We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Private pool villa- absolute luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Private pool villa- absolute luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

Needing a break from Bangkok we stayed for 3 wonderful nights in a private pool villa. This resort is perfect for travellers who want to unwind in a real 5 star environment.

First impressions were very good as we were greeted on arrival by the General Manager and his well trained staff. We had the opportunity to meet them all again at a guest's cocktail and it was clear that their mission was to make our stay as comfortable as possible.

Breakfast buffet was superb as was the seafood restaurant Sea Fire Salt where our waiter explained all the dishes and recommended an excellent Sauvignon blanc.

The beach is a delight, none of the trinket sellers that bother you on the southern beaches. It runs for miles and in places you are literally by yourself, heaven. We only left the resort once and that was to visit the adjacent boutique shopping complex which has an authentic British pub called Bill Bentleys which is recommended.

We will return again, hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Splurge on a private pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smithybangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,182
    230
    58
    17
    12
See reviews for
400
863
28
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

We vacationed at Anantara Resort & Spa for our wedding anniversary and my husbands birthday. It was one of the most relaxing holidays and all the staff were incredibly welcoming and happy to assist in any way. In particular Staff in the restaurant made our stay extra special by helping with food recommendations and also making celebrations for my husbands birthday. Also one of the management team for offering us a very late check out of the villa (due to our flight) with no extra charge. We also tried the spa facilitates which were excellent. The villas are very spacious and private, the ideal situation if you are looking for a peaceful and relaxing break. We loved Anantara and would be happy to stay again in the future!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank EMaSmithys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear EMaSmithys,

Wedding anniversary and your husband’s birthday – You did chose the correct vacation spot!
It is great to learn that our staff members looked well after you and that you also enjoyed our Spa.
Thanks a lot for posting a review and I do hope we will see you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family and I spent 3 days at the Anantara Phuket Villa and could not have been happier with the resort, the service and the overall experience.

ACCOMMODATIONS - We had a beautiful private pool villa which was about a 5-minute walk from the beach. In addition to the massive, comfortable King-sized bed, the resort also provided a baby cot for our 22-month-old son. The villa was very-well kept and clean. If anything, I would say the room was a little bit dark, especially when the front door was closed - the main source of light then, coming from the big glass floor-to-ceiling windows. Honestly, it wasn't a deal-breaker, though.

There was also a sala (open-air space) by the pool, which was great for when we wanted to have a nap outdoors.


DINING - We had our meals at La Sala, the resort's main restaurant, and at Sea.Fire.Salt, a seafood barbecue restaurant overlooking the beach and specializing in gourmet salts from all over the world. To our pleasant surprise, the food was not your generic, hotel fare type nosh. Instead, we were treated to a sumptuous breakfast buffet, a pretty decent lunch selection (at La Sala) and an even more impressive dinner at Sea.Fire.Salt.

My personal must-try recommendation: the grilled lobster tail at Sea.Fire.Salt. Lobster tails are served on a block of Himalayan salt and baked to smokey perfection. The picture I've included does no justice to just how delicious this dish was!


SERVICE - The service at Anantara was nothing if not impeccable, personalised, warm and gracious. From the moment we checked in, we were so well looked after and attended without being intruded upon. The staff at Sea.Fire.Salt were even gracious enough to entertain our toddler, allowing us some previous uninterrupted dinner time! :-) I could go on forever, but just rest assured that there was very little, if anything, to be desired of their service.

Side note: We WERE there during low season, with (based on what we were told) a 40% occupancy rate, which may have accounted for how personalised we felt the service was. Not saying that the service might be any less wonderful during peak season, but just bear in mind that the same level of personalisation and attentiveness may be very slightly lacking during peak season.

OTHER AMMENITIES - The resort had a playroom for little ones and when we were there, they organised a pizza-making class (obviously for older children)! Otherwise, the littlest of guests have plenty of toys to play with, so no worries there.

We biked our way through the resort the whole time we were there. The resort offers bicycles that are free for guests' use. And when I say "free", I mean "free". As in, you see a bike, you ride it. They don't "belong" to one particular guest. They're public bikes, if you like. We also had a special bike with a baby seat in the back for our little one which I thought was genius.

The swimming pool at the villas, although glorious, was probably not the most child-friendly of pools. Just something to think about if you're considering a family vacation here with a ton of kids.


OVERALL IMPRESSION - Just fabulous! Would definitely come back again and definitely recommend it for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Splurge on a private pool villa. The appeal is in the name itself: lots of privacy and value for mon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SenabuTanguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear SenabuTanguy,

Thanks you so much for taking your time to summarize your experiences in such a detailed review, it is much appreciated. Your overall impression is “fabulous”! This is really pleasing for the entire team.
I hope the direct flights from Hong Kong will bring you back soon.
Once again, thanks for your time and feed back.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

i stay for 3 Days, it was a great experience, the place is so nice and the crew member is very nice as well, i feel the good hospitality, but my mistake is i go on the rainy season, i hope i can back there soon

Room Tip: Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nando w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, MD
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We had an overall good 5 day stay at the Anantara Villas recently. The property is beautiful and we greatly enjoyed our private villa with its own private pool and many amenities designed to make our stay absolutely wonderful. It was great to just get out of bed, open the door and jump into the pool. The staff was AMAZING and they all went out of their way to make our stay special. My wife and I are vegans, and the staff went above and beyond what we expected to be sure that our meals were satisfying and that we had plenty of choices. They even made us "special" breakfast entrees each morning, in spite of the fact that we probably had enough choices already on the huge breakfast buffet. The pool and beach were both amazingly beautiful. Nearby restaurants at the adjacent resorts were also a plus.
The only thing that made our stay less than "5 star" was the noise factor. The villas are placed a little close together and most are duplex units. In spite of the privacy of our villa, we had to complain multiple times about overly noisy neighbors. The staff was helpful, but it still was frustrating at times and made it hard to just relax and enjoy ourselves. We had assumed this resort was mostly a "couples resort" or "honeymoon resort" where we could easily relax and unwind based on the reviews we had read and the overall appearance and marketing of the resort, but it is NOT! Apparently, many families consider this a Kid's resort with private "kiddie pools" as there were noisy and boisterous children everywhere! We had to leave the main pool area on several occasions because of the noise factor, and we were often upset by the constant crying and screaming children all around us. On most days, we had a hard time relaxing in our private pool, reading, or just napping (standard vacation activities for us) because of the noise. Just be aware that you will have the private pool and beautiful room and amenities you pay for, but this is not a place of peace and solitude for couples when you consider going there for your vacation.

Room Tip: choose a villa along the lake, and also try to get one closer to the office and breakfast area to av...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank MarkFrederick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Frederick,

Thank you for posting a review. We do have families with kids, though I can truly say that this is the first time I have learned about dissatisfaction relative to noisy kids. Please accept my sincere apologies for the disturbance.
It ‘s very gratifying that you refer to our staff members as AMAZING and I am really pleased that they contributed to your stay being special.
Once again, thanks a lot for your feedback and welcome back to Anantara.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

We were in Thailand for two weeks on our honeymoon, we stayed at some amazing hotels but this was by far our favorite! Our private pool villa was amazing, we didn't want to leave. The service at this hotel is also fantastic. If you ever want to venture out to THE Patong Beach area, make sure to make use of the shuttle service provided by the neighboring hotel. Anantara concierge will have them pick you up for a lower rate than taking a cab. I also recommend taking advantage of the daily breakfast, it was an amazing spread. Our server Da was awesome and very helpful with planning other activities.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank 1982AK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear 1982AK,

What can be more special than your honeymoon?! We are all very pleased to learn that you chose Anantara Phuket Villas and had such wonderful experience.
We are looking forward to be seeing you back for your one year anniversary!

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucknow, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

The experience was very good but could have been great if thee service quality was better. One of the staff members had got a different order than what was actually ordered and was adamant not to change it even after we had confirmed the order at least 3 times. In any 5 star resort this would have changed with no questions. Being in tropics lot of bugs were there in the room even after the cleaning of the room which was rectified after a request. It is undoubtedly a beautiful property with lots to offer for the family. So i would recommend it to my friends and relatives.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms near to the beach or the restaurants.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Neerajagarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this review, 22 June 2014
Dear Neerajagarwal,

Very good is not good enough as we want all our guests to have a great stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the incident in one of our restaurants. Your feed back is much appreciated and I can assure you that we will act on it.
Thanks a lot for recommending Anantara Phuket Villas and I do hope that we will soon see you back together with a lot of relatives and friends.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#4 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.4 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 848 reviews
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 95 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Property: Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing