We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

Our family of five spend six lovely days in this fabulous resort. Although place might be a bit remote for some people we loved the place because we wanted to have a vacation without the noise of traffic and drunk tourists. Our daughters 8 and 10 loved Kids Club activities which were all free of charges and were very well organised.

We had every day lunch or dinner in resort restaurant we we loved the food as well as excellent and kind service.

Beach is in near proximity and you can walk there (10min) or take beach buggy ride provided by the hotel. Beach is nice and quiet and there's only non motorised water activities available.

Jelly fish stinged my daughter and hotel staff organised first very well and adviced us about medical consultation. Doctor and nurse are also available if needed.

We loved the size of the hotel since all the personnel knew us by name and we felt like we were part of the family. We visited also JW Marriott which is close to Beach Club but due to size we didn't get the same feeling as in Marriott Beach Club. We felt that this hotel combined in wonderful way Marriott classic style and friendly familylike style. Thank you concierge Kanitta for your always friendly assistance and Aya who took care of our daughter wellbeing after jellyfish stings. We will be definitely back.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank zzzerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    356
    212
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
393
98
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

My first visit to Phuket and it was memorable. The two room apartment was cozy and comfortable. Check in was very efficient. The reception staff took us to the room and explain every detail. The Concierge team is very efficient and helpful. from the time we booked the hotel, they communicated via email to know the details and plans of our stay and to provide assistance. Organize our visits to near by places

The beach is bit far and this was the only negative point.

Room Tip: Hotel provides complete cooking facilities and the big hyper market TESCO if visited will have evere...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maylene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Our dedicated team is thrilled to read your positive review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciate your kind words for our concierge team. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

We have visited this club several times and will certainly be back. This is the perfect place if you are traveling with children. There are enough activities to keep you kids busy. The Director of Recreation (Gee) and his great staff (Champ, Lek …) are doing a wonderful job to help you to have a fun filled holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sven E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
405 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

This place delivers. Although the location on google maps is confusing, It's just next door to the JW Marriott & Marriott Beach Club Vacation resorts in the north west part of the island. Just in case you think it's too far from the beach, the hotel offers a personalised golf buggy service to either the beach or any other part of the other Marriotts next door. Thus you can enjoy all the services and business of the main Marriott but escape to your own domain when you are ready.
All facilities and service are first class and the vacation club resorts are geared towards younger families but my 18-23 year olds had no issue and want to return for Christmas next year. They even put on an outdoor cinema by the pool which was great.
Although there is a supermarket next door and the rooms have a fully fitted kitchen, eating out is so good and cheap that this was what we did for almost every meal.
The beach is amaizing quiet and frankly fantastic. If it's quality a solitude you want then come here as it's away from the hussle and bussle of the Southern part of the island. Everything else is a taxi drive away. Hiring a car might be nice but the taxis were large and accomodating and took the stress away from driving.

Room Tip: ask for the rooms nearer reception or Turltle Village
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PFTraveller62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent 2 weeks in Thailand and stayed at the Marriott timeshare the 2nd week. Check in was easy and flawless and the staff was friendly and helpful. The tour/concierge desk was most helpful arranging taxis and helping us with tours. Food served in the restaurants was excellent. Our room service experience was one of the most memorable experiences. The guy delivering the food set the table and made us feel as if we were in a restaurant -- rather than just dropping off the food. He even ran to get us more ice and would not accept a tip for that -- it was his pleasure to assist and we were pleasantly surprised. The location of the resort was nice for visiting the northern part of Phuket and the beach was gorgeous.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

Stayed here with family of 3 kids aged 4, 8 and 11. The greeting staff were friendly, quick and spoke good english. I knew straight away when the room door opened we were in the right place. The 2 bedroom apartment (which looks standard for most of the rooms) was superb. It was very clean, cool when it was hot and had everything we needed. 1 big king for us and large deep bath in the ensuite with a nice shower and toilet. A separate bathroom with everything next to the kids room which had 2 large king single beds (4 and 8 year olds shared one thats how big it was). There is also a fold out sofa in the lounge room. The kitchen is fully equipped with everything needed for preparing and cooking food. Large fridge and freezer, washer and dryer in the laundry and large secure balcony. 3 flat screen TV's and a large 6 place dining table to eat. So...the room was great but that's only the start. The facilities of the hotel are second to none i've stayed in ever. Entertainment being the focus here, especially for kids.....Everyday there are different activities for all ages for example. Adults: 9-10 aqua aerobics, 10-11 yoga, Thai boxing 12-1 etc etc Kids: 9-10 Hair braiding, 10-11 animal towel folding, 11-12 water polo etc etc This goes on all day everyday. They also have live music by the pool a few times a week and a large movie screen next to the pool a couple nights a week. They have really good quality sports equipment including pool table, ping pong tables, beach volleyball court, foozball table, outdoor playground area, pool toys and free bike hire and a kids club the kids did not want to leave.

Seriously the kids will love this place!

The pools are great too....the large adult pool was never overcrowded and there are 2 smaller kids pools with a water slide the kids were still using after 10 days. Viewing from sun beds was easy but get in early for front row. The pool bar is staffed by friendly people who find nothing difficult. Service is good and regular sun bed service is great for those times you just dont want to move.

The gym is great and has everything you need...unless you want a fitness class...but they have those scheduled everyday in another area anyway! :)

We had the buffett breakfast included each morning and the selection is so vast we did not get sick of it. They change the menu slightly daily and have 2 chefs on hand to cook any type of eggs you like. They offer a variety of themed dinners each night including seafood buffet or roast buffet for example and the food is great quality. In room dining is quick with our wait around 30 minutes for a large order. The waiter came and even set our table.

The concierge are fantastic with info about anything you need. They organise everything and nothing is to hard. They offer local tips which all were fantastic about best locations for scenery, tours and shopping. No dud underhanded deals going on here clearly. They have maps and brochures and even recommend off site dining or entertainment if requested.

Wait there's more!

The beach which is a 5 minute walk is the BEST in Phuket and we visited 6 or 7 big ones. No sunbeds which cost to lay on, very clean white sand and not very busy at all. They have 2 massage places to choose from as well as sailing and surfboard hire etc. It is mostly calm but can be a little rough for the little kids. The beach is well shaded in parts by the trees before the afternoon sun comes.

Check out is 10am but our plane was not due to leave until 7pm.....With no charge we were allowed midday check out and a room for 45 minutes whenever we wanted a shower, change or whatever. So after some shopping we went back asked for this room, which was exactly like our other room and showered and changed ready to transfer to the airport. With kids this was a great convenience.

There is always negatives with everything and i have a few but not to do with the hotel at all.
Taxi's aren't cheap and come fixed priced. Because Mai Khao is a long way from anything (perfect if you want a quiet family holiday) then site seeing is expensive in travel. We hired a car in the end which worked out to be much cheaper. Not much delivered food around...same deal as above....location makes food delivery hard so it's eat at hotel or go out.

So to sum up....The best family hotel i have stayed in...kids entertained without leaving hotel, (they didnt want to leave for day trips) great food, friendly service, clean and tidy and great value. Can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: Family 2 bedroom apartment can sleep 6 comfortably
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

Mai Khao beach is great for a quiet and relaxing holiday if that's what you're after. It is about an hours drive to Phuket Town and even further to Patong. But if you're after a mix of resort and getting a taste of Thailand then I would recommend staying somewhere in the south like Surin, which is where we will be staying should we return to Phuket in the future. The Marriott Mai Khao beach is much smaller than the JW and the Beach Club resort (next door properties). Also despite being booked out it was very quiet in the pool area and we stayed over Christmas. This is a stand alone resort so you cant use any of the facilities next door apart from the restaurants that you pay for anyway. The beach access is a 10 min buggy ride away but there are no seats there which make it difficult to use. Also with only 1 restaurant and 1 bakery at the resort options are pretty limited however we did discover Kin Dee restaurant that delivers for free and was very reasonably priced for the food quality so we ordered from there a lot! We hired a car for most of the time we were there just so that we were not completely resort bound but one simply does not want to have to travel an hour each way just to get to civilisation on ones holidays. Breakfast was great to begin with but the lack of choice got a bit boring after the first few days. The rooms however are great! We had a 2 bedroom pool room which was huge for our family of 2 adults and 3 kids 15, 14 and 1. All in all cute resort, not much choice, far away from the action. Good if you just want to chill out.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nvr01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Thank you for visiting Marriott’s Mai Khao. While we are happy to hear your family enjoyed the spacious villa, we apologize the resort did not meet your overall expectations. Your feedback is important to us and will be shared with the appropriate departments for review. Thank you again for choosing Marriott’s Mai Khao and we hope you visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 450 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Property: Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Marriott, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing