We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rat in our Villa...!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

My wife spotted a rat when we checked in. We called front office for help and Housekeeping guy showed up with a rat trap to capture the rat.
We want to checked out strait a way but we staid and this was our biggest mistake.

Never ever again maikhao dream.

Rafael and family

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Rafael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Mr. Rafael,

Thank you for your time to write us a review. We are truly disappointed to read about the unfortunate incident you experienced. Please accept our sincerest apologies.

At Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa, we do pest control in all our villas regularly to ensure its cleanliness. I can assure you that I have discussed this matter thoroughly with our pest control company as well as with our Housekeeping Team. The matter has been addressed to ensure you and our future guests that this will not happen again.

Once again, thank you very much for bringing this matter to our attention. Your feedback enables us to improve and provide better service to our guests. We truly hope that you would give us another chance to serve you better again in the future.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (204)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

96 - 102 of 204 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

I had accidentally booked Maikhao dream villa resort instead of Maikhao dream resort Natai - best mistake !!! We loved our experience here - our one bedroom villa was just beautiful as was the outside courtyard with pool and spa. The villa was immaculate and serviced x2 daily - lovely bathroom products. The staff all make you feel so welcome - you almost feel like you are the only guests there. The breakfast buffet was excellent and our (Thai) dinner at the restaurant was delicious. We virtually had the pool and entire beach to ourselves and enjoyed the beachside massages. The location is isolated but we were happy to enjoy the surroundings and chill - golf course nearby. Was great to have a few nights here - close to the airport which was a bonus after long flight from Australia. Would definitely like to come back to Maikhao one day!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 131Emie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

We were astounded by this place when we got there... The furnishings were just as described in other reviews, each villa was huge, and we had a private pool and jacuzzi. We got settled in quickly and decided to go and explore the rest of the resort, including the public pool area.

When we got back, some longans which I had been sure had been on the table were on the floor. Couldn't figure out why. Later on, the mystery was solved when my husband spotted a rat crawling around on the inset ceiling. We called for help, and folks showed up with a rat trap to capture the rat. To their credit, they seemed quite familiar with this scenario, so I guess it's something which happens fairly often.

After the trap had been set for a while, we heard some noise and went out to find a hapless rat stuck on the glue (yes, glue, very old school of them), and the staff arrived soon enough to take the rat away.

The next day, the butler showed up in the evening and mumbled something about how he had been too busy in the morning to come and meet with us. Err, I'm sorry but if you're supposed to be our personal butler I'm not quite sure you get to tell us that you were too busy for us. In any case, we told him about the rat. He was unfazed, and simply asked, "Oh, were there more?"

We also went to a cocktail hour where the General Manager supposedly was gathering feedback from the guests. My mother told him about the rat, expecting profuse apologies and perhaps some mitigating peace offering, but was instead told that "we shouldn't have left the gate leading to the beach open", and "of course we do pest control regularly".

I suppose we didn't look like the type who would post on TripAdvisor. And indeed we typically wouldn't, but the treatment that we had gotten here, as well as the shock of finding a rat in an otherwise apparently perfect villa (we travelled with my 8-month old daughter so we were on rat lookout for the rest of our stay... Not to mention wondering constantly about which of the cutlery and furniture the rat had been crawling over), had prompted me to write this review.

Very disappointed.

Stayed: December 2013
9  Thank humanbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2013

perfect hotel,perfect service,great food.quite expensive but worth saving money for your perfect family vaction or honeymoon.the hotel is 10 minutes from the airport and the region itself is in a remote area,so you will feel like your the only tourist in phuket...

1  Thank SlothGoneEating
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

I've no words to express how happy me and my family were here! Its really a paradise on earth! Very right to its name itspreally a dream come true:) thevilla was superb with all the facilities! You name anything and it's there! The service and hospitality was awesome.and most of all thanks to Tee who really took care of us! The location is the best I've ever seen of all the resorts on beach. The swimming pool and jacuzzi were the two places where we spent maximum of our time.I'm sure this was the first experience here but it won't be the last!!! Every moment here was memorable:) three cheers to the mai Khao dream villa resort team!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nidhighai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2013

First week of OF NOV-13 we family of 7 stayed IN 3 bed room villa and 2 bed room beach front villa and enjoyed the stay.. Being VEGETARIAN Chef has planned wonderful menu after consulting us. THANKS to him for excellent menu..All staff particularly our villa attendant was very helpful and efficient to cater our needs. Villas and swimming pool area are well maintained.Location of property is very beautiful.


WE ALL THANKS TO STAFF OF RESORT,

RAKESH SINGH- MUMBAI INDIA /ANKIT BAFNA HONGKONG

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rakesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

I stayed at the Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa earlier in November. It was my first time in Phuket and I did not know what to expect. The hotel is very close to the airport which made it very convenient especially since we were travelling with a toddler. When we arrived at the hotel, we checked in and we were brought to our 3 bedroom villa by Nicky, who was our butler for the duration of our stay. We were wowed by the sheer size of the villa. The 3 bedrooms were all en suite. The kitchenette, dining and living rooms were also of good size. Outside there was a gazebo where you could relax under, a jacuzzi and a swimming pool (this can get quite deep). On the second floor where the 3rd bedroom is located was another living room and another swimming pool with deck chairs and views of the beach. It was beautiful. The beds were very comfortable, the linen and towels fresh and the surroundings were very clean. The baby cot we had requested for was all prepared before our arrival as well. The hotel had also provided some small toys and toiletries for our toddler.

Nicky's service was just excellent. She was very helpful in assisting us with making our spa reservations, our dining reservations in the hotel and outside, and even recommended a take out Thai restaurant when we were too tired to trek out for dinner one night. Nicky was smiles all the time, even at 10 pm at night when she came with our pot of coffee and to say goodbye before she left for the day. The experience at the hotel would not have been complete without her.

There was a good buffet breakfast spread in the morning. We were there for 4 days and the hotel tried to have some small variations with the breakfast every morning. We had one dinner in the hotel. That experience was just ok honestly. We ordered from the ala carte menu some local Thai dishes. The food tasted ok but the portions were rather small. There was a traditional Thai dance for entertainment that evening and that was enjoyable.

The beach at the hotel is very quiet. It definitely has the feeling of a private beach. The tide can get quite high at times, especially compared to the waters we saw at Patong Beach. We managed to see a herd of water buffalos walking along the beach at sunset and that was quite a breathtaking and unsual experience.

The children's play room in the hotel is very well equipped and will definitely provide your children with lots of entertainment. There is also a pool table outside the children's room.

My experience at the spa was also really good. I had a 90 minute aromatherapy massage and it sure felt like that they had kneaded every spot that needed work on. The masseuse were professional and effective and extremely polite. There are lots of other cheaper spa options outside of the hotel, however it was just the most convenient option at the time. The hotel staff are also most willing to assist with this.

As the hotel is quite far North, the other attractions are quite a ride away, about 45 minutes - 1 hour. We went to Patong Beach, The Big Buddha, the Jim Thompson outlet as well as the Phuket Premium Outlets (not worth visiting in my opinion). We got a contact for a driver with a mini van from a friend and so transport was easy.

Near the hotel are other hotels on the Mai Khao beach stretch including the SALA and the JW Marriot. We had dinner one night at La Cucina at the JW Marriot and the food was pretty good. Nicky helped us arrange for the taxi there and back and that was about a 10 minute drive. Close to the area is also a little quaint shopping area called Turtle Village. There are some boutique stores there as well as eateries including a pub, Swensens and a coffee place. There was also a supermarket in Turtle Village.

Overall, a very good stay. I have already recommended it to other family and friends and it is definitely some where that I will come back to.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank allyphant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.4 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
7 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,002 reviews
24.3 mi away
Sri Panwa Phuket Luxury Pool Villa Hotel
1 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa

Address: 138/21, Moo 4 | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: £236 - £846 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Phuket Island, Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, Phuket, is only a short drive away from Phuket airport. It offers 22 exquisite pool villas that blend in perfectly with Phuket’s natural beauty. The resort exudes unstinting grandeur in a tranquil and natural environment where the warm turquoise sea caresses the golden sand of Maikhao Beach. Escape to a tropical playground where the warm turquoise sea caresses the golden sand of Maikhao Beach nature and sophisticated Thai design converge in celebration of a luxurious stay. Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa, Phuket is a splendid holiday destination offering impeccable personalized services and facilities tailored to exceed guests’ expectations and ensure a “home-away-from-home” stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maikhao Dream Villa Hotel Mai Khao
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort And Spa Phuket/Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing