We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, Clean, Fun” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mai Khao Beach Bungalows

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Mai Khao Beach Bungalows
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Good, Clean, Fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

We spent 2 nights at Bungalows @ Mai Khao in Feb, 2014. Our room was large, clean and had everything you would need in a bungalow, kettle for making tea/coffee, fridge, air/con, comfy bed and excellent bathroom with hot shower. Dao, the owner, takes good care of her bungalows and guests. She has a great sense of humor and speaks English well. The bungalows are painted in bright colors, purple, blue, yellow, green, etc. There is a small outdoor bar where you can get a drink and talk with other guests. The property also had a nice restaurant shared with the older beach bungalows. We had dinner and breakfast there both days. Prices are reasonable, you'll meet Dao and other fun guests, you'll get a good sleep. And you are a 2 minute walk to the lovely beach. What's not to like?

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFOF/A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    14
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
5
20
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My friend and I stayed at Bungalows @ Mai Khao (which is perhaps different to Mai Khao Beach Bungalows) for 2 nights in Feb 2014. We had a great stay. The owner Dao was lovely, very accommodating and helpful. She drove us to another resort for a friends wedding for a very reasonable fare, as well as to the airport free of charge, allowed us to check in early and lent us items we had forgotten (power adapter). The bungalows themselves are clean and cosy - although do bring insect repellent! The beach is clean as well. The area is quiet and perhaps a little difficult to get to but if you're looking for some R&R at reasonable rates I would wholly recommend the Bungalows @ Mai Khao!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MKM1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

I booked 2 nights at Mai Khao Beach Bungalows (NOT bungalows@mai khao) over New Years. My friends were staying at the Holiday Inn next door but they had a minimum stay of 4 nights so I thought that this would be a good alternative. The website is very out of date, but for 1,600 baht I thought it was worth it. The room is literally a bungalow on the beach, very simple. The bathroom was the worst aspect, no hot water, no separate shower and covered in ants. I wasn't expecting 5 stars but would have appreciated a little more tlc and maintenance.
The staff at Ton Tan were un helpful. If you just want a crash pad with zero frills this isn't a bad place, but I would try others in the area before staying here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Afussyone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night, needed a place near the airport as we were flying out the next evening. We arrived earlier than check in time and our bungalow was ready for us, very clean, big bed and air con. A short 3 minute walk to the beach/restaurant. The beach itself it's gorgeous and very secluded, you can see the planes landing, but there is no noise from it. Dao, the owner, was lovely and arranged pick up and drop off to and from the airport. Would recommend this place if you want something quiet, low key and a short stay. Good for couples or small group.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank as62786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

My boyfriend and I came to Phuket for a wedding at the JW Marriott and opted to not stay at the resort. What a great decision! Dao, owner and Wonder Woman, was there for every one of our needs. I think of all the places we visited she spoke the most understandable english. Our bungalow was adorable. Comfy bed, fridge, front porch and two minute walk to the beach and restaurant. Stunning views of the beach and scenery. Fabulous Thai Massages just a five minute walk down the beach. We went next door one morning to the Holiday Inn for a resort Buffett breakfast. It was delicious and a ton of food but Dao's breakfast of eggs, toast, cereal and coffee was excellent also. The Bungalows were so affordable and Dao was such an amazing person we feel like we made a new friend for life!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnieMae28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

There are actually two separate properties next to each other, Bungalows@Maikhao and Maikhao Beach Bungalows, which can get a little confusing as both of them mix photos of each others' bungalows on the websites and also here on tripadvisor. They share the beach and the restaurant, but there are some key differences between the two. Bungalows@MK are the colourful cottages and they are located behind the MK Beach Bungalows, slightly further away from the beach. Our bungalow was very well maintained and spotlessly clean, and well equipped with a fridge, umbrella, kettle, mozzie spray etc. The bathroom is new and very nice too, with a great shower. We paid around $32 a night booked through Agoda, but it would make sense to book directly to save money. The owner, Dao, was extremely helpful and friendly. However, as it was off-season there was some construction taking place on the site so for the third night we decided to move to one of her sister's bungalows on the beach. We had to pay extra money as the bungalows on the beach (i.e. Mai Khao Beach Bungalows) are more expensive. The beach location and view is amazing, but the bungalows, even though much more expensive, are not as nice and well maintained as the less expensive 'colourful' ones and there was no hot water nor a fridge either.

The off-season timing meant that we were the only guests staying at there and many of the services were not available. The restaurant opened at around 10am and closed at 5pm, so not much use for breakfast or dinner, and the choices nearby are limited (we had a breakfast at the Holiday Inn next door one morning, which was nice but pricey).

All in all I'd definitely recommend both places, just make sure you're aware which one you're booking and what you're getting for your money. Also be aware that off-season the services and things to do are limited and also that the beach is not safe for swimming. However if you are willing to splash some cash you can take advantages of the facilities at Holiday Inn. For dinner, try Mama's nearby, great Thai cooking and very sweet staff. Ask Dao about scooter rental to explore the area.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
6 Thank eevis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Clean, straightforward bungalows on the beach. Reasonably priced restaurant to meet your rumbling tummy needs. I loved the place as it is a short motorcycle ride from the over-developed commotion that is Phuket (we rode a Ducati and a Ninja up from Rawai beach, made a last minute booking on my iPhone, easy). I spent all day relaxing in a hammock in the shade, literally on the edge of the sand. Periodically, I made it to the restaurant 20 steps away for a young coconut with a splash of local rum. Amazing find - without the absurd, prefab, resort nonsense!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jetsetkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa
1.9 mi away
Coriacea Boutique Resort
Coriacea Boutique Resort
#11 of 11 in Mai Khao
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.1 mi away
D Varee Mai Khao Beach
D Varee Mai Khao Beach
#87 of 94 in Thalang District
3.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mai Khao Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mai Khao Beach Bungalows

Property: Mai Khao Beach Bungalows
Address: 128 Moo 3,T, Mai Khao, Phuket, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Mai Khao Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mai Khao Beach Bungalows Hotel Mai Khao
Mai Khao Beach Bungalows Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing