We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful private villas with private pools and amazing staff, but only one caution.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #2 of 14 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Frederick, MD
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful private villas with private pools and amazing staff, but only one caution.....”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had an overall good 5 day stay at the Anantara Villas recently. The property is beautiful and we greatly enjoyed our private villa with its own private pool and many amenities designed to make our stay absolutely wonderful. It was great to just get out of bed, open the door and jump into the pool. The staff was AMAZING and they all went out of their way to make our stay special. My wife and I are vegans, and the staff went above and beyond what we expected to be sure that our meals were satisfying and that we had plenty of choices. They even made us "special" breakfast entrees each morning, in spite of the fact that we probably had enough choices already on the huge breakfast buffet. The pool and beach were both amazingly beautiful. Nearby restaurants at the adjacent resorts were also a plus.
The only thing that made our stay less than "5 star" was the noise factor. The villas are placed a little close together and most are duplex units. In spite of the privacy of our villa, we had to complain multiple times about overly noisy neighbors. The staff was helpful, but it still was frustrating at times and made it hard to just relax and enjoy ourselves. We had assumed this resort was mostly a "couples resort" or "honeymoon resort" where we could easily relax and unwind based on the reviews we had read and the overall appearance and marketing of the resort, but it is NOT! Apparently, many families consider this a Kid's resort with private "kiddie pools" as there were noisy and boisterous children everywhere! We had to leave the main pool area on several occasions because of the noise factor, and we were often upset by the constant crying and screaming children all around us. On most days, we had a hard time relaxing in our private pool, reading, or just napping (standard vacation activities for us) because of the noise. Just be aware that you will have the private pool and beautiful room and amenities you pay for, but this is not a place of peace and solitude for couples when you consider going there for your vacation.

Room Tip: choose a villa along the lake, and also try to get one closer to the office and breakfast area to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MarkFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Frederick,

Thank you for posting a review. We do have families with kids, though I can truly say that this is the first time I have learned about dissatisfaction relative to noisy kids. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disturbance.
It ‘s very gratifying that you refer to our staff members as AMAZING and I am really pleased that they contributed to your stay being special.
Once again, thanks a lot for your feedback and welcome back to Anantara.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,266
    244
    65
    17
    15
See reviews for
442
916
30
30
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in Thailand for two weeks on our honeymoon, we stayed at some amazing hotels but this was by far our favorite! Our private pool villa was amazing, we didn't want to leave. The service at this hotel is also fantastic. If you ever want to venture out to THE Patong Beach area, make sure to make use of the shuttle service provided by the neighboring hotel. Anantara concierge will have them pick you up for a lower rate than taking a cab. I also recommend taking advantage of the daily breakfast, it was an amazing spread. Our server Da was awesome and very helpful with planning other activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1982AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear 1982AK,

What can be more special than your honeymoon?! We are all very pleased to learn that you chose Anantara Phuket Villas and had such wonderful experience.
We are looking forward to be seeing you back for your one year anniversary!

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The experience was very good but could have been great if thee service quality was better. One of the staff members had got a different order than what was actually ordered and was adamant not to change it even after we had confirmed the order at least 3 times. In any 5 star resort this would have changed with no questions. Being in tropics lot of bugs were there in the room even after the cleaning of the room which was rectified after a request. It is undoubtedly a beautiful property with lots to offer for the family. So i would recommend it to my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms near to the beach or the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neerajagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Neerajagarwal,

Very good is not good enough as we want all our guests to have a great stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the incident in one of our restaurants. Your feed back is much appreciated and I can assure you that we will act on it.
Thanks a lot for recommending Anantara Phuket Villas and I do hope that we will soon see you back together with a lot of relatives and friends.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We absolutely loved this resort setting , location and were just vowed by how amazing the accommodation was . Out villa had a private pool , king size bed and amazing amenities within the villa and we enjoyed spending 1 full day just in the villa . Behind our villa there was beautiful lake and we mostly left the villa door open for the view . Staff were very friendly from reception to restaurants , breakfast was excellent and we enjoyed late night drinks at tree top bar .

I have stayed at my fair share of resorts however this one was by far the best resort , only cons were that their beach was Surf beach .

Highly recommended to classy people who wanna get away from resort scene/craziness of main phuket and send quality time as couple .This place is expensive of course but again its for people who don't mind spending little bit extra for awesome memories .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garylamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear garylamba,
It’s really pleasing to learn that you are having awesome memories from your stay at Anantara Phuket Villas. We strive for all our guests to leave with great memories and it’s very motivating to read your positive review.
On behalf of the entire Team – Thank you!
I hope the memories are strong enough so we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We have once stayed at Anantara Riverside in Bangkok and had a lovely experience. With all the nice options in Phuket we did therefore not hesitate to book Anantara Phuket Villas – Wow, we did right!
All staff members are amazing, kind and gives fantastic service. We stayed in a villa, as all of them with a private pool(!). Not to forget the food. Most probably the best breakfast ever.
Next time we travel, we’ll look out for an Anantara Hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jstavenow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear jstavenow,

Another loyal Anantara guest – Thank you!

Based on your past Anantara experiences, it is extremely rewarding and encouraging to learn
that you will choice Anantara yet again for your next trip.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly to facilitate your reservation.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london uk
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed at Anantara Phuket villas May 23/26 Salsa lagoon villa 62

The Villa was huge with a lovely salsa on the lagoon neat swimming pool so the villa I had was well appointed and comfortable
My only comment I would make is on a couple of days the villa was not made up or cleaned until late afternoon. There maybe a reason why. This was a pity after a long day walking along the beach one looked forward to having a swimming and enjoying the villa and its surroundings in the late afternoon

Dining La Sala served a lovely buffet breakfast lots to offer the staff at breakfast assisted in making your ideal breakfast chose

In the evening they had a Thai and Italian buffet dinners
The tree house a very good happy hour and a gorgeous place to sit and watch the sun go down
Infinity pool they served some lovely food and drinks and too kept one supplied with cold water
I went a couple of times to the Turtle village and there was a quite good restaurants and bars to choose from

Mai khao looked a bit scruffy with some litter and what I described as a bit boring
Too there was a strong whip current and could be dangerous to small children and unaware swimmers
With regarding beaches I did stay at the Anantara Layan there is a lovely quite small clean bay


Besides that a lovely resort with attentive and friendly staff a good location within a lovely lagoon setting

Room Tip: try to get a villa overlooking the lagoon
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harry125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

These are great villas! Very big rooms and very well designed. I love the big glass windows and the landscaping is just great! The pool/outside area is very relaxing. My only complaint is that due to the hotel next door, who can look down into the villa, you don't have as much privacy as you think.

The food is very good and I really enjoyed the curries. Nice wine selection as well.

As usual, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful and always ready to go the extra mile. Some of the staff at the restaurant could use a bit more skills in serving but this is the fault of management and not the servers.

Room Tip: try to get a villa as far away from the hotel as possible. Be aware that some are near the restaura...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Bill,

Wow – It says it all!
I take the blame for us not having had enough skills training in certain areas. We will
immediately make sure rectify these shortcomings.
Thanks a lot for praising our food and wine list.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
487 reviews
15.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
721 reviews
0.8 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Property: Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing