We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place for Family!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Nice place for Family!”
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed at the Marriott Kai Khao Beach for 3 nights. This resort is nice place for family, huge room with two bedroom suite and good housekeeping & services. Swimming Pool is not too big but fit for our group. Other than the resort is far away ( 1 hour drive ) from Patong beach, this resorts is perfect!

And, the bad think is their restaurant, we need to wait almost 45 minutes for our orders, our group needs to go outside for dinner again finally.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TANLEYTANG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    219
    34
    10
    8
See reviews for
413
106
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2012

The whole resort stinks of 2 star... From the towering power lines that greet you as you pull up to the ghetto entrance, to the techno music they blast poolside. Villas are ok (we went on a vacation club referral so did not part with a dime), but service is extremely patchy... Some are outstanding others can't even comprehend English (the bartender and concierge on night duty). We practically ordered from Kindee for every meal (it is half the price and is delivered twice as fast). Not surprisingly it attracts a commensurate demographic of guest as well... As for the vacation club presentation? Well you'd have to pay me to sign up frankly.

Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank AllieKhong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

We were guests of Marriot Vacation club and invited for a stay here with another couple sometime in August. The catch for this complimentary stay was to attend a 90 min session sales presentation for the vacation club membership. All well and good. We discovered that Mai Khao is where all the referred guests were placed.Not in the Marriott Resort and vacation club which was a 5 min buggy ride away....(sadly) Since 2 couples were sharing the apartment, obviously only one couple would get to use the master bedroom with a king bed and a bathroom with a tub and the bathroom was as big as the room itself! but not a chance for us to check out the bathtub. Had to settle for a small bathroom with a standard bath tub.. We were in the 2nd bedroom which was intended for children of a family. The 2nd room was tiny with 2 super single beds squashed inside although I was told that there are 2 queen sized beds. I was misled. We felt that The vacation club should have offered us another unit of apartment so that we can experience the master room - although it was only the referral resort.On top of this, the Mai Khao has no beach and we would have to take a buggy to the beach if we wanted to. It was not the most convenient. There was no breakfast provided and we felt that it was a basic necessity which would have been taken care of as it posed another inconvenience to us during our stay. Otherwise the set up and facilities were reasonable but it would have been better for us to be allowed to stay in the Marriott Resort and Vacation club proper so that we can consider the membership more seriously. Worse still, we were not even allowed to use the facilities ie pool and gym in Marriott resort and vacation club. I wrote to the sales person Ms Suleemart on a few of my concerns but she never got back to me and this level of service is not quite acceptable. There is certainly room for improvement here if the vacation club wants to improve its membership sales!

Room Tip: secure ground floor rooms with plunge pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PrincessMia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

My husband and I, together with our 14-yr old son, stayed in a 2-bedroom villa at this resort for 4 days and 3 nights courtesy of the Marriott Vacation Club (the condition of stay was that my husband and I attend a 90-min presentation). The villa in itself is very nice, with 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, laundry facilities (washer & dryer), kitchenette with fridge, coffee maker, toaster, rice cooker, pots & pans, utensils and cutlery, so we made our own breakfast every morning (as the resort's breakfast cost THB 770 per person), sitting room, dining room and a nice sit-out balcony. We had our dinners at The Coffee Club @ Turtle Village. The service staff were extremely friendly and helpful (as is normal with most Thais). The free wifi service in the villa was excellent. This resort does not have a beach of its own, so you have to use the buggy service (or it's a 10 10 min walk) to get to the beach and use the shuttle service (which runs every 15 mins) to get back if you don't want to walk. It has a lovely swimming pool and the landscape and overall ambience is great. The main drawback of this resort is that is about 1-hr away, by car, to Patong Beach itself where the main shopping and nightlife scene are. Travelling an hour to and from the nearest "happening" scene was quite tiresome and the taxi cost THB1,800 for a 2-way trip which can work out to be quite expensive!

Room Tip: Ground floor villas have their own plunge pools :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sunita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Stayed in this property for 3 days after 4 days in Kamala @ Swissotel Phuket Resort. Having stayed here before I knew what to expect, but the service was top notch as usual.

This area (Mai khao) won't suit people looking for a hectic nightlife. If you are after a few days R&R then it might just be what you're looking for. While not having direct beach access the hotel has a frequent shuttle service to the sister hotel (Marriott beach club) from which you can access the beach. Don't expect sun loungers and shops or restautants on the beach, there aren't any.

Apartments are 2 bedroomed and can sleep up to 6. Good all round facilities in rooms and huge ensuite bathroom in the master bedroom. Some apartments come with private plunge pool.
Travelled with famy including my father and sister visiting from the UK, they loved it.
A good property in a quiet relaxing part of Phuket.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JamesWHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Great rooms. lot of space and well maintained. But the resort itself doesn't sit on the beach and the lagoon surrounding the property can smell a bit. Restaurants: mehh... We had almost all our meals outside the hotels: at JW Marriott next door and Anantara. If you've never spent any time at JW Marriott, you think it's okay but the pools are small. restaurant quality is just so so. You can bring food and cook but that's not why you come to resorts. If you had the chance, stay at JW Marriott next door. Much better food, beach access, and just a better resort

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve2Nan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here on 23 Jul - 27 Jul 2012 with kids (ages 1, 2 and 5). They are very enjoy to stay here!!

Kids are very busy when they stay here, because they love to swim, go to playroom and here have daily activities for kids.

When we at the swimming pool, the staff will bring guests complimentary water, fruits and small drink samples. Service is excellent!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wakibike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
13.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Property: Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing