We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go if you can afford it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Great
- Very different kind of luxury. Most of the typical "luxury" hotels follow same stereotype of the artificial “poshness”. Excessive decor, fancy for the sake of fancy, blah-blah-blah. Maybe some people like it but I find it boring and uncomfortable. Anantara somehow feels very cosy, unobtrusive, tranquil, featuring very own style.
- This is not a hotel with nice spots of greenery, it is a hotel _inside_ beautiful landscape garden. Army of staff keeps working round the clock maintaining its pristine sate.
- Staff is mostly great, some of them just good. Never had any major reasons to complain.
- Not crowded at all. I was staying at the end of October and it never felt busy, neither by the pool nor at the restaurants or around the beach.

Not so great
- Staff rides those electric club cars from very early morning. Those are noisy enough to wake you up.
- Obviously the beach is some kind of national reserve and no one can build anything on it, but having an alley along the edge of the hotel with few benches to enjoy watching that big red burning ball of light going down into the sea, that would be great.

Ugly
- Anantara Vacation Club. Avoid at any cost. Sales presentation is not only a waste of time but also would not pass typical European consumer sales regulations. I.e. "best offer if you buy today only", "we cannot show you a legal contract wording if you are not serious about joining".

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BF77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,715 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2013

The Anantara Phuket Villas was our "home away from home" for three wonderful days. The property us so well kept by the grounds staff. All the staff are so polite and say hello to you whenever you cross paths. The Sala Pool Villa we had was just perfect for us and our daughter. We loved having a private pool in case we did not feel like going to the beach or the resort pool. Every day the staff dropped off lovely edible treats for us - so thoughtful! The resort pool area is so well thoughtout. The lounging beds set over water were especially neat. And the breakfast! Wow! Anything you could possibly want was waiting for you every morning. I could have eaten it for all three meals. We will definitely be returning to The Anantara.

Room Tip: The villas are spread out, so if you want something near the beach, make sure to ask. Our villa was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HookEm95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We booked a Villa, it was fantastic, everything was great from A to Z. The breakfast location was just beautiful with a jungle like surrounding and duck swimming through the lagoons, our villa was spacious, the beds were exquisites, I loved the outdoor bathtub inside the pool. The Thai food (as I know very well of) was delicious. Overall, our family had a great stay

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trn75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Wonderful locations, outstanding service and rooms/villas are just splendid. Staff could not be more friendly quite helpful. Villas were huge, private pool, lounging area and wish we had some of the amenities at home. Food was delicious and plentiful. Would highly recommend to all.

Room Tip: We were in villa number 6. Great location near pool, beach and restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stu802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

My wife and I spent eight nights at Anantara up until the 28th of October for our 25th wedding anniversary and had an absolutely brilliant time. The whole experience was fantastic from start to finish. The staff are as helpful as it is possible to be and that includes the very hands on manager Christian Gerert who is the most helpful and personable manager I have ever come across in any hotel.
When we were leaving and our taxi was late arriving to take us to the airport, he insisted on personally phoning the tour company that we were dealing with to find out why and when the taxi did arrive, he insisted on bringing the cases to the taxi himself. This was very surprising and something that most managers would probably deem beneath them but was a very nice touch.
The villa that we had (no 2) was beautiful and very close to the beach, had all the amenities possible and the fact that there was a pool with the villa and total privacy due to being walled in, made it the most relaxing holiday we have ever had.
Every evening there was a personal note delivered written on a leaf which was a nice touch. The beach is beautiful but mostly off limits for swimming due to very strong waves and a severe slope on the beach which combine to make it easy to get into trouble but with your own pool in the villa and the fantastic hotel pools, swimming in the sea is not a major necessity.
One thing we did not know prior to arriving is that a security deposit of 40,000 Baht equal to 1000 Euro is required from your credit card, it is not actually withdrawn from the account and is for cover if you eat in the restaurant or use the mini bar as usual with hotels but it came as a surprise that it was so high.
The prices in the mini bar and restaurant are very high (we did not use the bars) when compared to local restaurants and alcohol that can be bought locally or when you are on a day trip and could possibly be the reason that a lot of people eat in the local restaurants close to and on the grounds of the hotel instead of the hotel itself which surely is a loss to the hotel, this confused me slightly and continues to spa treatments which are available on the hotel grounds by the beach, at a fraction of the hotel prices and the thought of a massage by the beach is appealing too.
The hotel is quite a distance from the sights in Phuket, Patong etc but this was a blessing to my mind as the attractions of Patong in particular were lost on my wife and I but that is our personal tastes.
The weekend market in Phuket was amazing as it is huge and very well worth the trip as the local people use it and the prices are very good, as is the food.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 594Gerard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

A honeymoon spent at Anantara Phucket couldn't be better.. I have stayed 4 nights 21-25 October at Sala Pool Villa#50. There is nothing that could be better. Excellent staff, very helpful..Very beautiful scenery, excellent food.

Anything you need you will definitely find! I highly recommend Anantara Phucket and is definitely on top of my list!

Thank You

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarimJamali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Booked through hotel staff. Everything was seamless. I was asked what style of food I wanted. I asked for seafood.
On arrival I was greeted by the staff and introduced to our waiter. He was extremely polite and attentive throughout the night. The entree was a selection of sushi, sashimi and fresh seafood. The main was BBQ seafood including a whole lobster. Both courses were served with a selection of sauces that just brought the food to life. Dessert was a selection of fresh fruit and a refreshing sorbet, which I have to say just cleaned the palate and ended the dinner on a high note. Over all this was a 5 star dinning experience and well worth a trip from any part of Phuket. Was defiantly the culinary high light of the trip.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Saishidan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
2.5 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
12.3 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
802 reviews
3 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
7.8 mi away
Banyan Tree Phuket
Banyan Tree Phuket
#20 of 97 in Thalang District
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: £270 - £1,282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, TravelUp, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing