terrace.

Our (well-behaved) dog was also made very welcome in the restaurant.

I can't wait to go again during our next visit to France.

Here is a link to my website and blog where you can see a full review and photographs taken during our visit in March 2013 www.passionatefood.co.uk

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A pleasure to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

Our party thought everything was perfection at The Roc. The position perfect
the dining area atmospheric, the food superb and Natilie charming,
We considered this restuarant to be on a par with any 5 star kitchen in the Uk
and certainly better than several in our vicinity.
If you require a place to remember try this idyllically situated restaurant.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gasc0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton on sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“"Fantastic"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

This compares and possibly exceeds any restaurant anywhere...we have been there on numerous occasions....we always book a table whenever we are in France. The food is outstanding, the presentation is beautiful....like a picture on a plate. Natalie greets us by name and always goes out of her way to make it a special experience. We always take friends to the Roc de Boeuf...wanting them to share such a special place. Well done Roc du Boeuf...see you soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KathrynB5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limoges, Limousin, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Always excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

We have visited Roc du Boeuf on numerous occasions, and always have excellent food and service. The menu is imaginative, and the food beautifully presented. When we have friends or relatives to stay, we always take them to Roc du Boeuf and are never disappointed. Vegetarian friends stated that it was the best vegetarian meal they had ever eaten out. And this is not a vegetarian restaurant! Other friends took photographs of each course as it came to the table! Natalie manages to do the front of house in the restaurant completely on her own, taking orders, bringing out drinks, serving and clearing tables with apparent ease.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Roc du Boeuf also viewed

Rochechouart, Haute-Vienne
Saint Junien, Haute-Vienne
 
Rochechouart, Haute-Vienne
Rochechouart, Haute-Vienne
 
Limoges, Haute-Vienne
Limoges, Haute-Vienne
 

Been to Le Roc du Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing