We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AVC and Anantara villas! Lovely!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We joined the AVC last year and used it for the first time this week. The beach is very remote and cabs to and from are not cheap.
The check in was fast and friendly, the villa was absolutely divine. We saw the first one completed last year and am glad to report this one looked as good as the model one. Everything was absolutely perfect, we are both designers and check for faults all the time,none found. Lovely quiet position away from the kids club. Breakfast at the club was fabulous, a great choice and different each day.
I'd like to especially mention the manager who chatted to us while we were leaving, very friendly,and the friendly chef Ian Wood who chatted to guests, helped people with choices. You know it's good when the chef takes such a active role. We also had pizza one night there, great, also with a very entertaining karaoke singer! The pool area is well suited for families, kids club etc looked fine. We really enjoyed the whole experience. We were approached a few times by a rep trying to get us to go to another talk, we weren't bothered by this as it is their job. But that VIlla was just divine.
We also used some on the Anantara villa facilities. The entrance and walkways and landscaping is just beautiful. You are not allowed to use the pool area which we do understand. Lots of other people from other hotels on the beach wandered in and the staff toLd them very politely it was for hotel guests only. We ended up sunbathing in the area below the pool and staff didn't bother us. No one was there anyway. The pool is beautiful though! The loungers on the beach for the AVC guests to use are a bit of a problem. There is no direct pool access from AVC so you need to go past the pool area. We did get a discount when using the food areas. The pool bar is not cheap but we had great cocktails ( English garden mojito :)) and salad. We also had sunset drinks at the tree top bar which is just beautiful. Lovely girls working there. Everything about his hotel is just amazing. Privacy,calm, tranquility. I don't think it's suitable for young kids who tend to dash off as lots of walkways over water. Which is just fine by us!
Maew the pool bar manager ? Is good, friendly efficient and very hard working. The girls working at the tree top bar also lovely. Thanks for a great visit!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank schemie2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 656 reviews

Reviewed 26 December 2013

The vacation club is less than a year old. We were allowed the tower block which really looks like a school hostel on the outside. Fittings are ok, not luxurious but suffices as they are new but ne wonders what it will be like when it ages. The pool area is nice and inviting. Best is the kids club which takes a serious view of carrying out parents' instructions, down to the number of minutes the kids are allowed to play xbox! Even i can't do that! Kudos to them!

Room Tip: Avoid the tower block though the view of the place is quite nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vguudeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We (family of 2 adults and 2 young kids) normally stay either at the JW Marriott Phuket or Holiday Inn Mai Khao for our regular Phuket trip but we stayed in a one-bedroom apartment at this property under a promotional offer that included a 90-minute Anantara Vacation Club (AVC) membership preview (we are not AVC members) this year. AVC members actually stay in a pool vila.

This property is not on the beach front but is located on the other side of the road of the Anantara Phuket Villas and Turtle Village mall. We were not allowed to use the facilities of the Anantara Phuket Villas except for the restaurants.

Overall Set-Up:
The size of this property was relatively small which meant that the lobby was very small and the only main pool was also small with a smaller area for kids.

It seemed that this property was mainly used as a sales hub for AVC membership so it felt a bit more like a property show-room than an actual resort with the majority of guests coming from Chinese-speaking countries. There was a lack of an atmosphere.

Family Facilities:
Claiming that AVC properties are for family, this one certainly did not seem to have that many. There was a small kids club with very limited activities, a small kids pool area and an outdoor playground which was empty due to the hot weather.

Our room came with breakfast for 2 adults but kids over 4 years old have to pay half of the adult breakfast buffet price. This was certainly not family friendly.

As we were not allowed to use the facilities at the near-by Anantara Phuket Villas, we got bored after 3 days. Also, it was a bit odd to go to Mai Khao and not having access to the beach.

The Accommodation:
The one-bedroom apartment was very comfortable, spacious and well furnished including a kitchenette, a washing maching and tumble dryer that are convenient. AVC members do not stay in these apartments that are purely for promotional offers to give potential members a feel for what the pool villa may contain.

In-room internet was complimetary for 30 minutes per day with charges for longer usage. Again, this is one of the non-standard things that we were surprised to see for this type of brand name.

Summary:
Compared to the JW Marriott Phuket and the Holiday Inn Mai Khao where we have stayed, we did not see much reason for wanting to stay here again as our priority is family facilities and not the pool villa.

The staff was very courteous and provided a great service but we felt that this property lacked in too many areas compared to other resorts in the same area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank hippodiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

We stayed at the Anantara Bophut Vacation Club as the main hotel was under renovation. As it was undergoing renovation, we didn't quite get to enjoy the full facilities of the place and had to make do with renovation noise and dust. Service as with all the other Anantaras that I've stayed in is top notch. Room service was delivered very quickly, staff are friendly and very helpful. Location of the resort is good, we enjoyed walking through the fisherman's village. It wasn't dirty and seedy. Food options at Fisherman's village was very good too. The beach at Anatara is not the usual soft sand but its fairly quiet and not overly crowded much like Chaweng, so it was quite nice to lounge around.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julietng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

My magical experience at Qasr Al Sarab Desert Resort made me fall in love with the Anantara brand. With high expectations, we arrived at AVC Phuket only to feel cheated and lousy. We were originally promised a 2BR villa with private pool which eventually turned out to be a 2BR apartment and could only use the common pool. As the resort has limited facilities and is located far from town, we had pretty much nothing to do. The hotel provides transport to town at quite a high cost as that is one of their sources of revenue. If I didn't remember wrongly, one cannot take a local taxi from there as transport in the area has been monopolized by the hotel group. My Phuket trip would have been more enjoyable if we had put up at a more accessible resort.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank queenmomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear Queenmomo

Good morning.

Apart from the couple of points you mention in your review I hope the rest of your stay was a pleasant one!

In regards to transport.

In Phuket (the entire island) there is no meter taxi service. The only taxi service available is "local taxi" which is an ungoverned, unregulated group of mostly unmarked cars where the price must be negotiated prior to the journey. We can and do assist with this negotiation process on our guests behalf to ensure the price is within the "market" threshold.

Rest assured that our hotel has no financial interest and does not receive any commissions from this taxi service. Yes, I agree there is a "monopoly" concening transport in Phuket, however not to the advantage of anyone but the actual drivers. For the sake of keeping our guests happy we are very much in favour of a highly competitive transport structure that will allow the natural market dynamics to dictate the price.

We do provide a hotel limousine service which is the only transport we recommend as we can guarantee the service and ensure all safety and insurance is in order.

Unfortuntely I cannot identify you from your Tripadvisor name, however I would very much like to investigate your booking detail in regards to the room type allocated. Please feel free to email me direct on lellis@anantaraclub.com and I will liaise with you directly.

Albeit you mention in the header of your review you are never coming back, I do hope you decide to venture back one day. As I mentioned earlier, i hope our team made the rest of your stay a relaxing one.

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

We stayed at 2-br pool suite and it was very spacious, the pool was larger than many pool suites that I have stayed in before. I had a chance to look at the pool villa and the pool was even larger. Breakfast was good and with variety. On the first day I saw the Executive Chef making omelete at the omelete station. After all it's a nice place to stay in if you don't mind that Mai Khao is a bit far from everything. We rented a car and thus it's ok for us.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Connie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

This is a true resort style holiday location i.e. you never have to leave. Depending on what you want from a holiday then this can be a good thing or a bad thing. Having been to Phuket on several occasions we were quite content to stay within the confines of the Resort on this occasion.

Note; that the Anantara Vacation Club (AVC) resort is a separate hotel to the Anantara Phuket Villas just across the road, which is much, much nicer and has beach side facilities. We stayed in a one bedroom suite at the AVC, the room was huge and well equipped with basic kitchen facilities as well. Clearly catered to families with kids. The pillows are incredibly soft, even after we phoned for hard foam pillows, we were given pillows that were even softer than usual. I had to sleep with 4 pillows on one night. They are the so soft that when you put your head on it, the sides of the pillow will flip up and cover your head!

The pool has a pool side bar with happy hour, service at the pool is not very attentive. It was not particular busy when we were there and yet the bar staff do not come round often to take your order or offer any refreshments. You have to get off your lounger and go approach the bar yourself.

The breakfast is decent with good choice of Asian and Western. We didn't eat at the hotel as it is very expensive compared to Thai standards; even compared to Singapore standards you could be paying S$ 20 for a curry! So we decided to eat out, but as this resort is isolated and far from anywhere, we were left with no choice but the “Turtle Village” across the road. The Village is wholly owned by Anantara so again it’s expensive. There are a few small boutique shops and two choices for food; The Coffee Club and Bill Bentley’s pub, both owned by Aanantara. The food at the pub is very average while the Coffee Club is slightly better but more expensive. You will still be paying approx. $12 for a Thai Curry.

It’s a short walk to the beach and being a nature reserve it is much, much quieter than some of the other more crowded and touristy beaches in Phuket. The waves are quite large so if you are after a more relaxing paddle this is not the place. As sunbeds are not allowed on the beach, the only option to chill by the beach is to use the resort, which unless you are staying there you are you won’t be allowed to use the facilities. Even staying at the AVC we couldn’t use the facilities of the Anantara Villa’s even though there were lots of empty sunbeds.

We stayed for 2 nights and 3 days and at the end of it we really didn't feel like we had a holiday in Thailand. As we never left the resort, we really could have been anywhere in the world. But this was a free holiday for us so no complaints, all we had to do was attend the 90 minute sales presentation...

Room Tip: Be sure you are booking the right Anantara.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iYapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2014

Dear iYapple

Good morning and thank you for your review.

I trust you enjoyed your weekend with us and that your preview of Anantara Vacation Club was an enlightening one!

Your comment regarding the pillows is well noted. There should have been 2 x goose down/feather pillows on your bed as well as 2 x synthetic (harder pillows).

We have had many positive comments regarding both our pillows and duvets and keep a good stock as many guests request to purchase them. Anantara have very exacting standards in regards to the down/feather mix and I am sorry they were too soft for your taste!

In regards to our menu pricing, not sure if you were referring to prices at another restaurant as all our curries, both Thai and pan-asian are priced between THB320-410 (SGD12-16) and that includes all taxes. Rest assured that we are very concisous of the local competition and ensure that our menu provides "value for money" and that the quality, service and peace of mind that hygiene regulations are adhered to. We may not be the "cheapest cheapest", however we are the best............ especially our wood-fired pizzas!

Once again, thank you for taking the time to review our hotel and hope to see you back here again one day.

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#5 of 36 in Choeng Thale
785 reviews
15.3 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
945 reviews
3.2 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Address: 887 Moo 3, Thalang | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Vacation Club Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: £310 - £724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anantara Vacation Club’s brand new signature resort in northwest Phuket offers a truly indulgent tropical escape, yet is only 15 minutes from Phuket International Airport and a short drive from the bustling beaches of the south. The resort’s luxurious choice of Apartment Suites and Pool Villas are designed with couples, families and friends in mind. All feature an incredibly generous living space, with sizes ranging from 94 sqm for a One Bedroom Apartment to over 250 sqm for a Two Bedroom Pool Villa. Each apartment and villa is equipped with a kitchen, large refrigerator, cook top and utensils, as well as a clothes washing machine and dryer, to create a convenient home away from home. Just a few minutes’ walk away are the tranquil sun kissed sands of Mai Khao – Phuket’s longest beach. While Sirinath National Park that fringes our resort is your gateway to an impressive natural playground of sea caves, mangroves, coral reefs and dazzling islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing