We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect quiet getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect quiet getaway”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I spent a quick 4D3N trip here with my sister in May 2014. IF your aim is to spend time away from the loud city, some quiet peaceful time, this is the place to be. It is secluded, quiet and serene. There was even a point of time where there were barely 5 people on the beach.
The food is a little pricey, so is the spa services, but you can easily get these at the small village/market nearby (10mins away with free shuttle from the hotel).

All in all, I had the perfect time de-stressing here.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShaOmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear ShaOmar,

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your feedback.

May your future travels bring you back to the island.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the Villa.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    44
    19
    4
    10
See reviews for
85
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed for 4 nights at the Maikhao Dream Resort Phuket and had a nice relaxing time. Got upgraded to a two bedroom beach front villa which was stunning and huge for three people. The villa was elegantly furnished. A well equipped kitchen for those who wanted to cook. The sala and pool area was very nice that’s where we spent most of our time.

Breakfast was nice but not outstanding. We had dinner at the resort one night and the food was tasty and enjoyable. There was only one restaurant at the resort so we went out to different restaurants to try - two buffet dinners at the nearby JW Marriott hotel which was good value and one night at the sister resort Natai but was average.

The service overall was excellent. Staff were warm, friendly and attentive like most Thai resorts. We checked out their sister resort Natai but felt the Phuket one was much nicer.

Two of us had the special spa deal - 2 hours of massage & body scrub which was nice and good value.

One big problem for us was the beach which was extremely rough. Tried to go to the beach twice but both times only lasted 5 minutes because the surf was so strong and kept knocking us over. This explained why life jackets were kept in side cupboard in each villa. Saw some hotel guests actually put on the life jackets just to get in to the water. This could not be fun!

If your priority is to swim in the sea, sit and relax or build sand castles on the beach, play in the sea water or go kayaking then perhaps Maikhao is not the right resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sydney2000000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

To all TripAdvisor followers. Let me help you out here:

Please note:
You need to rent a car if you want to see Phuket and not just stay at the hotel, which is true I think for any hotel in Phuket unless you enjoy to stay only in crowded Patong and see nothing else of the island.

Pros:

1. Villa is amazing - huge (650 m2 for the 3 bedrooms) very beautiful and is really a dream villa.

2. Breakfast is perfect. The variety and the quality.

3. The outside pool is big and very nice to use especially the fact that you don't have too many screaming kids all around you. When we were there it was like another private pool for us. Maybe because all villas has 2 private pool and most people prefer to use those on a regular basis.

4. The staff is nice and were very generouse to give us complimentary transfers from and to the hotel to and from the airport.

5. The beach is perfect - like in pictures. Its a private beach of the hotel and most of the time it a beach of your own.


Cons:

1. The beach has not too many attractions - No bar on the beach. No water sport facilities except for one small Kayak (which is free to use). No life Guard.

2. The battler (Beer) that was promised as our assistant during our stay was hardly there. We saw him maybe once or twice during our stay. So disappointment on this issue.

3. Some of the staff English is very poor. I think they should hire employees with perfect English that can understand what you say and not pantomime everything so they understand.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rocoil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 16 April 2014
Dear rocoil,

Thank you for taking time to write a feedback on your recent stay at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa.

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your villa as well as our breakfast selection. Rest assured that I have passed on to the team your kind feedback.

Whilst you had a pleasurable stay with us, I would like to apologize for the inconveniences that you have encountered.

As Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa is built within a national park, only non-motorized sport facilities are allowed in the area. However, there are other activities that can be enjoyed such as beach volley and kayaking. Also, our Pine Bar which is located within a walking distance from the beach has a wide selection of cocktails and dishes.

Regarding the staff concerns, be assured that we have addressed this matter accordingly.

I hope that I might have the opportunity to welcome you back to the resort on your next visit to Phuket.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We had a three bedroom villa. It was huge and very well appointed with an excellent pool that was fed by a cascade from the two pools on the first floor. The restaurant serves an excellent breakfast and evening meals. The beach is not suitable for small children as the surf is too strong. To enjoy what Phuket has to offer a car is essential and provided you are prepared to drive 20 to 30 minutes you can find excellent restaurants, shops and beaches. Banana Beach is only 20 minutes away and is the nicest on the island, although a bit difficult to get to as the only access is by boat or by a fairly steep unmade path from the roadside. There are a couple of small shops and a local restaurant in the village, that is a five minute drive. Had no problems with rats but the big brown beetles that drop from the trees at dusk are a bit of a nuisance if you are dining al fresco!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Graham H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

we had a 3 bedrooms villa with 2 pools. The Villa is huge and the pools are really nice BUT: the Villa smells like a museum, something we later identified as a small of furniture that haven't been used for a long long time. There is absolutely nothing around- no restaurateurs within a decent distance, no stores, no attractions etc. You must drive for every little thing and there is one taxi in front of the resort that charges ridiculous amounts of money. almost everything you are looking for is extra charge which is a bit disappointing when you pay so much money- i would at least expect to get laundry services, new capsules of coffee or drinks at the pool. The pool looked deserted, there was no one there expect for us and the pool bar was closed. The water in the shower was so strong that my child cried when i tried to bath him. The hotel restaurants is very expensive compared to Thai standards and also compared to our hotel in Bangkok, we tried 2 Italian dishes and were disappointed. In short- this is not the place for you unless you are a movie star wanting to get away from civilization and not get a taste of the real Thailand...

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank giki2379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear giki2379,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience and we are sorry that it was not as perfect as it should have been.

Our property is located within a natural park and built with the purpose of providing our guests utmost privacy and relaxation. Our goal has always been to provide our guests with the best hospitality service and it is with regret that we were not able to meet your expectations.

I would like to inform you that the inconveniences that you have experienced have been addressed and corrective actions have been taken.

I hope that you will give us another chance to welcome you here in the Villa and I would like to personally meet you and speak to you directly. We hope to see you again.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2014

From the moment our attendant opened the doors to the 2 bedroom villa, we were blown away. I've traveled around the world, but have never stayed in such beautiful accommodations before! We walked around in awe the entire stay.

The bed was so comfortable and I might have gotten immaculate sleep if it hadn't been for the flies buzzing around my ear in the middle of the night. I don't know if the doors weren't sealed properly, but I kept waking up to flies. Being that we're on a beach, on an island, I can't say that I was too surprised, so I didn't let it bother me too much.

The beach is fairly empty so you feel like it's just you and your travel companions. I LOVED how tranquil the environment was, and glad that we stayed in this area of Phuket. (After going to Phuket Town, which was very dirty and unimpressive, it confirmed that we made a great decision on choosing the location.)

I loved Maikhao so much that I'm already mentally planning another trip to Phuket.

The spa is extremely expensive. If you happen to go to Bangkok, save your Baht and get a massage there. Phuket is very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissKris816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear MissKris816,

Thank you for your sharing with us your experience and for this wonderful review.

We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your first stay with us - may it be the first of many.

Looking forward to welcome you again.

Sincerely,
David Coyle
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our two bedroom villa was huge and well furnished. Our private pool was a decent size for swimming, if a bit cold at times. The sand on the beach was lovely, but the waves were too strong in the ocean for young kids.
Some highs:
We stayed over Christmas and we had a lovely dinner with the Bangkok Thai opera singers in full gowns singing classical opera and Christmas carols in the background. It was really surreal. Added a touch of class to our casual beach dinner, and was really quite nice and unexpected.
We also ordered an in-villa Thai dinner one of the nights and it was such a great production. Decorations, lighting, and a brilliant chef helped to make the night magical. And our butler was great and on top of everything. Even playing with our kids, so the adults could eat some of the meal in peace!
Lows:
There was never anyone around at the main pool. I understand that people all have private pools but we liked the view by the main pool and like to mix it up. It was really difficult to order drinks and food. There was never anyone at the swim up bar in the pool.

The restaurant food was good, but there were plenty of mixups with our orders. I didn't really mind, as we were on vacation, but this can be improved on.

The kids club was a bit of a disappointment. Again, no one was there to staff it. And the lady that came after we requested was nice, but unengaged. She basically sat at the desk. I guess I am used to Club Med, or even Anantara, where the kids club staff members are so switched on and FUN.

All in all, a nice relaxing stay. A pretty nice hotel overall.

Room Tip: We had the room closest to the main pool, which is also where the nightly entertainment on the beach...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetpeatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
1.5 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
1.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
2.4 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
3.7 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa

Property: Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa
Address: 138/21 Moo 4, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#9 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#10 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on the northwest coast of Phuket Island, Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa, Phuket, is only a short drive away from Phuket airport. It offers 22 exquisite pool villas that blend in perfectly with Phuket’s natural beauty. The resort exudes unstinting grandeur in a tranquil and natural environment where the warm turquoise sea caresses the golden sand of Maikhao Beach. Escape to a tropical playground where the warm turquoise sea caresses the golden sand of Maikhao Beach nature and sophisticated Thai design converge in celebration of a luxurious stay. Maikhao Dream Villa Resort & Spa, Phuket is a splendid holiday destination offering impeccable personalized services and facilities tailored to exceed guests’ expectations and ensure a “home-away-from-home” stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maikhao Dream Villa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maikhao Dream Villa Hotel Mai Khao
Maikhao Dream Villa Resort And Spa Phuket/Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing