We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

I chooose to stay here 2-nights before heading back to Singapore because it is exquisite and cost but I'm wrong. I wrote this review with my phone because the resort WIFI does t like me!

Arrival .....despite only a hand carry luggage, the bell captain choose not to see it when I unboard from the land transfer.

Check in .... Lobby decor looks great. The welcome drink - Ginger up, is good and also available in the outlet. It was serve after my blood boiled because of the slow check-in. Was asked again for all the details which is available in my rewards card profile. The preferrence in the profile is also not pay attention by the hotel. Was given many publicilty papers during the check in....why not try giving it in a guidebook?

Room #124 .... Ground floor. Was not told upon check in that the door key is EXTREMELY SENSITIVE with phone and will malfunction if contacted. Have to walk up and down few times before I was told by the receptionist the actual reason.

My room is surrounded by renovation sound which spoil my entire mood.....THAT WAS NOT TOLD TO ME UPON CHECK IN. I was told being a reward member, I was assigned to a room near the beach so sweet!!

No vacant room available is the reason when asking the resort for relocation. Their upselling skill is great.

Pointless being a member!

Room interior and amenity .... Room is spacious and comfortable. I like the complimentaey jar of local sweets. Minibar items is inexpensive. Have both bathtub and standing shower in the washroom. But the tap is leaking! Hot water shower is available. The room window curtain should be open .... There is a great different when the room has the window curtain shut. Slipper is available in the room in case you left yours at home.

WIFI .... Doesn't work for my phone and laptop. Have to you my telecom provider.

Restaurants .... Used only the all day dining. Breakfast spread is extensive and good!!!! Don't put solo traveler in the middle of family dining zone - 4 groups of family with infant surrounded me!

The lounge bar ... Nice atmosphere. I like the complimentary drink bites.

Infinity pool .... It's great and by the beach.

Beach .... Don't bother.

Shuttle bus service between the resort to Marriott is available in certain timing, but no employee at the front desk have clue on their sister properties but their sister's employee can list and describe to me at their venue!

Thank you for giving me the 1st and also the last experience of renaissance.

Take it positively.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
6  Thank sarrono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

It was my pleasure to meet and farewell upon your departure. Thank you once again for choosing to stay with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa. I must profusely apologize that your recent stay was not satisfactory and appreciate your feedback.

I am the most concern to learn on several shortfalls with regards to your arrival experience, guestroom, noise disturbance, wi-fi internet and inefficient Front Desk Agent in providing you information. You’re a valued customer, everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

We would like to regain your trust and hope to serve you again in the future. We hope to welcome you here again the near future .

Sincerely,

Adanaan (Andy) Chalachol
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,426 - 1,432 of 3,036 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed here for few hours before my departure just to try it and see is it is really a good one . The service is average and definitely not a 5 star . I ordered food and later espresso to my room . After so many questions they brought American coffee !! Stayed for sometime at the pool , not even a single person offered towels or service ! Compared to few 5 stars hotels around it , this is a 4 star one.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Haitham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RHI_HotelManagement, Director of Rooms at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking time to review us and sharing your experience with the Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa.

You’re a valued customer; everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Please be assured that we are taking immediate corrective steps to avoid such problems in the future.

If you would like to discuss your experience further, please feel free to contact me directly. Once again, please accept my apology. We would like to regain your trust and we hope you will allow us an opportunity to provide you with an exceptional guest experience when your travels bring you back to this area.

Sincerely,

Andy

ADANAAN CHALACHOL
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My friend and I stayed at Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa for 4 days. It was a great experience.
The property is kept up very well and you have beach access (although waves are crazy and there's signage that says not to go in the water).
Sam and Nami at the front desk are super awesome and helpful. We were especially pleased to take advantage of the welcome cocktail. Also, free bottled water in your room and a nice welcome treat (I won't spoil the surprise).

Breakfast has oh so many offerings so if you can make sure when you reserve, you do a reservation to include breakfast.

The little cafe downstairs is quite nice as well for an afternoon snack/lunch.

I would definitely stay there again.

PS: They have a USB port for charging (it is super slow though) your phone. I would advise bringing your own converter if you're coming from the US.

The hotel is a distance from Patong (shuttle service available) and markets. I'd keep that in mind if you want to be closer to the action and not shelling out a lot on taxis/shuttles. Great amenities on the property for just relaxing and enjoying your vacation. The good news is that tours will pick you up directly from the hotel.

Turtle Village is close by but was a small shopping area with limited choices.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Simoniemo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

We went there for honeymoon last year. This was the highlight of our trip. Phuket is usually very crowded and touristy, but Mai Khao was quiet. The hotel has private beach and very nice pool.
If you are looking for a quiet place in Phuket, this is the place to go.

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. They speak very good English. They were very attentive and quick, we felt like we had personal staff. .
When we arrived in our room the hotel gave us a surprise cake with "Happy Honeymoon" writing on it. It was a delicious cheese cake with fresh fruit :)

We got the Standard room, the room design was modern and beautiful, spacious, with very comfortable beds and pillows. You can choose what kind of pillow you want prior to arrival.
The bathroom was like a dream bathroom with large bathtub and separate showers.

Food was amazing. We ate at the Takieng Restaurant, the Thai food was great.
We love the breakfast! In addition to the standard breakfast menu, they provided juice bar (where we could make our own juice), salad bar with fresh and premium quality ingredients, and yogurt bar.
We highly recommend this to other travelers :)

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yolanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

This superb hotel/resort is about 20 minutes from Phuket airport yet could be on a desert island. It fronts directly onto a long largely untouched beach and is surrounded by parkland. If you want somewhere away from the hustle and bustle that characterises most of Ko Phuket, then this is it. The building is beautiful architecturally. The rooms are well designed and have every option you could want. There are several cool restaurants and bars and one of the best breakfast places I can recall. The pool area is almost on the beach and there is ample room for lazing in the sun. The service was friendly and very professional.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2014

As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we were amazed by the beautiful and grand lobby. We were greeted by the friendly staffs and the check-in was reasonably quick.

We stayed for one night in pool villa room 3. the room was HUGE! it was one of the most luxurious room we ever been, comfy and huge bed with large bathtub, spacious dressing area and lovely private pool just a step away from the living room. The open concept of the wash room might be awkward to some guests but works fine for us.The private pool was surrounded by lovely plants and 2 sunbeds.

After exploring the amazing our 1 bedroom pool villa, we headed out to the main area. The main pool was under maintenance during our stay but we have no problem with that since we stayed in a pool villa. Right in front of the pool there were rows of sunbeds facing the lovely beach. However during our visit the red flag is up due to rough sea condition. We noticed that the beach around was pretty dirty with broken glasses and rubbish found at the edge of the cliffs towards the beach.

Breakfast was awesome! It was wondersul with lots of varieties and healthy juices cater to guests based on ownself preferences. It is worth the price you paid for! We had dinner in Takieng and overall experience was good. the view from the restaurant was breathtaking, overlooking the sunbeds and sea. Superb!

We were impressed by the brilliant services by the staffs. The kindness and friendliness of the staffs were the BEST of all. you would expect the same reviews from all guests bacuse they are really attentive to all matters/issues we faced.

Overall experience was spectacular. A big clap for the management team and the staffs for everything. The care shown from top to toe really will get you all to a greater height, keep up the good work! and I am already missing you all! =)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank meisin87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

My partner and I stayed at Renaissance Phuket Resort and Spa for the last 3 nights in Phuket. It was one of the best decisions to finish our 2 week trip here before returning home and facing reality ( aka work ).
Firstly the welcoming was warm, friendly, and professional, with check in being smoothly taken to our room. We were initially given a room on the ground floor, but were able to be transferred to the top floor - kindly arranged by Front Desk Manager, Weena and our baggages were very promptly transferred to our new room by Ken.
The room is absolutely lovely, it's fresh, clean, the lighting is great!! (Seriously, while applying make up or putting in contacts~ it is a blessing to have good lighting!) The room was modern, inviting, clean, with lighting strips hidden under the cupboards - which warmly lighted the room.
There were some amazing yummy dried fruit titbits as a welcome to the room - which ( thank you to House Keeping) were filled up to the delight of my tummy:)
All the staff, from housekeeping, to front desk, to transfers, concierge, bar, restaurant, pool, breakfast area were all friendly and professional, and even though there are many visitors to the resort, they would make a special effort to try to remember your name or when your preferences are which is a very lovely touch ~ eg: Taki ( from F & B) remembering my partner and I from the 1st day at breakfast and transferring us to an area outside, with a lovely view with a fan in the area, because he remembered my partner liked to sit outside to have breakfast and I liked to have a breeze. On our second to last night there, we had dinner inside our room, and house keeping brought up some candles to decorate our room for dinner which I am grateful for.
The pool is lovely, the restaurant Taeking ( Thai) is quite beautiful looking out over the pool and the ocean ( would recommend one to do reservation for dinner) The beach is a lovely long stretch of clean sand. at the time we went - the sea was quite rough - and hence no swimming in the sea, but within 20 metres we had a lovely pool to swim in:).

Everything was spick and span. Had the widest spread of food for breakfast, with freshly made smoothies and juices to order, eggs benedict with crab, fresh mango cut up specifically when requested. Soy milk individually bottled. and a very long Breakfast session from 6:30 til 11am.

There are little shuttles across to Marriott - where you can then take another shuttle out to Marriott Mai Khao Beach resort - and with a quick 2 minute walk through to the otherside ( past Anantara Service Back Entrance) can go have a local meal at JJ's. We also tried out Kindee (free hotel delivery).

Taxi transfer from Hotel to Airport is - 500baht - 15 - 20 minute trip.

A truely lovely beautiful resort to stay in. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: Higher level - level 3. Closer to pool / beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BabyBunnySL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
14.5 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#3 of 36 in Choeng Thale
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
12.3 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#2 of 36 in Choeng Thale
509 reviews
0.8 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 555, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: £96 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled amidst tropical gardens, the chic boutique-like Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle Hotel, offers privacy and is only 15 minutes leisurely drive from Phuket International Airport. Our Phuket, Thailand resort's location is ideally adjacent to beautiful Sirinath Marine National Park, as well, providing the chance to completely enjoy the magic of our island. We offer 22 Pool Villas and 4 Ocean Front Pool Villas with private pool and large patio, 4 One Bedroom Suites and 150 Deluxe Rooms. Two outdoor swimming pools, Quan Spa with eight treatment rooms, 6 event venues, steam rooms, outdoor massage sala, fitness centre, bike rides, cooking school, diving lessons, Kid's world and children's pavilion with indoor recreation area and outdoor pool all delight travelers to Thailand. Golf is available nearby, and for your gastronomical journey, our hotel offers an all-day restaurant with fresh ingredients - our signature Loca Vore, Takieng - Thai Restaurant. We also provide The Lounge, Doppio for gourmet deli with coffee and tea leaf bar and Sand Box at Mai Khao beachfront serving international cuisine during the day and BBQ at night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Phuket Resort And Spa
Renaissance Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing