We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Planned a surprise birthday away for the son and husband, and we stumbled into a piece of paradise! The place was beautifully kept and maintained, an oasis of calm, the hospitality was warm and friendly. Most knew u by name. There was always a friendly smile and a cheerful greeting! Anytime of the day! We are at sea salt and fire and they took pains to arrange the the table with kids in mind! ( without us asking or telling!) pool service was fantastic! Thank u Jan and his fantastic team for making it such a beautiful trip!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yulinwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Yulinwong,
I am really happy that your surprise birthdays were successful!
We usually do not have a lot of kids, though we make a great effort to look well after the ones
that are here - Happy kids make happy parents!
Even if not a surprise for the rest of the family next time, I do hope to be seeing you back soon.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,636)
There are newer reviews for Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

690 - 696 of 1,636 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This resort is absolutely stunning. The lagoon pool villa is exactly as it appears in the photos. The room is enormous and has doors which open up to the pool. There is an outdoor bath which is built into the pool. The shower room and bathroom are luxurious.

The main pool area is lovely, the pool is beautifully designed with sun beds in the shallow part of the pool and others around the pool. This area gets really busy.

The tree house is lovely with fantastic views. The drinks served here are lovely. Between 6-7 they have a happy hour which is great.

The actual resort is far away from everything and you need to hire a taxi per hour which is about 300 bht per hour- roughly £6.00 an hour.

The service and staff are exceptional, they cannot do enough to look after you. The rooms are kept clean and the concierge is brilliant- they organised all our trips while we were at the hotel.

There was only one thing that I didn't like about the resort and that was the breakfast- the food was not covered very well and there were flies everywhere- this put me off eating from the buffet but you can order a cooked breakfast.

Apart from the breakfast everything else is fantastic at this resort and nearby there is a small selection of shops and a supermarket in Turtle Village which is nice to browse around.

If you are looking for a quiet resort which looks like it is set in a jungle and has bikes for you to ride around in and hotel buggies to take you to your room. Somewhere that is absolutely stunning- then this is the place for you.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank AndreaNicolaou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Andrea,
Thank you very much for posting a review and sharing your experiences.
Our rooms are big, they are actually all villas with private pool as you have so well
described. For a short while we did have an issue with flies which has been
addressed and resolved. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience.
A lot of guests experience our big breakfast spread in La Sala Restaurant, others enjoy
their breakfast on the terrace by their private pool, which is a very nice option.
Last, but not least, all our exceptional staff thank you for the very nice compliments and
they hope to seeing you back.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

My first visit goes back to 2009, with returns 2010 and 2011, and since 2012 I "needed" two stays here per year. The "life" of a GM at such a resort is usually not more than maybe 2 years unitl his time for the next move is up, but their key service staff remained almost unchanged throughout the years, and it is of course nice if everybody remembers you even by name when you come back. They always check in which Villa you were last time, and try to remember whether you liked that one, and if you did, they do everything possible to re-assign the same Villa for you again. Our table at the Seaf Fire Salt restaurant is also the same since years, as our preferred seats at the Tree House are. And the rest? I can only repeat or confirm what many other visitors already wrote: the Villas are great and very spaceous, the pool is fantastic and clean, and there are 2 (two) minibars in the outside loggia - one full of wine and champagne, the other one filled with soft drinks and beer. The food and service at the SFS is great, and if you like something which is not on the menue, they still do it for you! Breakfast is also very fine, and so is the whole resort, with a very nice and romantic touch in the evenings when they light the paraffin lamps along their two road bridges over the lagoon. There were a few mishaps occuring this time, which can happen. It's the way how they care and either solve the issues, or apologize. Their apologies this time were a free lunch plus a good bottle of wine in the room for free. This made all mishaps unhappen, and we'll be back in September already again, in order to maintain our pace of two stays per year.....

Room Tip: All Lagoon Villas face water, the Pool Villas don't. I prefer a Villa on the left walkway betwee...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Valentin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Valentin S,
First and foremost, the entire team would like to thank you for your loyalty towards Anantara Phuket Villas. It is very much appreciated! As mentioned, our key service staff have also been loyal and they really know how to serve our guests and pay attention to details. It is really nice for our culinary team to be recognized as they have worked hard to improve on what was already great bar - and restaurant experiences.
I do suggest that your two visits a year become three - You will not regret it!
We are looking forward to soon seeing you back.

Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We visited with our 2 children aged 2 & 5years. Their eyes lit up when they saw the private lagoon pool villa. The eldest learned to swim without her armbands and the youngest learned to swim on his own (with his armbands).
Attention to detail for all the minor things is second to none, eg beach bag provided in the room to use during the stay. Unfortunately due to it being monsoon season, the beach was red flagged, which meant it was unsafe to enter the water. The pool by the beach made up for it.
The food is pretty pricey, as you would expect in a 5 star resort and the quality could be better. Nearby Turtle village offers other choices at a much reasonable price.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank Palani74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Palani74,
One thing is for sure, as parents we will never forget the place where our kids learned to swim!
If it is also combined with attention to detail being second to none, I am sure you will always remenber Anantara Phuket Villas.
We do hope to soon be having the pleasure of serving you again.
Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

It is our third time coming to this great hotel. There is no other hotel in that area that can top it. The service is flawless, the villas are luxurious with its own private pool. You can actually spend everyday at the villa without having to go outside...
The food is very good and tasty. Thom, the driver was very kind and always smiling and explaining the different locations while driving.
All the team at this hotel was so kind to us. It is a must to experience this unique property!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dario M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Dario M,
What a joy for the entire team to read your review - Thank you!
Flawless service, great food and plus a private pool villa sounds like a vacation in Paridise.
Please do not hesitate to contact me directly when planning for your fourth(!) visit.
See you soon.
Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Spent four nights here in a pool villa. It does not get much better. Wonderful accommodation, service and facilities. I cannot praise this place enough. Tree time happy hour cocktails, great Thai restaurant, great pool and location.

Room Tip: No need for lagoon pool villa, just go pool villa.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Adam B,
Thank you very much for sharing your positive experiences. Hong Kong is just a "short jump" from Phuket and with daily direct flights I do hope to be seeing you back soon. It would be a great pleasure ffor the team to look well after you again.
Once again, thanks a lot for your compliments.
Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

The minute I walked through the gates, my jaw dropped with amazement of how beautiful this place is. The service from the very beginning right till departure was impeccable.
We had a lagoon villa room which was very spacious with all amenities covered from a Nespresso machine with cookies to small things like insect repellant and a first aid kit. Everything has been thought of with great details. This place is special, you are made to feel special.
The pool area is beautiful looking over the sea. The massage at the spa was excellent. My favourite was the Treetop bar during happy hour as the sun was setting. The service of the waiters and house maids was brilliant.
It is really hard to put into words how wonderful this place is and there is so much to mention. Thank you for a memorable stay and we are planning on a return, maybe in February.

Room Tip: A room off the main walkway. I don't think there is much difference between the lagoon villa and...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Melly22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraP, General Manager at Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Melly,
Wow!
Your review mirrors exactly what we want to achieve - Impeccable service from arrival to departure. I am really happy that you are planning for a return in February. We are all looking forward to seeing you then and to make sure that you will have another memorable stay with us.
Just a few months to go...
Kind regards,
Jan Kirstein,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
2.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
6.5 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
748 reviews
12.3 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
10.4 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 36 in Choeng Thale
494 reviews
3.0 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Address: 888 Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Phuket Villas)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: £228 - £1,348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in the charming tropical beauty of Thailand's premier island destination, Anantara Phuket Villas provides a luxurious refuge that opens out onto unspoiled panoramas. Awake to the sight of virgin sands backed by the lush vegetation of Sirinath National Park. Trek through the dense jungle by elephant to discover untouched island wonders. Relax in your private pool villa surrounded by the finest materials and design. Our Phuket resort puts the upmost emphasis on designer relaxation and guests' privacy, with 91 private Phuket pool villas scattered harmoniously across a prime stretch of Mai Khao Beach. Complimenting our luxury resort's tropically inviting accommodation is a host of services and facilities of the highest standard, including premium restaurants, bars and leisure facilities. Anantara Phuket's glorious contemporary design is inspired by a location that offers an array of activities, from diving in pristine waters to learning the ancient art of Thai cookery. The full delights of Anantara Phuket Villas are ready for you to enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Phuket Villas Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Mai Khao
Anantara Hotel Phuket
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing