We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

From the moment you step out of the car , you know you are somewhere special. The staff, decor, weather , to name but a few, are heavenly!!! It is a fabulous resort with incredible attention to detail. They really do wish to ensure your vacation is as stress free and special as possible. We had a plunge pool ground floor apartment which was superb and although the kids played in the pool we always went to the main pool. Whilst by the pool, we were regularly offered fresh smoothies, fruit, iced water and fresh towels. It was a quick walk to the beach which offered the most stunning sunset whilst sitting on a wooden swing at the rustic "swing bar". It was very quiet and plenty of areas to be in the shade, the sun or just areas of beauty. We went on the elephant trek which was organised by the hotel with very little notice and was a highlight. We are already planning our return in June!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gayle I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    373
    217
    34
    10
    7
See reviews for
407
103
7
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Despite calling itself a beach resort it is not!
There are 2 other Marriott properties nearby on the beach and the resort offers a shuttle to them. You are not allowed to use the facilities - other than to spend money in the restaurants. We were rudely asked to leave. I asked where our beach facilities were and I was shown 6 chairs on a rough piece of ground. At the edge of the resort, meanwhile there were dozens of empty beds around the 2 Marriotts.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank harryandjacqui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Thank you for visiting Marriott's Mai Khao Beach Resort. We apologize the beach access did not meet your expectations and thank you for your feedback. Unfortunately, the neighboring resorts do have limited access to facilities for their guests. We would like to personally respond to your concerns and invite you send your contact information to us at Customer.Care@vacationclub.com. As an alternative, you may call directly at 800-860-9384. We look forward to speaking with you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If I was to write a review on this resort it would read exactly the same as the previous review by "owbutt" The only thing I would add is that my partner and I travelled as a retired couple and the fact that this resort catered for families didn't spoil our stay at all. It meant the resort had a more friendly relaxed feel about it. Maybe it would be nice to have a few sunbeds at the edge of the beach near to the towel kiosk.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 117Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach Resort Elaine! Thank you for you providing your five-star Tripadvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

Perfect place to relax with your family. The rooms are really nice and comfortable. They offer different kind of activies for kids and adults. The staff are very nice and friendly. The food is great too.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Cheenorevilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for sharing your family’s experience with us! Our team is happy to hear you had a great time on your vacation in Thailand. Please visit us again at Marriott’s Mai Khao Beach Resort!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maennedorf
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014

Location : a little bit out in nowhere. However, this is clearly one of the best Marriott Properties we have been to in 25 years.
Service, Beach quality, Gardens, pools are beautiful.
However, as with all Marriott Hotels and Vacation Clubs, the famous Marriott Ripp-Off Policy is evident: Prices at the Market Place and the restaurants are just beyond the threshold of pain: We have complained for 25 years to Marriott Senior Management but ol' Mr. Marriott does not seem to be willing to change his Ripp-Off Policy and make his guest feel comfortable.
The Senior Staff (Hotel Manager) do no seem to realise who are his customers: He proved to be unhelpful, unresourceful and stubborn.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the room adjacent to the road which is busy and noisy at all times of day and night
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hzgraggen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MVCI_Executive, Customer Care at Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for your positive review of Marriott's Mai Khao Beach Resort! We are happy to hear you enjoyed great service and comfortable accommodations while visiting. Your feedback regarding areas of improvement is helpful and will be shared with the appropriate management teams. Please visit again on your next trip to Thailand!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coleford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014

There are 3 Marriott properties - there is also the Hotel and the Phuket Beach Club. I think this one is probably the most friendly and relaxed but didn't stay at the others. We have stayed in many vacation club type properties in many parts of the world and this is one of the best. The Marriott brand never disappoints in my experience and the combination of the delights of Thai weather, hospitality, service and scenery and the qualities of the Marriott expectations gave us an excellent week's holiday. We travelled as two grandparents, two parents and a five month old. We stayed in a two bedroom first floor (second floor in Thailand!) unit which was spacious, clean, attractive, well serviced every day - even to the point of doing the washing-up - and were provided with bottled water, coffee and tea to our hearts' content. If you wanted more of anything you simply had to ask. One brilliant aspect for us was that room service consisted of all the menus on the site, delivered at no extra charge to your room. This is unique in my experience and was great for us since the youngster made it impractical for us to go out together. We were therefore able to go in pairs to local restaurants (limited in scope) or to eat on site (good quality and cheap by English standards but pricey by Thai standards) or have a meal delivered as required. We soon discovered that on the beach as well as massages at 400 baht an hour (£8) there were beachside restaurants which served fresh (I caught one part of lunch escaping over the sand!) fish and Thai curries which were superb and cheap (£2:50 maximum for curry and rice). It was idyllic - especially since the weather was a steady 31 degrees or so with no humidity worth mentioning. The swimming pool was never crowded, there was a good range of activities provided and there was never any pressure on sunloungers. Imagine lying where you choose and being provided with large glasses of iced water at will - nothing is too much for the staff. They even offered to play table tennis or pool if you were looking as if you wanted a game. Brilliant. I cannot exaggerate how lovely these people were to us. Anyone who thinks the beach is inconveniently far away is either very lazy (it's a maximum ten minute walk in beautiful weather at this time of year (December to February at least)) or didn't take advantage of the on-demand buggies which would take you from the Marriott to the beach edge. Excellent trips out are arranged by the concierge, the front office is efficient and helpful and, as you can tell, we enjoyed this stay as much as any we've ever enjoyed anywhere. The Marriott hotel is probably a little "posher" and you can use their restaurants if you wish (again with free transport every fifteen minutes) and the little supermarket complex (Turtlemart) has a reasonable range of shops. Local taxis are available from outside Turtlemart (not particularly cheap) but we didn't feel any need to keep going away from the pool, the beach and the apartment.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother with a ground floor room with a plunge pool at greater cost - I hardly ever sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank owbutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2014

This is our 3rd stay at Marriott Mai Khao. We stayed twice in their Pool Villas on the ground floor and this time on their 5th floor. Enjoyed all our stays very much. Their 2 bedroom villas are spacious and clean. Well maintained and I must add, an extremely well equipped kitchen, as we decided we will cook, this trip. Great pool and pool bar! A nice little retreat for families. It helps that Turtle Village (A small shopping area) and their Supermarket is just a 2 min walk away. Although, you pay tourists prices for items at the Supermarket. The Staff are ever so helpful and friendly! Checking in and out was easy and fast. the Shuttle service from Marriott Mai Khao to JW Marriott is fast and efficient (15 min intervals). Arranging for transport around Phuket was easy, with the help of the service staff.

Mai Khao is rather secluded, so, it is a place that is good for a restful and relaxing holiday. Not a place for someone looking to shop and "hang-out" with loads of other tourists. It is approx. 15-20 mins away from the Airport. And a good 45-50 min Taxi ride from the Shopping Mall (Central Festival). No worries about food! Plenty of restaurants to choose from, at Marriott Mai Khao, there are 2 and some nice, Japanese, Italian and the Andaman Grill at JW. An added bonus for us, a Thai Restaurant, Kin Dee, is just a 5-8min taxi ride away, plus they do Delivery!

It was great when we came as a couple and it was great when we came with family! So come, enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tantravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.0 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Marriott's Phuket Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Property: Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Address: Mai Khao Talang, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket 4*
Number of rooms: 133
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Marriott, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Mai Khao Beach Hotel Mai Khao
Marriotts Mai Khao
Mai Khao Marriotts
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing