We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value, good service, nice beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good value, good service, nice beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

As always, I think it is important to do your research about what you are looking for in a hotel or vacation spot. My girlfriend and I needed a place to stay for a few days both before and after a week on a live aboard dive trip. Knowing that we would be 'roughing it' a bit on the boat we elected to spend a bit more in order to have a comfortable room before and after the main part of our trip.

We stayed at the AVC- Anantara vacation club hotel facility (as opposed to the villas which are larger, more expensive, absolutely luxurious, and closer to the beach). If you have a family with small children, and are looking for a 'contained' beach vacation, and can afford the Villas, I would absolutely look into it. On the hotel side, our room was large, clean, and had a nice balcony with a view of the ocean. We ate at the large buffet every morning and used the fitness facility before heading down to the beach each day. The beach is one of the most beautiful, quiet beaches in this area of Thailand. There is a stand set up right beside the resort (not affiliated with the resort) where you can get a one hour massage for about $12 Canadian. We did this pretty much every day and I can tell you these ladies are talented therapists. We arranged a car for the day (through mr. Chang- he can be found on the phuket forum) and his driver took us for the tourist 'day trip' around old Phuket and the various temples and beaches. As expected, it was a bit of a 'tourist trap' type of service where they offer to sell you elephant rides and tiger encounters etc, but they were not pushy at all when we indicates that we were not interested. Again, if you are looking to venture outside of the resort, this is a good way to get the lay of the land, in addition to stopping at the 7-11 for some supplies (beer, coke, snacks etc) for the in-room fridge.
In reading other reviews I have seen critiques about not being able to use the beach front pool as well as being harassed about timeshare sales. We mentioned at the time of booking that we would not be interested in vacation club ownership, as we only travel to Asia occasionally. They took a photo of us for the staff and we were not approached at all on our stay.
Yes, the beach front pool is for Villa guests only, but the beach is wide open including stand up paddle boards and kayaks (which we used almost daily). There is a perfectly nice pool available within the hotel complex (which we did not use as we preferred the beach). The walk to the beach takes about 5-7 minutes and they thoughtfully include a beach bag for you to use to haul your books, sunscreen etc along.
The manager, Lyndon Ellis, was very helpful when we needed to alter our stay slightly due to a booking error on my part. Also although they could not offer us late check-out on one day, they were able to let us use a hospitality suite to freshen up before our afternoon departure on the boat.
My only other comment would be yes, this resort is far from the 'action'. If you are looking for the bright lights and debauchery of Patong Beach then this is not the area for you to stay. Also, if it bothers you that you pay the same price for 1 beer as you would pay for 4 beer at the 7-11, then this type of resort is not for you.
Otherwise I would highly recommend this resort for a romantic couples getaway, a contained, relaxing family trip, or, as in our case, a stopover to and from a similan island dive trip.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Surfndiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Surfndiver

Happy to hear your diving was all that you expected and your stay at Anantara Vacation Club was a relaxing one.

Hope to see you next year when next venturing this way.

Best Regards

Lyndon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    294
    171
    58
    11
    6
See reviews for
298
155
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

We are at AVC right mow and I agree that it is far from most of the "action" in Phuket, it is a beautiful resort with a very nice staff and close to a wonderful beach. If you are looking for suntanned partiers then this may not be best for you. But if you want an amazing sunset this is the place for you. I would advise that you rent a car, it's not that expensive.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tdiddy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We vacationed there two weeks ago and loved our room, the pool and what feels like a pretty private, pristine beach. As much as we loved the resort and 'getting away from it all', it turned out to be a little too far away from it all. While the staff is friendly and helpful, you are anywhere from 40 minutes to an hour away from town, or the major Phuket attractions. While it is cheaper to take the scheduled van from the resort into town than to catch a taxi, it is still pricey, timely and you have to do it on their schedule. Also, being secluded seems to have driven up the prices of everything in the area, including the local grocery store. We did eat at the resort restaurant, and the food was fine, but it was twice what we would have paid in the States, and that was the only place the service lacked as well. We had to wait 20 minutes to order, and at least that again for our check. Finally, the pool (which is very nice) is only open until 7 or 7:30pm. With not much else to do in the area, it would be nice if it was open later - at least until 10pm or so. Overall, we are glad we stayed there, and you cannot go wrong with that beach or the rooms. Just be mindful of how far away it is and how expensive it can be, we had to change many of our original plans to accommodate.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Adam H

Thank you for taking the time to review our resort and are delighted that you enjoyed yourself.

Thank you for your comment regarding the pool hours. I think you also made a comment to one of the team when you were inhouse and we have now extended the pool hours to 9pm. The reason we closed at 7pm was this is the time when the pool is unattended by our Recreation staff, however we would never stop our guests swimming past this time if they requested. The new time of 9pm will assist, however once again if guests wish to swim past this time that is fine as long as the noise is kept down in respect for other guests who maybe trying to sleep.

As you are aware, all our Suites and Apartments have kitchen facilities including all the utensils you require to cook up a storm! Yes, the minimart at Turtle Village is a little more expensive than the major supermarkets and we are doing our best to counter this. How? There is a large chain supermarket 25minutes from the resort and we have now introduced a daily shuttle that leaves the resort at 11.00am and returns at 2.30pm. Gives you enough time to do some shopping, have a quick bite of lunch and then return. The cost of this shuttle per person is THB300 return (US$9). This allows our guests to visit the supermarket and stock up for their stay........... makes catering for kids who constantly want to eat so much easier!! The alternative is to get our other shuttle to Phuket Town (Central Department Store) or to Patong, which is a little further, however you can make a day out of it........ plenty to do and see at both locations.

Thanks again for your feedback and hope to see you back here soon.

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a spectacular apartment with a pool. The staff goes out of their way to please. The beach is gorgeous and unsettled so you can really enjoy it. I did not give the property five stars because it is so far away from anything going on in Phuket. However, if you want a quiet beautiful holiday or have small children, this is the ideal property.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank joannkf1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

My family and I to this trip together at AVC,Phuket. We got discount on this hotel, we paid them less than 10k bath for 2 beds room for 2 nights. Their food are great. Service is very good, they smile all the time. The room is very clean, huge and full of apartment staffs such as microwave, plates, and washing machine(Which is amazing). Location is really great for us because we want to relax and chill. It's very quite and not busy :))

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thanawat W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Nice vacation club, staff really friendly, room are huge, can stay up to 6 pax per room. We stay in a 2 bedroom suite. Can see sunset in the evening at the convenient of our balcony. Best hotel that I have ever stay.
Only setback is everything is much more ex then town. From drinks to food.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Josphinn N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

We've been in the AVC for 5 nights holiday under their special offer rates. And for sure we will need to attend their presentation for their marketing part. To tell the truth, the hotel itself is really nice and perfect structure inside the apartment suit and villas, nice staffs and nice service. We had really a nice time till the last day when there was the presentation.

Here is the story of the presentation that I have not imagined a presentation like this kind, it is not a generally presentation, this is a private 1 to 1 selling. Below is the email that I wrote to the marketing part of AVc and I didn't receive any reply. That I explain the story of the presentation, and this part destroy our wonderful experience in AVC phuket


Dear all
We've already been to your presentation and how is your English staff treated us we are not satisfied at all. We have not not been explained neither the price for membership nor the details and he directly asked us if we are affordable to join the membership. How can we answer a question like this immediately as we do not even know what will be paid and what is the details? We had a baby of 9 months and we had to leave to change her in the room, my husband not speak well English, only basic level, and your English speaking staff already complained for this and this is NOT our fault. We attended your presentation on the scheduled time and we are interesting to know more about your structure and various plans, I'm also gold member of
Hilton honors and priority club and other programs, I've never been treated like this. My husband left to change the baby in room, and your staff ( senior staff) said to me, without your husband we will charge you whole rate and you should pay WHOLE rate of the room . I feel offended of this kind of treatment of your staff. And the baby need to be changed and washed, you can not understand this kind of situation so can not treat us like this.
Later the English staff left and came a Chinese staff. We began to know better things but already we were not happy for how we have been treated and we can not decide anything. We are in holiday and we do not like to be treated in this way, we are all interested of your offers but we need to think about it and when we are ready we will sure to inform you if we want or no. Not like the English staff that just asked, you want to join or no without any other explanations.

Sorry that we can not join today. But if we can have more info we will study all the info and I will inform the Chinese staff for the eventually interests without any pressures



All is good, food is excellent and service is all good, the locality is a little bit far from everything but the beach is really nice and quiet for walking and relaxing.
Only this experience of the presentation made us really deluded and hope they can make it better in the selling marketing part.


Thanks

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ilaria0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_AVC_Phuket, General Manager at Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket, responded to this review, 9 February 2014
Dear Ilaria0505

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel staff made you feel welcome.

I am however concerned about your experience when you attended the vacation ownership presentation. The relevant people will respond to your email and instigate an investigation.

I apologise for this unfortunate experience and assure you that appropriate action will be taken.

I am however glad that your stay within the resort was a pleasant one and our team took good care.

Once again, thank you for your review and do hope you decide to return to Anantara Vacation Club.

Kind Regards

Lyndon Ellis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.9 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.7 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort & Spa
9.2 mi away
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort
#3 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Marriott's Mai Khao Beach - Phuket
0.0 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
0.2 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Property: Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket
Address: 887 Moo 3, Thalang | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Vacation Club Resort)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#6 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#7 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anantara Vacation Club’s brand new signature resort in northwest Phuket offers a truly indulgent tropical escape, yet is only 15 minutes from Phuket International Airport and a short drive from the bustling beaches of the south. The resort’s luxurious choice of Apartment Suites and Pool Villas are designed with couples, families and friends in mind. All feature an incredibly generous living space, with sizes ranging from 94 sqm for a One Bedroom Apartment to over 250 sqm for a Two Bedroom Pool Villa. Each apartment and villa is equipped with a kitchen, large refrigerator, cook top and utensils, as well as a clothes washing machine and dryer, to create a convenient home away from home. Just a few minutes’ walk away are the tranquil sun kissed sands of Mai Khao – Phuket’s longest beach. While Sirinath National Park that fringes our resort is your gateway to an impressive natural playground of sea caves, mangroves, coral reefs and dazzling islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Vacation Club Mai Khao Phuket

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing