We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$169
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$151
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$375
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coriacea Boutique Resort(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,202)
Filter reviews
1,202 results
Traveller rating
657
394
106
24
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
657
394
106
24
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roomkids suitepesto restaurantkids eat freetea tree spakids clubpool barball pitbunk bedsmai khao beachmovie nightcentral festivalwalk along the beachquiet beachkids menulocal restaurantsthai food
Filter
Updating list...
564 - 569 of 1,202 reviews
Reviewed 25 September 2013

My wife and i spent a night at this hotel, following three days/two evenings in Central Phuket. As i am a IHG platinum member, we were upgraded to a pool access room on the ground level.
The room was lovely (nicely decorated; cheery) and it was a delight being to take in the tranquil environment from our balcony.
As we did not have a lot of time at the resort (we were due to fly back home first thing the next morning), we promptly went for a stroll along Mai Khao following a short dip in the pool. As opposed to Patong beach, the stretch of Mai Khao beach is much less crowded, and more of a delight to walk along. Subsequently, we enjoyed cocktails at the pool bar at the very reasonable Happy Hour prices, and rounded off our evening with a sumptuous italian dinner at Pesto, just a few steps off the pool bar.
That there was a lack of F&B options nearby and the resort did not take full advantage in its pricing, made our stay all that more enjoyable, and we are already planning to spend more time there in the near future.
The only downside (a minor one) was that the bathroom did not have toothpaste/toothbrush, and so we had to request for the sevice staff to bring us.

Room Tip: Get a pool access room
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank llhleon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear llhleon,

Thank you for your detailed review of our resort. We hope that we would have more chance to show you around the resort and enjoy all of the facilities. There are a lot of indoor and outdoor activities our team provide to light up your day. Mai Khao Beach is amazing and so beautiful to walk around with often very few people around. I am encouraged to know that you agree we offer value for money in our F&B. We really try to price our meals to meet everyones satisfaction. It is more expensive than a local restaurant nearby, but I assure you we use quality products, cooked with quality equipment. I do hope you return soon. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2013

We are just about to leave the hotel following a 5 day stay and my wife and I, for once we managed to agree on something, could not find fault with the hotel. The reception we received on arrival at the Front Desk and the welcoming folded towels on our bed (in the shape of a rabbit) set the tone of our stay. I'm not quite sure how it would have been possible for the staff, again from Front Desk to bar, restaurant, cleaning and even the gardeners to have been more charming and hospitable. Having relied on comments in Tripadvisor when choosing which hotels to stay-in during our holiday I must say that, as a reasonably well seasoned traveller, I look back at some comments and wonder what reason there could be for not giving the hotel 5 out of 5.

It's quiet with spacious rooms, good choice, and quality of, food and at extremely good prices. OK, it is rather remote with the nearest decent independent supermarket a 1 1/4 hour walk away, (I walked there and back and still have the blisters to prove it!) but the hotel Deli has all that you need, again at non-hotel priced (30 Bht for a coke).

Our only critical comments would be that the patio furniture is a bit sparse (a single double lounger) and that the staff's round-the-clock cheerfulness and politeness served to remind me of how much manners have changed in many parts of the West.

This is our first visit to Thailand and we move-on to Patong tomorrow. We hope that our next hotel is as good as this one.

Room Tip: Pool access rooms are well worth the extra. Choose the South blocks (1-3, 7 & 8) as they are not on the direct path between the centre of the hotel and the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian8022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Ian8022,
Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. We are very happy that your enjoyed your first visit to Thailand. Your compliments give a big smile to all our team and we hope to welcome you back on your next visit to Phuket. It was a pleasure for many of the team including myself meet you and your wife and appreciate all of your kind words. Please come back soon. I am certain the team will have open arms for you. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We had an enjoyable stay with our 2 children (aged 9 and 5 years old) for 4 days 3 nights in September 2013. Our children loved their room in our family suite. There was a big shower area located at the kid's bathroom, a bit of disappointment when the kids realised it was not a big bathtub. Both rooms were relatively clean but ants could be found around mini bar area.

Breakfast was served at J's café which offered excellent food varieties. We noticed a few new dishes each morning and breakfast's selection was never bore. The cafe's ala carte Thai dishes were delicious too. We just hoped there could be more restaurants within the Hotel so we could enjoy more local food conveniently.

Our younger daughter had a wonderful, small birthday celebration at J's café. The Hotel was nice to give her a complimentary piece of cake. We also had the great honour to have J's café staff, Ms Kae and her team, presenting her the cake and birthday song. It was indeed a special and memorable night for our 5th year old girl and she would definitely remember Ms Kae who had been very kind and attentive to us. Great service and staff! Try the Hotel's Tea Tree Spa's Massage if you had the time. I had a most relaxing hot stone massage, leaving my skin silky soft, all thanks to Ms Kwan! Massage and spa services were not cheap but value for money.

Location of the hotel was far from places of attractions such as Phuket town and Patong, hence more travelling expenses expected. We do hope the Hotel could consider offering free and more shuttle service for their guests in future

Room Tip: Block 6 is closest to Hotel's spa and Kids' club. Family suites are located in Block 6 too. There is a shelter walkway leading to side door of J's café so not much hassle on rainy days.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear R Sfam,

Thank you for your wonderful review of our resort. It’s our pleasure of our team especially Khun Kae and F&B team to celebrate your daughter birthday and wishing her a happy birthday. Khun Kwan and spa team also appreciate your kind compliments. Thank you for bringing the guest shuttle service schedule to our attention. There is sadly certain restriction we face regarding the frequency of the shuttle service and if we can offer for free. We cannot at this time due to local rules & regulations. We are looking forward to welcome you back again in the near future and thank you again for the lovely feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just came back from this hotel.
Spent 3 nights here and everything was perfect.
Hotel is a bit far away from downtown (40 minutes drive) but I knew it once I booked it.
Great pool and great room... Everything went perfect.
Pin from the pool bar and Lana (guest relation manager) were incredible nice.
I would come back for sure!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raffs05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Raffs05,
Thank you for your great feedback to our team, services and facilities. Pin and Lana very much appreciate you compliments and our team are looking forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

We stayed here for one night before catching a plane to Bangkok and then again at the end our trip for two nights. Didn't really want to stay at a holiday inn in Thailand, but it was ideal for a short stay as it was near the airport (about a 15minute drive). The room was extremely clean, large and bright with a nice balcony. Huge shower, separate toilet. Huge bed! There were two restaurants, one a thai restaurant where we had a fabulous breakfast buffet, lots of choice, replenished regularly, chefs cooking to order and the option to eat inside or outside. Also, by the pool and beach, an Italian restaurant, we had two excellent evening meals here. There is a spa here, as we flew late we needed to shower and get changed and were taken to the spa to get ready in one of the treatment rooms, these seemed very nice and clean, however we didn't use the services, I felt they were too pricy considering prices else where in thailand! Just down by the beach was a little hut with some locals giving massages, we saw lots of people go here, so gave it a go and it was amazing! And very reasonably priced, the view much better too looking out into the sea! Bliss! There is not much around the hotel, it's very quiet. We really enjoyed staying here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
spmorley, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2013

Dear Gary C,

Thank you for your review of our resort. So glad that you enjoyed the rooms and bathroom. The kitchen team is very proud of their breakfast as well as the Pesto Team. Happy you got to try the Spa from the ladies next door. They do a great job. We of course do charge more as we offer a Spa experience and I can promise you the team will have you coming back for more. We are glad you enjoyed your overall stay with us and hopefully we could have a chance to welcome you back on you next trip to Phuket.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews