We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you need a place to relax and love long sandy beach....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“If you need a place to relax and love long sandy beach....”
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I took my boys (10 and 17yrs.) to this hotel for 2 weeks. Renaissance Phuket Resort and Spa hotel is modern, has nice lush wellkept gardens and beach to die for. Excellent service all the time and very friendy staff.

We had a standard twin (room 435), 47m2, 2 king size beds (surprisingly comfy ones), glass "cube" bathroom (it has venetian wood blinds) with shower/bath/toilet, small balcony, flatscreen tv (lots of different channels), minibar, kettle+te/coffee. Cleaning was good. Minor problem with showers draining but water pressure was ok. Universal plugs, no need for adapter at least for us Finns.

We ate breakfast (Loca Vore restaurant) always outside by the "pier" . Breakfast was huge excellent buffet style, even bloody marys if one needs one..It was also fun to feed fishes with bread, there were lots of them. We had always lunch at the Sand box grill and dinner in all the restaurants (Loca Vore, Takieng (thai) restaurant, Dopppio) . We are not fussy eaters so we were pretty much satisfied with everything. Roomservice had a fast delivery. Only BBQ dinner (1450bht/person) with Thai dance show was a total disapointment and waste of money to us since the food was cold, overcooked and pretty much tasteless. Most of the desserts were also eaten by 8.30 p.m. Service was slow and ineffiecient.

Hotels own label icecream "Renaissance" was yummy. We also ate at the Marriot and in Turtle village. Village has some ridiculously expensive shops, 2 restaurants, Swensen's ice-cream parlor (ice-cream lovers paradise) and one small supermarket. Free shuttle from hotel to other Marriot or taxi 100bht/one way to village.

Hotel has plenty of bikes for free (couple junior sizes too). Bikes must be returned before 6 pm.

Plenty of sunbeds all over with clean towels and poolboy was always filling you glass with water. Pool is warm and shallow (only 135cm deep) and other even more shallower part of it also has a jacuzzi. There is a nice kids pool with small waterslide + kids playroom closer to lobby area, but it was totally empty...wonder why?

Beach is white sandy, very long and pretty much empty, absolutely goregeous! No Beach bars, no jet skis or boats or shops or vendors. Few windsurfers. Sea is pretty rough, got to be careful. Not good for bad swimmers or smaller kids.

Hotel has a nice Quan Spa but we just took massage several times at the local Thai massage place by the beach (private, not hotels). For 400bht/hr (paid only cash) we got nice thai massage with oil. Some would say it's shabby but c'mon, this is Thailand.

We took taxi by hour 2 times. It's really cheap and comfortable way to see sights or go to the town (town about 1hr away). 400bht/hr/minimum 4 hrs and our driver drove us to see temples, big Buddha, elefant farm, snakefarm, Phuket town, cozy local beach restaurants, market etc. Evening market (saturdays and sundays 17-22 only) was fab and cheap place to shop. We were lucky to get nice taxi drivers, they generally don't speak much english but understood us just fine.

We also made a Bhang Pae Safari mini 3 in 1 safari and got a ride with elefants and buffalos, saw gibbons and waterfall (which didn't have much water...). Short 3hrs trip, 1100Bht/adult, 650Bht/kids but we did it only because we wanted trekking with elephants. The more you tip, the more friendlier they become...Tip the elephant driver and he'll take fotos of you with you own camera!

We also went Flying Hanuman and it was absolutely coolest experience! Longest ride was 400m, wow! Definately recommend it, if you just dare! Remember to have loose clothes and definately good sneakers! Look more info: www.flyinghanuman.com

My teenage boy also went to Sea Bee's scubadiving for a day. Whole day with transports, food/soft drinks, 3 introductory dives from the boat/40min each/including equipment rental 7500Bht. He loved it. Reliable and experienced multi-national staff. More info: marriot-phuket@sea-bees.com

All our tours were booked by reseption and charged to our room as all our meals/drinks etc. Very simple, no need to carry much cash around (unless you like to tip all the time.I rather tip by the end of our vacation). Service charge 10% is included in all restaurants.

The Lounge has 6 computers for free 24/7.

Only actual disapointment was a gym. I don't think that gym is just tredmills and exercise (spinning) bikes. They only have loose weights up to 15kg? and had one multitask (Star track) machine. No weightlifting bench/bar or other basic equipment. Needs improvement!

Hotel is a pretty small, mostly mayby for "older" couples, honeymooners, families with small babies or to who ever needs peace and guiet. Very much laid-back atmosphere in generally. No dresscode for evenings (no long pants for men), thank god.

There is no loud music, noisy bars, discos in the hotel. There is nothing near by either, no shops/restaurants/vendors etc. If you are looking for action, shops and nightlife, don't come to Mai Khao area. My teenager was pretty boored but my youngest one and I loved it. It was peacefull and relaxing, exactly what we were looking for.

Special thanks to "Tiny" at the reseption, Gif and Pam at the Sandbox grill, "Champs" at the main restaurant. Thanks also to the cooks who made nice salmon to my kid for almost every lunch and the guy at the bar who made me nice frozen rasberry margaritas. Overall this was a nice relaxing vacation and would definately like to go back. Thank you all!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Mother63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,192
    527
    105
    30
    11
See reviews for
775
1,388
112
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (509)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bnagalore
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

We stayed 5 nights here in February and it just was not the luxury we were hoping for. Front desk people were awesome and friendly and the lobby is great with bikes you can take anytime. I really liked that. We stayed in a villa that was very well laid out and enjoyed the plunge pool very much. But it...

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank hunkabhicupid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria BC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We stayed 5 nights here in February and it just was not the luxury we were hoping for. Front desk people were awesome and friendly and the lobby is great with bikes you can take anytime. I really liked that. We stayed in a villa that was very well laid out and enjoyed the plunge pool very much. But it was full of hundreds of small ants all over the room and some even got in our bed. They must of known there was an ant problem because there were ant traps behind the curtains.
The main pool was a huge disappointment as it was quite small, cloudy water and full of little kids. They had a really nice kids pool and it had no kids in it. I think the main pool should have been an adult pool 14yrs and over just like the Indigo Pearl has. Pool service was a disgrace as it often took 45 minutes to get a drink after our order was forgotten up to 3 times.
The grounds were beautiful and well kept up. The food above the pool bar at the Thai grill was the best food of our trip along with amazing service. Then we would go downstairs to the pool bar for a drink and it was like we did not exist. Not sure what was up there but wow was it bad.
Beach is to die for 11k of pure white sand with so few people on it. No beach service at all and very few loungers on beach too. So I dragged a couple down to the beach each day. They need beach food and drink service badly.
Breakfast was great and again great service with smiles from all staff. Gym was nice too. Taxi drivers were a complete rip off as they would charge us 500 Baht for a 2 minute drive to a local place to eat
Mai Khao is very very quiet. Great for relaxing but virtually no entertainment. Do not ever let anyone tell you Phuket is busy and crowded everywhere because that's just not true. Mai Khao and Khao Lak are both very quiet with amazing beaches. The Renaissance was very expensive too. It cost us $4500US for 5 nights. This place is not even close to the Indigo Pearl just down the road. The Beach is nicer here but the Pearl just gives you that wow factor. I would not return here but many people will like it if all you want to do is read a book and drink expensive drinks.

Room Tip: Don't get me wrong this place is really nice. Just way to quiet for us and the pool is just so s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blacksburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

It is one of the pleasant five star hotels in Phuket not far from the airport. It is very close to JW Marriott and Sala Hotels. The beach is very nice for swimming, there are some locals doing massage on the beach 400BHT/hour. The swimming pool is lovely too near the beach. The rooms are excellent as well as breakfast which is a real five-star breakfast. The staff is very welcoming and very friendly. The area of the hotel is almost isolated so plan to stay in the hotel if you not have a car. There are no shops, restaurants, or convenient stores near the hotel. But there is a small shopping center near JW Marriott, but you need a car to reach there. Excellent place for get a way vacation.

Room Tip: near the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PANAM-Air
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

Stayed one night only in March 2013 because we were flying out of Phuket early the next day. Stayed in a standard room in one of the blocks adjacent to the lobby.

It's quite a large resort, but design and fittings are luxurious, contemporary, chic.
We stayed only one night so didnt avail ourselves to too many of the hotel's amenities.

The grounds are beautifully landscaped but not stuffily so. Very laid back, relaxed atmosphere about the place. Miles of beautiful beach - public, but still quiet. Good for swimming, though we were warned to beware of jellyfish... not sure how to do that though!

Had diner & breakfast at Vera Loca, their coffeehouse. Food was good, a bit pricey though not unpleasantly so. Breakfast buffet very good.

Staff generally very helpful and friendly.

The room was of a good size, with great day-bed for reading and chilling. Bathroom is separated from the bedroom with huge glass panels with venetian blinds. The blinds can be lowered for privacy, but it takes some patience and muscle. Rain shower could do with more water pressure.

Stay here to relax, to read...etc. Very cool, romantic. Stay elsewhere if you're the active type and are looking for nightlife.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EYeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

Three of us stayed in a suite at the Renaissance in late February - the room was huge and very comfortable.

Things we liked:

- despite being a luxurious and well appointed, and quite large, resort, it has cultivated a very laid back, un-fussy vibe, particularly in the area close to the beach (with nice loungers, a big lawn, and a very decent but relaxed cafe/bar)

- the beach is nice and good for swimming - it's a long, open beach and not small or private, but it's clean and well serviced by the hotel (including free use of paddle boards). No snorkelling but great for swimming

- the Thai restaurant was very good and there was excellent selection at breakfast

- generally modern and well appointed

- friendly and helpful staff

- also close to the Phuket airport, which is handy

- chilled water freely available (and free!) at the pool and other public areas

- generally restaurants not cheap (it's a resort after all) but not too expensive either and we didn't get the feeling we were constantly getting charged (and over-charged) for things

We stayed for 3-4 days and didn't venture much outside the resort. There are a few hotels/restaurants and shops in the area which would provide extra activities closeby - otherwise the main parts of Phuket are a half-hour drive away.

This is definitely a better place for relaxation and spending time at the beach, rather than lots of activities and nightlife. There were several families with children when we stayed, and a separate children's pool, but this hotel might appeal more to couples or non-family groups.

No criticisms that I can think of. Very happy overall.

Room Tip: Close to the beach or on the lagoon side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CDM001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed 5 nights on points redemption and were upgraded to a pool villa, which was very spacious and clean. It was pretty neat to have your own little pool out your patio.

The gounds were very clean and the broomed the sand every morning to clear the leaves and what not to make them look even better. It is a pretty property, almost like it was plopped down in the middle of no where and left much of the original landscape.

The beach was beautiful and during out stay not busy at all. During the prime time of the day there were maybe a half of dozen other couples or family down on the beach under the nice shade of the trees. So that was very pleasant not to have to fight for spots.

The staff in all the facilities from Vera Loca, Sand Box and the Thai restuarant were extremely friendly and always had a smile. The food we had was always good and decent portions. The spread for breakfastbuffett was amazing. If you wanted it I am sure they had it. Everything was fresh and again the staff was wonderful and often had some nice conversations with them.

It was so quiet and peaceful. We had an absolutely amazing stay in Phuket overall and this property was great and we would go back there in a minute. Already missing it :-)

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
480 reviews
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
894 reviews
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.6 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 322 in Patong
5,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing