We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quality Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Auburn, Washington
Level Contributor
111 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Quality Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

We spent 5 days at the JW Phuket after 5 days in Bangkok. The check in and reception was very nice. They met us with a drink and cold towel. The room was very large and great bathroom. We ate at the Andaman Grill, Cucina, Marriott Grill, and Siam Deli as well as the pool bar. All the food was very good. Breakfast was outstanding. The food prices are similar to any large city in the US. We had a ground floor room that looked out into a landscaped area which made the room a little dark but I gave us easy access to the pool. We spent most of our pool time at the south pool which has the best shade. Be prepared for hot temperature. The pool staff brings ice water quite often as well as cold towels. The pool has very easy access for entry. You need to get to the pool early to get a good lounge chair location. Other reviews have commented on the hotel maintenance. If you look carefully, you can find a few locations of peeling paint, broken tiles, spots on the pool towels, etc. These minor defects do not effect the enjoyment of the resort. No resort or hotel is perfect. The location of the resort is great if you want a quiet location. We hired a car for sight seeing and took a taxi to the harbor for a boat trip. Even though the resort is on the beach, there are no lounge chairs or umbrellas on the beach since it is a turtle egg laying beach.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2014
Dear Mike H,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of our Hotel. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. The Chef will be very happy to learn that you were very satisfied with the Food & Beverage choice and quality, I will be sure to forward your comments.
The Hotel is impressive and spread over 27 acres of national maritime park you are always able to find a secluded space to enjoy peace and quiet. The turtles are nesting now and we have 3 separate nests at the moment!

Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,757 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,764
    727
    172
    64
    30
See reviews for
1,516
1,213
114
136
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

we visited for a wedding in February. The hotel is friendly, with great food - wonderful buffet breakfast. Although full it seemed quiet - plenty of space round the pool and steps to the beach. You can get the shuttle to the neighbour hotel or small shopping place, but most attractions are at least 40 minutes away so you'd need to book a car or excursions. If you want to get away from it and don't mind eating at the same restaurants each night though the food is excellent. Cheap massage on the beach outside the hotel.

Room Tip: ask for one NOT overlooking the building site!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MadelineCrisp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is very nice. The grounds are clean and well kept, pretty much look like the pictures they advertise. Breakfast is good, lots of selections although quite crowded.
One downside of the hotel is how crowded the pools are. The hotel gives out towels and books, and unfortunately people take advantage of this by leaving towels and books on chairs presumably overnight to "reserve" their spot. So when you come to the pool at 9 am all the chairs are taken even though there are no people there yet. How ridiculously stupid and frustrating. I was tempted to gatther up all the towels and books and throw them in the pool. The hotel SHOULD NOT ALLOW THIS!
So, I'm knocking off a star because off the pool issue, no space there. The beach is just ok, some pretty rough waves, it's on a hill and there's not much shade. The trees that do provide spotty shade also constantly drop little needles, so watch out. And getting in the water was intolerable due to constant stinging of sea lice (can't see them but they feel like little pin pricks all over your body).
We went to one restaurant and the food was really good.
The staff was friendly and helpful.
I knocked off another star due to location. The hotel is located in an isolated part of the northern part of the island. Long, pricey taxi rides to get anywhere on phuket. Next time I would stay somewhere in the phi phi islands. Much prettier there and better beaches. Location is fine if you don't plan to leave the resort I guess, but like I said the beach is really not very nice and the pools are crowded if you can get even get a chair at all.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank levinkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Dear Lundink,

We appreciate you taking time out to share your thoughts on TripAdvisor. We are aware of the issue surrounding the reservation of sun loungers. We do try to manage the situation as best we can whilst taking into account that whatever action we take will likely leave someone unhappy. It is a challenge to strike the right balance but we will continue to try and find an approach that is fair, reasonable and leaves all of our guests with an equal opportunity to enjoy any of our 3 delightful Pools.
I'm happy to read that you enjoyed our restaurants and that the Hotel grounds lived up to your expectations. We believe that it is the location of the Hotel that makes it such a unique destination, located within 27 acres of national maritime park and the beach is home to leatherback turtles that return each year to lay their eggs. This means that a shuttle service or taxi ride to the more built up southern part of Phuket is required. I really do hope that on balance you enjoyed your overall stay with us. Importantly you shared your feedback which will give us an opportunity to improve and any guests of the future to make an more informed choice.
Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

This resort had been one of our favourites in Phuket, having visited it 3 times in the past. Comparing to the past visit however we are seeing a decline of service standard in several areas.

The reception on our arrival for example is routine and somewhat mechanical. Given our previous visits and with our Marriott card membership we'd thought there were warmer welcomes from the girl at the reception. The porter also lingers in our room just a little bit too long for us to take the hint.

Breakfast venue is crowded as ever, but the staff is definitely a bit more terse than before. For example, they can take a chair from our table without asking whether they can or if we have any more friends coming.

But we are mostly unhappy with the pool staff both at the south and the main pool, esp the latter, often found chatting in groups despite the huge northern European crowds dying for service. No one helps you to find a chair. Instead, the staff sends us on a wild goose chase for seats ourselves under the scorching sun. No one brings you towels either, and there is only one towel station from which you will have to carry all the towels to your hard-located seats yourself. If you have a group of 3 or 4 then good luck! Adding insult to this is that the "towel" staff repeatedly asks you for some sort of hotel ID which we were never given before, as if we will immediately escape with 5, 6 towels into Phuket town and sell them!

Sadly we will have to endure this lot for another few days, but the lesson we've learned is that loyalty does not always pay. In phuket there are others to consider surely, so do your homework, and avoid this one.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank TSWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear TSWtraveller,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and I'm very sorry that you feel we have not maintained the high standards that enticed you to holiday with us again and again. I note that you are still with us? I would be most thankful if you might afford me a few minutes of your time before you leave as it is always a huge dissappointment to learn of moments during the stay of our guests when their expectations have not been met.
On behalf of the whole team here at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa I wish to apologise to you for any inconvenience suffered. I hope we have the chance to meet before you leave.

Kind regards

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed there with the family in the 2 room villa with a plunge pool. The amenities and service was superb. The self contained resort makes it easy to get almost everything as there is a mini shopping plaza.Can't wait to come back again this year for another relaxing stay.

I highly recommend this location for a family vacation.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Haikel I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear Haikel I,

It's pleasing to know you enjoyed your stay with us. We certainly try very hard to deliver a great experience to all of our guests. Hopefully you will visit us again and thank you for your support of Marriott.

Kind thanks

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Stayed for the week leading up to Christmas.

Positives
- Hotel was near capacity, but did not feel crowded (particularly minimal waits for a table at breakfast). Enough restaurants onsite for variety and to serve everyone
- Beach was near empty everyday. My two kids (6 and 1) spend almost there entire time on the beach and in the ocean. Ocean is not as calm as Kata or other beaches, but it was very good nonetheless. Kids loved the breaking waves and we were able to body surf a couple of days
- Breakfast buffet is excellent and cafe downstairs has plenty of a la carte options
- Free or inexpensive water sport rentals (boogie boards, kayaks, sailboats)
- Remote location - Hotel is mainly isolated, though there are some local restaurants 5-10 minutes away by car and a small shopping plaza nearby. If you want a more secluded spot, this is for you. If you want to be close to Phuket town, then this is not the hotel to be at. 45-60 by car into town

Negatives
- Lot of jellyfish in the water. The little ones close to shore give lots of little pinprick type stings. My wife and I were able to swim through it, but the kids were irritated too much. Larger jellyfish were numerous a little further offshore. Supposedly overfishing in Thailand is the reason for the jellyfish population increase, so I suspect this is a similar problem throughout the area


Would we go back?
- Yes, if the price is right. It seems that rates are going up at all hotels in the region as more people from Asia travel. This is a great family or couples vacation hotel. Probably our top choice in Phuket when travelling with children.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DODHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear DanHongKong,

I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here in Phuket. Thank you for sharing your impressions and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind thanks

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Full marks please book this hotel blond fold. We stayed for 2 nights a short trip but were only in the hotel so we used all the facility and all the resteraunt.

All the resteraunt serve realy good food and drinks and cocktail are amazing.

We stayed at room 135 villa. It was amazing pool facing cottage. The resort has 3 huge pools and a decent kids size pool.

The ocean view is amazing, clean sandy beaches and blue sea..truly beautiful.

It was a amazing stay and the staff really goes beyond to make the stay a pleasure.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank sachinkrishnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charles S, Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Dear SachinKrishnan,

Thank you for recognising all of the best things about our resort. I'm happy to know that you were very satisfied with your stay. It has been a long and sometimes testing high season for our team so they will be delighted to read your comments as am I. Lets hope that you return to see us again soon!

Best wishes

Charles
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
13.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 1 in Pa Khlok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
9.1 mi away
Trisara Phuket
Trisara Phuket
#2 of 94 in Thalang District
5.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Property: JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Address: 231 Moo 3 | Talang, Phuket, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Fifteen minutes north of the airport, the resort comprises 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Marriott, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing