We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't wait to go back !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back !”
Reviewed 16 December 2011

Good: Great hotel , very hip and stylish setup. Breakfast was GREAAAT , you will be spoiled by choices. Staffs are really well trained. Been told by the F&B manager the big fish pond next to the breakfast restaurant are eco friendly. Fishes are fed by the kitchen/food left over. Friends with kids were totally impressed with the kids facilities. Truly 5 star quality and we are planning for a revisit.

Bad: In-house Thai restaurant only opens for dinner, thai food was barely available during the day time. Fairly remote from everything , you pretty much just hang around in the hotel during your whole stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s00ki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,108
    515
    100
    30
    11
See reviews for
735
1,343
110
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (495)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed here Dec 10th - 11th December 2011 - great resort, rooms are very well set up and comfortable. We found the service to be excellent and the food good but i little expensive, breakfasts where fantastic.
The pool area is really nice with plenty of seating and quality service. Beach is beautiful and lucky water was calm and warm for swimming. Overall really enjoyed our stay and will be back for sure. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lwtny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bexley, Ohio
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

The Renaissance Mai Khao is a great place to get away and forget everything. The beach is a beautiful long strand very sparsely populated. I wouldn't recommend staying here for a full week as it would get boring with nothing else around, but it's a great place to lose yourself for a few days. For Marriott Rewards members they treat you like gold with upgrades and gifts.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chayler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joshua Tree, California
Level Contributor
537 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2011

Just spent three days at this lovely,well maintained hotel. rooms were very spacious-free wifi,pool area good, and had some grassy areas to sit in front of beach. breakfast was very good, with smoothie and special order options-great buffet-good bike riding area and have a few choices for spa treatments. beach hut also there for local massage at 400 bht /hr. check was very personal, and bellman were good.

Room Tip: ask for upgrades and try to get as partial beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srimanone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

My husband and I stayed here sometime in June for 2 nights. We had read other reviews and we expected the resort to be fairly isolated, and we thought 2 nights would be just right. We moved from Kata Beach to Renaissance and that way, we managed to enjoy the local Thai food and street culture before unwinding in a new chic resort. On arrival, we were given an ice-cold welcome drink before we were buggied to our room. The resort is large, and nothing to shout about. You could be anywhere in the world, and we thought it lacked the local Thai charm, except for the lovely staff. The room was pretty much what you would expect, and during our stay there was some renovation work at the coffee bar and we had our rooms changed without any problems. The pool is nice and quiet. We enjoyed the cocktails and pizzas at the Sand Bar very much. The beach is nicer in Kata area though. We loved the breakfast; the eggs Benedict are as good as everyone says. We had lunch at Uncle Lern's, a short walk from the Marriot and we enjoyed that too. There are no other local stalls within easy walking distance. Overall, we think this resort is good if you want to get away and chill for the weekend. It is just 15 min from the airport, but we would not stay here more than 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maylene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

it's a professionally managed place on a beautiful lonely beach close to the airport. everything is in very neat condition, good food, good drinks, good rooms and a awesome pool. perfect to relax - but very little to do. there's nothing much around so you probably end up staying in the hotel area all the time. for Thailand everything is quite pricy (food, etc) but of good quality..
it's a good place to stay before you fly home or when you arrive because it's located close to the airport and kind of bridges the Thai and western living/hotel standard.

tip: think about becoming a Marriott reward member (free) to get much better rates when booking a room -> e.g. 4500 instead of 7100 per night!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mi3824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2011

Certainly a very good location and the service staff are all very friendly. My only concern is after checking in to the room I was just getting ready to shower and a staff person just strolled into the room without knocking to the surprise of the both of us. Also I reported my rain shower not working on the first evening and then had to report it again the next day before it was repaired. I know things can happen or not but 2 days for a shower, please not at a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank freelancehumanbeing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,349 reviews
5.1 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555, Moo 3 | Thalang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing