We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel de France
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rochechouart
Reviewed 4 June 2014

For the price this hotel was good. Clean. Friendly. Comfy bed, ideal en suite. We stayed 2 nights. Only thing we missed were tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Otherwise no complaints. Very central but not noisy as Rochechouart is only small itself,

Room Tip: 201 has a low beam which I banged my head on and doesn't have the best view. Quiet, clean and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I ate at this Hotel earlier in the year whilst house hunting. So when we went back to the area this week we stayed for two nights. The rooms were comfortable but would have benefitted from tea/coffee facilities in the room. The staff were helpful and very welcoming and the food as before was excellent. If you just want somewhere to eat or stay I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We reserved a table here as we had been told it could get busy sometimes. We probably didn't have to book as there was pleanty of seating available when we got there.

There were only two members of staff on that night; one who seemed to be supervising while the other served everyone. It took a little while for us to be waited on but we were very happy with the service we received.

We ate outside in the evening at perhaps the worst time because there was a thunderstorm heading over the town that night which caused a large swarm of insects to invade the area. We were sat just to the side of an outdoor light which had attracted them so we spent the majority of the night swatting flies. We managed to move tables, however, and were also allowed to eat dessert inside to get away.

Overall the food was amazing and the staff were wonderful. English is spoken well here but we endeavoured to speak in French anyway. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LittleSnufkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I and friends were visiting the area, and were caught in a terrible rainstorm. We dashed into this small hotel and restaurant to catch lunch while we waited for the rain to subside. What a stroke of luck! Run by Annie & Herve Sutre, this turned out to be a lovely luncheon discovery. We chose their 3 course luncheon, which had several options, and everything was well-prepared and delicious. We enjoyed some local red wine with the meal. The staff was helpful and friendly---and, had we been in the area longer, we would happily have returned to dine again. It's one of those happy, surprise discoveries that makes travel a delight.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Stopped in this hotel towards the end of nov it was freezing outside but what a warm welcome inside the room we stayed in was cosy and warm, what can I say about the food in the restaurant just excellent, service first class, highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oxo1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We spent three days here and had no complaints at all. The staff were fantastic, the food was good enough for us to return for meals even when we stayed elsewhere. Very good value for money and it is worth choosing the top-end menu for about 25 Euros, I doubt that you'll regret it. The menu Etap at 15 Euros is a case of you get what you pay for. Their rice pudding (cold) is utterly scrummy and their cheese course offers a good selection.

The restaurant is closed on Sunday nights but there is a pizza place just a building or two from the hotel which served the best pizza we have ever eaten. Unfortunately I can't remember what it's called, but it's visually unmissable and hotel staff will point you in the right direction.

If staying at the hotel on a Sunday night the staff will make sure that you have a code for the door so that you can come and go as you please (the told us no less than 4 times!). There are no staff on duty on a Sunday night, so a spur of the moment stay on a Sunday night is out of the question. Similarly, if you plan to return late, make sure you have the code. If for any reason they don't give you the code when you check-in, ask for it anyway. Also, if you're a smoker you will need the code if you want to nip out for a cigarette at the crack of dawn before anyone is on duty.

Although breakfasts are buffet style and the coffee is from a machine, it was perfectly adequate. I agree with the reviewer who said that the croissants let the side down, but being aware that they're not the best we just had other things that were on offer. Other than that, breakfast was absolutely fine with no shortage of choice. Even at the crack of dawn the staff were cheery!

If it is any testimony to the food, it was pretty much full every evening with locals and visitors alike and meals can be eaten on the terrace.

Rooms are very simply furnished but perfectly comfortable and adequate.

Oh! And if you lose the wi-fi signal just mention it to one of the staff and ask them to check that the plug hasn't been pulled out. They're a super bunch of people.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumbrain4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

After being recommended by friends, we visited the restaurant at Hotel de France, but were extremely disappointed by the quality of the food, which we found unappetising and not as fresh as it could have been. The cheeseboard was particularly poor and some of it should not have been served at all. Not recommended.
If I could give it no stars I would, but I can't!!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Alshymer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochechouart
0 mi away
Hotel La Meteorite
Hotel La Meteorite
#2 of 2 in Rochechouart
79 reviews
7.9 mi away
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Saint Junien
119 reviews
6 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
#2 of 3 in Saint Junien
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Golf De Saint Junien
Golf De Saint Junien
#3 of 3 in Saint Junien
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Grenouille Joyeuse
La Grenouille Joyeuse
#2 of 3 in Rochechouart
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Address: 7 Place Marquet, 87600 Rochechouart, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Rochechouart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Rochechouart
Price Range: £48 - £50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing