We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,183)
Filter reviews
1,183 results
Traveller rating
647
390
105
23
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
647
390
105
23
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool access roomkids suitepesto restaurantkids eat freetea tree spakids clubpool barball pitbunk bedsmai khao beachmovie nightcentral festivalwalk along the beachquiet beachkids menulocal restaurantsthai food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
498 - 503 of 1,183 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I´ve been quite a few times at that hotel and i´ve never been disappointed. You just ought to know that the location is quite secluded and about an hour away from Patong beach.
If you want to party and walk from a bar to another it might not be the right place for you.
I would like to thank the reception staff, especially Jenny, who does a wonderful job and really cares about the wishes and the well being of the guests. They totally show the genuine thai hospitality.
I´ll be back for sure.
Kop kuhn krap !

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemmo26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Sa wa dee krub Lemmo26,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us.

We are very delighted to learn that you have enjoyed your stay in our peaceful resort and looking forward to your return in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We have been in travelling Thailand for the past 3 months and I forget how many hotels we have stayed in, some very good and some excellent.
Holiday Inn comes in the excellent category.
It was not a planned visit here as we only booked it a couple of weeks ago when visiting Chiang Mai.
I'm so glad we left it until the end of the trip as the expectation at every other hotel we stayed in to be very high.
This resort is excellent, clean, tidy, brilliant staff, and so well looked after -amazing.
We stayed for 8 days and having commented on every other hotel, there are always thoughts going through your mind as to what to write about in your next review.
I simply cannot find a single issue with the time we spent at the resort.
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left, we were looked after amazingly.
I would like to thank Jenny and Paula on reception. Ladies, you made a very special occasion, memorable. Jenny you were like our guardian angel, just popping up at the right time whenever we needed something.
My friend, Jamnong, the Director of Food and Beverage, who made every moment we visited the restaurant special, and not just for us but many others also. Your dedication to achieving excellent customer service is amazing. The choice of food was stunning, my wife and I have stayed in some of the best hotels in the World, and never seen such an array of food choices, all equally scrummy. Thank you and your staff for a very special time. To Kae the Maitre'd, your infectious smile and warming greetings every morning we will never forget.
This is a truly special place, stunning scenery and ultra clean and tidy, made ever more special by some beautiful people, the staff.
If ever you are on Phuket, Holiday Inn Resort Mai Khao should be the number one choice for a truly amazing stay.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Silverbugle941
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Silverbugle941,

Thank you very much for your beautiful comment about us following your recent stay.

We are very happy to learn that you have really had a great time in our peaceful resort and our team members have done a great job to make sure your stay memorable. I will definitely pass this message to Jenny, Jamnong, Paula and Kae who will be very excited to hear from you.

We are looking forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Firstly, let me start by saying we visited this hotel a couple of years ago when it was relatively new, although there were a few niggles, nothing that put us off, hence we made a return visit. As it was our second visit, we were prone to making comparisons to our first visit.
We booked our transfer from the airport with the hotel, which after some confusion with the booking he did eventually arrive to pick us up - he had no desire to speak to us or even ask how we were after a long haul flight (the first time we were given chilled towels and water to make our journey comfortable) - he was just doing his job. Check in was fairly easy, staff efficient, however, didn't seem very friendly or interested in us as guests at all. We got to our room, which was immaculate and throughout the whole holiday, the ladies that looked after our room were brilliant and did an absolutely outstanding job. The buffet breakfast was ample, with a fair variety of food, however it was very busy and the queues for the various food stations were ridiculous, given the amount of guests the hotel has, the breakfast restaurant simply is not big enough to cope at the main times. The beach vendor sells a fab selection of fruit and drinks which we tended to do most mornings for breakfast. The restaurant by the beach "Pesto" was on par to 2 years ago... one of the ladies that works in there actually remembered us from 2 years ago. I forget her name, but she is amazing, fabulous service and a very happy, cheerful person and always wanting to please, the others in there are neither here or there, service being a little hit and miss. The childrens club, again, the ladies in there remembered us and they too were very cheerful and efficient at their job, you were happy to leave your children in their care and they managed to run an efficient but happy environment. There have been some additions to the resort such as trampoline, ping pong table etc which is good as there is not much else to do. Movies on the lawn at night were great for the family too. The one area that is a massive let down for the hotel is the pool and pool bar. Firstly, the bar.... it is very hard to get served at the pool bar very quickly.... the staff do tend to completely ignore you until they are ready to be bothered with you.... Plus you have to deal with alot of pushing and shoving from the Russian guests that make up about 90% of guests here. The other issue, and I would say the most serious is the lack of hygene in the pool with children who are not toilet trained. The Russians clearly think it is totally acceptable to put the infants and toddlers in the pool without swimming diapers. Absolutely disgusting.... one child actually did a cr*p in the pool..... we saw it and raised this to not only the pool man, but to the managers of the hotel - after about 15 mins someone came and fished it out the pool... no cleaning or closing of pool, just removed and business as usual. After speaking to the manager about this, I felt confident that they too thought it pretty poor and that action would be taken... this was clearly lip service and on reflection, the manager incapable of actually taking any constructive action about this, because the action the hotel actually took to combat this was.... pin a couple of notices onto palm trees to ask people to use diapers - which were ignored, plus on a couple of occasions they told the odd parents to use diapers, parents ignored the staff so the staff just let them carry on!!!! The mattresses on the sunbeds were absolutely disgustingly filthy. In the 2 weeks there, they did not remove the covers once. Stupidly, they were cream so did show every bit of dirt and believe me, they were vile. They were covered in muddy marks, spilt drinks and food stains. This was also the case with the tables at the side of the beds. Never cleaned. The floor area around the pool was also filthy and never cleaned. Spilt drinks and food again, needless to say there were a fair few flies and ants loitering around. Funnily enough, on our day of check out, suddenly all the mattresses were removed and suddenly someone was trying to scrub some of the floor areas.... surprise surprise, within 30 mins it appears some area or country managers appeared, I strongly believe this is the only reason they tried to clean up! This hotel has been sorely let down by a lack of care and attention in the pool area. I don't believe the resort wants to upset the Russians, so they will continue with their behaviour, the hotel management don't seem to want to enforce any of their rules with fear of upsetting people, Holiday Inn are internationally recognised, so by keeping the Russians happy, they are at major risk of upsetting other nation guests, there are so many other hotels in Phuket that not only exceed the standards of this hotel, but are very competitive with the pricing too. Come on management.... bring your hotel back up to the standards of 2 years ago!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank spanner1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2014

Dear Spanner1607,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comment with us

We appreciate your feedback which helps us understanding what is important for our guests. My team and I sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced. We are committed to deliver service that reflects the Holiday Inn standard and will be sure to highlight its importance in our on-going review’s process and training programs.

Once again, we are sorry for the experience you went through during your stay. We do hope that you would give us the opportunity of delivering a better Holiday Inn experience you deserve in the future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 8 days with our 3year old and 10 month old. The staff were amazing and so lovely with our boys. The pool was good for the kids as the beach was a little rough. We also hired two babysitters to watch the boys at the kids club (they were too young to stay by themselves) while we had dinner one night. We were very happy with the babysitters and the boys were happy too. A fantastic place for a family, we stayed in a family suite which was huge and it gave us some space for ourselves too.

The food in js cafe was fantastic and the cocktails were good too and two for one from 5-8pm. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarahandpaul909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear Sarahandpaul909,

Thank you for your review about us on Tripadvisor.

We are very delighted to hear that you and your little ones have enjoyed your stay in our Family Suite and our babysitters have done a great job to keep your little boys happy.

The team and I are looking forward to welcoming your family back with us on your next vacation in Phuket.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

The hotel was really new and clean. I could tell that they are maintaining the rooms and the public area very well. The food we had at the Thai restaurant was amazing! The staff working were really kind and helpful. I would definitely come back to the hotel if I would come for a vacation in Phuket!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 808Dream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris B, General Manager at Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Dear 808Dream,

Thank you for taking the time to write about us following your recent stay.

We are very happy to read that you have had a great stay in our resort. I will definitely pass your message to our team members in J's restaurant who are thrilled to hear from you.

The team and I are looking forward to having you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,
Chris Batterham
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews