We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We were treated like royalties, with the care and concern of an old friend…”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We were treated like royalties, with the care and concern of an old friend…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

After reading several praising reviews hereunder, our expectations were nothing but sky-high but we are, nevertheless absolutely blown away. We can’t find enough superlatives to describe this place. The staff were extremely hospitable and EVERYONE was doing their utmost to make us comfortable and have the holiday of our lives. The contemporary design is awesome and refreshing, the beautiful setting close to the vast and unscathed Mai Khao Beach is magnificent. Walking along the beach, most of the times, without a single person in sight felt like one was transferred to a much more secluded island. The food experience was superb. The breakfast buffet is extensive, catering for all tastes, NOTHING too much trouble. For lunch or dinner one could choose from high-tasted Thai dishes, often with an interesting twist at Takieng Restaurant. A sophisticated international menu at Loca Vore or laidback Pan-Asian cuisine and world class pizzas at the Sandbox. There is also a coffeehouse on the premises with delicious sandwiches, salads and pastries etc. all made with a finesse. This was our fourth time travelling during low season. The number of tourists are strongly reduced, the hotel rates are considerably lower and the weather has so far, not diverged much from what one could expect in November to Mars. However, you should know that there is a higher risk for rain. We usually spend a lot of time browsing the internet in order to find spiffy accommodations. From now on, when considering going to Phuket we don’t need to do that anymore. We have found our haven!
Thanks to the lovely staff.
We had the fantastic opportunity to spend four amazing weeks at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa. We were seeking total relaxation but we got much more. We got a feeling of well-being that we haven’t experienced in a long time. We are deeply moved by your kindness and attention. Thank you so much. Sincerely yours, Khun David & Khun Johanna.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WeLoveSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,687 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,043
    506
    99
    29
    10
See reviews for
704
1,314
105
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

We just returned from our 5 days stay at Renaissance, where we stayed at the Pool Villa. It was the off peak season so the hotel was quite empty with just over 100+ guests staying at the same time as us. The hotel was new, clean and modern and the staff are superb.

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by a team of staff at the hotel lobby. They spoke good English and they were already expecting us so we didn't have to waste any time checking in at the lobby instead we were escorted to our Pool Villa by a buggy right away. The check in was done in our villa and the staff also introduced us to the various facilities in the hotel as well as sights in Phuket according to our interest. Welcome drinks and cold towel were also delivered to us at the villa. We had told the hotel that we were celebrating our anniversary so a cake and a bottle of wine were already in our room when we arrived.

We tried all the restaurants in the hotel except for the cafe. The breakfast was great with a wide range of selection of food and beverages. Freshly squeezed juices and cooked eggs were made to order. Smoothies and ice cream were also part of the breakfast. They also had a station that feature a different item everyday such as young coconut, Thai papaya salad, pannini and Ceasar salad. The staff at breakfast always greeted us with a big smile and they made an effort to remember where we come from as well as our favourite drink in the order of preference. Their warm and attentive service really add to what already is a great breakfast.

The other two restaurants are Sandbox and "Thaikieng", both served good food and had good service but we were disappointed to find that Mango Sticky Rice was not available on our first night despite being on the menu. In fact only 2 out of the 5 dessert on the menu was availble. Another not so pleasing experience was at the spa were I was told that waxing service was not available till 2 days later when the beautician returns (I was leaving 3 days). My husband had a similar experience at the spa when he went for a massage, not all massages on the spa menu were available. We think it is to do with it being the off peak season.

I didn't use the spa service at the hotel instead I had massage every day the the outdoor massage booth on the beach just next to the hotel at 400 baht/60mins for foot/head & shoulder/Thai massage. The massages were excellent value with seaview and sound of waves in the background.

The gym was not very big but you can find all the latest cardio machines. The pool area was also a nice chill out spot for sunbathing. The hotel has 2 pools, a adult pool and a kid's pool. Next to the adult pool is also a jaccuzi.

The pool villa is spacious, clean and modern with a large bathroom. Good amenities such a coffee machine, well stocked & not too expensive mini bar, kettle and bottles are drinking water are provided for free every day. The pool outside our villa is very small (4x2meter). The villa is also shaded by the trees in the resort so we had to go out to the main pool for sunbathing.

The hotel has car service to Patong beach at 350 baht one way or 700 baht return. The journey was approx 1+hr. We went out for shopping and dinner one night only but wasn't facinated so it didn't bother that the hotel was located far away from Patong. The hotel can also arrange for free tuk tuk to take guests to JW Marriott (their sister hotel) or Turtle Island (small area with a few shops).We had dinner in Sala hotel which is located next to Renaissance one night. The food quality and price was comparable Renaissance. On our last night we went to Naiyang Beach for dinner as recommended by the hotel staff.

Overall, we were very happy with our stay. The staff at the hotel really made the difference. We have stayed in other 5 star hotels before but have not come across a team of staff that are so attentive and personable. We are always greeted by our last names and we never have to quote our room number as they always know who we are and our room number.

We would definately recommend Renaissance to anyone who is looking for a peaceful and relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: Pool Villa if you want the extra space. The view of Pool Villa that faces the ocean is much differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kitkat815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2012

Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa is a Marriot property but it differs greatly from the usual Marriot experience. Zen tranquility welcomes you as you pull up to an open-air lobby. You are served a refreshing welcome drink during the easy check-in process.

The hotel is situated in a secluded section of Phuket. The property is exceptionally well maintained and manicured. There are a few other interesting Hollywood set style hotels near by, including another Marriot, but there is not much civilization, shopping or nightlife, if that is what you are looking for. There are paths and natural beauty to explore and we jogged three miles around a pond in front of the hotel.

We booked a three-bedroom ocean-side villa for nine nights at the end of June; Thai influenced contemporary style. The rooms are large and very comfortable. They are ornamented with a mixture of wood and polished stone with a touch of color. The tub is wide enough for two. There are normal hotel rooms, which are just as nice on the inside but the buildings are rectangular cement structures with balconies so they lack originality although they overlook the lush gardens.
We feel asleep to the sound of crashing waves and woke-up to a spectacular ocean view from our crisp sheeted bed. We had two private pools, regularly cleaned, that were perfect for cooling down or relaxing in since it was quite hot.

We enjoyed eating at the various restaurants or watching the sunset while having a Happy Hour drink. Breakfast offers all types of food; the choices are overwhelming, Thai, Asian, Indian, or Western, loads of flavors to suite your mood and tease your taste buds. Most of it is prepared fresh in front of you. Smiling staff will press a delectable glass of fresh juice, make a smoothie or stuff an omelet with endless variety. The baked goods are remarkable. In spite of the grand assortment the food quality is top notch. I have never seen such an international selection for breakfast; local ice cream is even available if that is your fancy.

You can lunch at the common pool or just relax while chilled towels; iced water and frozen fruit pops are served for your refreshment. A kiddy pool with a slide and waterfall is next to the daycare center to entertain your children if you want a relaxing moment by the common pool or perhaps a moment to rekindle that newlywed spirit or indulge yourself with a magical massage at the impeccably designed spa.

We were never disappointed by the property, the food or the irreproachable service. They go above and beyond to insure that your comfort and needs are meet. It is a great place to Honeymoon or to have a relaxing get-a-way with the family or ever a conference or corporate function. However!!!

You must know though that you cannot swim in the ocean. It is too rough. The beach is quite beautiful and nice for a stroll but it is frustrating to see all the garbage that gets washed ashore. There were tons of bottles, light bulbs, florescent tubes, hypodermic needles, all types of plastic and polystyrene. Floating in the water we saw refrigerator doors and wooden pallets. If you stood in the water rope or plastic would get wrapped around your legs. More and more beaches around the world are needlessly becoming dumps and eventually it will harm business. It is an unfortunate reality that needs to be addressed.

The hotel arranged a private boat for us to go snorkeling and island hopping. This we purely enjoyed and I highly recommend it. If you can, a private boat is the only way to go or you will be stuck on the tourist track with dozens of other boats and crowds of people and we were there in June during the off-season. While swimming in one spot we hollered at the top of our lungs at a crowded boat, which start its engines while a woman in the water was trying to board next to the spinning propellers. This could have been a horrifying tragedy.

We also did an elephant ride. It was not something I wanted to do but we were with two children and I gave into the group activity. It was about half an hour from the hotel and a waste of time in my opinion. They kept hitting the elephant on the head with a stick and metal hook during the twenty-minute jaunt. I found it off-putting. There was nothing magical or special about the excision. Whoever runs the business needs to rethink and put some effort into creating an experience to better understand the magic of this animal. I have more fun on a merry-go-round.

We traveled twenty-six hours to reach Phuket and I am still not sure if I would recommend making such a long voyage. Beside the people being heartwarmingly polite, I did not find anything special about Phuket itself. We went through the old town, which was lovely since it has a wonderful nostalgic feeling, which I truly enjoyed. We drove through other beach towns but they were crowded with t-shirt and souvenir shops, hotels and restaurants. We visited a temple and the big Buda…. maybe I missed something but the islands in the Malacca Strait might be a better choice because of their beaches. I leave it up to you to research further and see if Phuket is right for you. Please prove me wrong.

The fancy hotels are certainly marvelous in Phuket though some are too contrived for my liking. You certainly cannot go wrong with staying at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa especially if you are looking for an elegant get-a-way in a serene environment, especially if your travel time is less than ours was.

Room Tip: The beach front villas are sublime.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ralph11Paris_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

The hotel is nice and clean, and the workers are friendly. That's the only good things i can say, however.

The location is isolated, which may be seen as a benefit at first. But if the resort already has a private beach, being in a remote location for privacy is not necessary, right? Its a huge pain in the rear, actually. The nearest activities are an hour+ shhuttle ride away. And it will cost you $35 USD to get there, per person! The only "local" shopping is extremely small and you have to take two separate shuttles to even get there.

And what's worse? The seas on this side of the island are so rough during May to November that you can't swim!! The red flag flew the entire time we were there in July, so we couldn't do more than get our feet wet.

They have daily "play" things to do on the grounds, ranging from yoga basics and stretching exercises, to "animal towel folding" and play-doh time. Each of these fun activities will set you back another $13 per person. Ok, ok, perhaps I'm too cheap, but give me a break! $13 to stretch in the free workout room?

Food options are ok, there are a few restaurants. Hours of operation vary, so you better plan your meals ahead of time. If you stay here more than 3 days you'll get plenty sick of the food. And again, due to the isolation, the nearest outside options for food are far far away.

And don't get me started on the buffet. DO NOT PAY FOR THE BUFFET! They'll throw it in for free when you get there. I like foreign food. I LOVE Thai food, but these guys need a food consultant or something, because their efforts fall rather flat. The bacon is served raw making it inedible (everyday i saw a new person walk up to the bacon, looking excited, only to get a shocked, disgusted look on their faces when they saw it's raw, soggy, grayish color), the breakfast sausage is not sausage at all, it's hotdogs. Thats right, hotdogs. Admittedly, this isnt the first Thai buffet I've seen that serves hotdogs like this. The milk is warm, and the cereal is stale because its left open all day, everyday. The food barely changes, and when a new dish is served in the buffet line, it's the leftovers from the bar appetizers from the previous night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
14 Thank The S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hongkong
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2012

Amazing interior design amidst in forest. Wide selection breakfast selection, highlight is outdoor space where kids or grown up can feed leftover breads. Staffs are friendly but not much attentive.
My favorite space beside of the spacious room is beach bar right on peaceful beach.

Room Tip: Hotel is isolated from town, so if you plan to enjoy the Phuket culture, better rent car than hire t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mayny_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

Wide selection for breakfast with very friendly staffs. Most of the staffs can speak good english and we could get around without any issue. They were also kindly enough to send us to nearby resturants and pick us up from JW Marriot.

However, there werent much good views from the room. The swimming pools were small but since it was low season there werent much people around. Spa is not bad but not the best.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gnhk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Beautiful hotel. Great staff (especially at The Sandbox). And the beach was amazing. Would strongly recommend going to this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mefangman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
20.7 mi away
Mandarava Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,180 reviews
5.1 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555, Moo 3 | Thalang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing