We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok food friendly staff cheap beer”
Review of JJ's Bar & Food

JJ's Bar & Food
Ranked #24 of 118 Restaurants in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

The food was ok I suspect it depends on what you order. The chicken and cashew nut was missing cashews??? Good for a cheap alternative near expensive resorts. I have had much better food in Thailand. Staff were friendly and price was cheap (ish)

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank GeoffD395
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (767)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

382 - 386 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2016 via mobile

At JJ's you are basically eating in an extension to the family house and the family is cooking for and serving you - which means that you are eating what the family eats; and that's a good thing.

We started off with chicken satay and stir fried prawns. Both were very good, tender and succulent. The satay sauce had a nice kick to it (so be careful before you let the kids try it!).

We then moved on to green chicken curry; prawns in tamarind sauce; stir fried morning glory; and fried rice with pork. The kids tucked into grilled chicken and rice. All the dishes were very good, with authentic Thai ingredients and flavours. We asked for everything to be medium spicy - and it was. Nothing had ferocious heat to it - although I'm sure that that could easily be added with some local chilis!

We finished off with mango stick rice which was awesome. Chewy rice, sticky with sweetened coconut milk and beautifully ripe mango.

Chang and Singha beer are served in large or small bottles and perfectly chilled. Fruit juices and other soft drinks (Coke and Sprite) are available for those not drinking alcohol.

If you're a fan of local Thai cooking, plastic chairs and plates and service with a genuine smile, this is a great place to go.

If you're staying at any of the Marriott or Anantara properties close by, get yourself out of the hotel and put some money into the local economy. You definitely won't regret it.

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank davidpY6897KD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 July 2016

This place is well worth a visit. J J is so friendly, chatty & funny & delights in pleasing people, cheap as chips but gorgeous home cooked food. Love it & the decor, CDs & football shirts.

Date of visit: February 2016
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

The food served in JJ doesn't deserve such good reviews. It was one of the worst Thai food I had for such a long time. Really disappointed that the Thais lost their tradition good Thai food in Phuket. Especially the restaurants at those touristy places eg Patong beach, they are just out to make money. Their tom yum lacked the strong flavor, it's just sourish, the prawns were not fresh. The meat and veg were just stir fry with diluted oyster sauce regardless whether we ordered them in basil or garlic. Maybe it's just a place for some fried finger food n beer. Seriously not the food.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank honest_review91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 July 2016 via mobile

Located directly next to the service entrance of the Marriott Mai Khao resort, JJs offers authentic food at reasonable prices. Although a bit pricier than restaurants further afield, it is only a short walk from the resorts so no extortionate taxi fee to pay. Jit the owner is very friendly and clearly puts maximum effort into keeping diners happy. This is not intrusive as some earlier reviews suggest, but more in a Thai hospitable way. Preferences in chilli heat, ingredients etc can be requested with no problem. Expect to pay approx baht 150 per dish instead of baht 300 in the Turtle Mart restaurants or even more in the hotel restaurants. Definately worth a try if you are staying at the near by resorts. In summary, authentic Thai cooking at a reasonable prices, without the need to get in a taxi for those staying at Marriott or Anantara resorts .

Date of visit: July 2016
2  Thank Raj_Tee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed JJ's Bar & Food also viewed

Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 
Mai Khao, Thalang District
Mai Khao, Thalang District
 

Been to JJ's Bar & Food? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.