We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make sure you pay your own table bill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Hotel de France
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de France
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rochechouart
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Make sure you pay your own table bill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Have been visiting this restaurant for many years as I have family in the area wonderful food Annie could smile more but when a friend went to treat us by paying without us knowing she was charged for someone else's meal 20 euros more than it should have been so be aware of what your bill should be again you cannot fault the food only perhaps change the lunchtime 17euro menu sometime it has been the same for ever..........Annie smile

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    18
    9
    5
    2
See reviews for
10
16
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Burntisland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Located in the square in Rochechouart this hotel is a great place to "people watch" whilst enjoying a pleasant lunch. The food was excellent, as was the service. There was an extensive menu but we opted for the Plat du Jour and we were not disappointed. This was our fourth visit, both for lunch and dinner and the quality has remained constant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart-Hazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
colchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

For the price this hotel was good. Clean. Friendly. Comfy bed, ideal en suite. We stayed 2 nights. Only thing we missed were tea/coffee making facilities in the room. Otherwise no complaints. Very central but not noisy as Rochechouart is only small itself,

Room Tip: 201 has a low beam which I banged my head on and doesn't have the best view. Quiet, clean and c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank maria k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

My husband and I ate at this Hotel earlier in the year whilst house hunting. So when we went back to the area this week we stayed for two nights. The rooms were comfortable but would have benefitted from tea/coffee facilities in the room. The staff were helpful and very welcoming and the food as before was excellent. If you just want somewhere to eat or stay I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annette W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

We reserved a table here as we had been told it could get busy sometimes. We probably didn't have to book as there was pleanty of seating available when we got there.

There were only two members of staff on that night; one who seemed to be supervising while the other served everyone. It took a little while for us to be waited on but we were very happy with the service we received.

We ate outside in the evening at perhaps the worst time because there was a thunderstorm heading over the town that night which caused a large swarm of insects to invade the area. We were sat just to the side of an outdoor light which had attracted them so we spent the majority of the night swatting flies. We managed to move tables, however, and were also allowed to eat dessert inside to get away.

Overall the food was amazing and the staff were wonderful. English is spoken well here but we endeavoured to speak in French anyway. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LittleSnufkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2013

My husband and I and friends were visiting the area, and were caught in a terrible rainstorm. We dashed into this small hotel and restaurant to catch lunch while we waited for the rain to subside. What a stroke of luck! Run by Annie & Herve Sutre, this turned out to be a lovely luncheon discovery. We chose their 3 course luncheon, which had several options, and everything was well-prepared and delicious. We enjoyed some local red wine with the meal. The staff was helpful and friendly---and, had we been in the area longer, we would happily have returned to dine again. It's one of those happy, surprise discoveries that makes travel a delight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shirley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012 via mobile

Stopped in this hotel towards the end of nov it was freezing outside but what a warm welcome inside the room we stayed in was cosy and warm, what can I say about the food in the restaurant just excellent, service first class, highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oxo1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rochechouart
0.0 mi away
Hotel La Meteorite
Hotel La Meteorite
#1 of 2 in Rochechouart
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
7.9 mi away
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
L'Azur Hotel Restaurant
#1 of 3 in Saint Junien
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chapelles
Hostellerie La Bergerie des Chap...
#1 of 1 in Oradour-sur-Vayres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
Inter Hotel Le Boeuf Rouge
#2 of 3 in Saint Junien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
5.1 mi away
Golf De Saint Junien
Golf De Saint Junien
#3 of 3 in Saint Junien
3.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
14.9 mi away
Chateau de Nieuil
Chateau de Nieuil
#1 of 1 in Nieuil
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 7 Place Marquet, 87600 Rochechouart, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Haute-Vienne > Rochechouart
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Rochechouart
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing