We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The JW Marriott is a great resort and is located right at the beach which is great because i love swimming in the beach. the restaurants at the resort are also really good. About 100 meters away from the resort there is a local restaurant called Andaman seafood as well which serve you faboulous food. there is also lots of fun things for kids to do in the kids club

Room Tip: do not choose the rooms 101-147, 201-247 and 301-347 because they are very close to the bar and its...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Paul H,

It pleases me to read in your review that your experience at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa was truly enjoyable.

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments in Tripadvisor and looking forward to welcome you and your family back to the resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Oriol
Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,429)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,417 - 2,423 of 4,429 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

The set up of this hotel is like a big village for tourists with activities for kids and family. I feel like in a different world dis connected to Phuket where we are at. We took a round trip taxi to Patong beach one hour away to feel Phuket where we enjoyed sea food on the beach and patronize hawkers from Myanmar and Vietnam and Cambodia selling us flowers, fireworks and balloons.
Back at hotel we enjoyed the nice rooms among the lush landscape, nice restaurants there Japanese , Italian and Thai.
Our kids are too young to joint their sports programs. The sea is too rough to enjoy with the kids so we end up in the crowded swimming pools.

The kids area is very good and our babies enjoy the place. It will be better is our kids are older and for us we prefer a calmer beach and with access to local communities .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKKyawt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear KKKyawt,

Thank you very much for staying at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa and for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor about your recent stay with us.

I am happy to read your compliments on the Kid's Club, Hotel rooms, landscape and restaurants.

In reference to your comments about our location, I am sorry to hear that you found our location to be too quiet. In fact majority of our customers choose our hotel in order to take full advantage of being in the middle of an amazing national park.

I remain at your entire disposal in case you require of any assistance in the future.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager
JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

How can you not love this stunning resort. Pristine and private beach (though not as swimable as Koh Samui in my opinion), amazing service, and wonderful food. I loved the the congee for breakfast (not included) and the rice served inside the pineapple was a fantastic dinner option. Though it did seem that the food wasn't as authentic as if you'd go into town, it was still very good. Lovely rooms, great reclining space for afternoon naps. Clean and everyone was friendly. But do be cautious of the time share pitch!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear Ashley P,

Thank you very much for posting such a detailed review about your recent stay At JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

It was a joy to read through your long list of positive comments concerning the service provided by our associates, your compliments about the food as well as the amazing beauty of our resort.

We eagerly await the opportunity to welcome you back.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Thank you for the cake. Your guys and your hotel made me have an unforgettable Easter holiday and birthday. Everything about the hotel, rooms, pools, restaurants and staff are great. A must-have experience.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank X C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear XC,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on Trip Advisor.

I am very happy to hear you enjoyed your Easter vacation and It is great to learn that you had a memorable birthday celebration at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to the resort.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the JW Marriott in Phuket. The one downside was that there were too many kids- we were hoping for a quieter experience while lounging by the pool but that was thwarted by screaming children.

The breakfast had a good selection but nothing spectacular. The on-property restaurants were very good, however. One recommendation is that you do the Romance By Design dining experience. Basically you get a private dinner outside under a canopy. It's absolutely gorgeous. The food they served was good too. Recommend it for a special occasion. We went there for our honeymoon.
The room we stayed in was nice. Nothing over the top, but comfortable. Very clean and inviting.
The service was top notch. They had rose petals and champagne waiting for us in the room since it was our honeymoon. That MAY have also been because we are Marriott Platinum status, so don't necessarily expect it but it was definitely nice and not something we got at SPG properties on the same trip- despite also being Platinum there. Speaking of Marriott platinum, you get some nice perks such as 20% off dining, and 15% off laundry.
The concierge may be the best part about this place. They were super friendly and truly seemed to care about us having the best possible experience. They helped us choose between tours and off property restaurants, and they were spot on when it came to matching us up with things we would like.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RobbCMU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear RobbCMU,

Thank you so much for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

I am delighted to hear about your overall positive experience and specillay hapy to understand that our Concierge Associates took such a great care of you during your stay. I will make sure to share your comments with them, I have no doubt they will be extremely satisfied to hear that. It is also very nice to read that you enjoyed our Romance by design dining experience.

Please accept my apologies for the disturbances while lounging by the pool. We are constantly thinking of new ways to improve the experience to our guests and we are studying how to address that area.

We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort in the future.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We spent a full 7-days at the Marriott Phuket Resort in April '13. Although I read many positive reviews prior to arriving, the location, resort amenities, and guest services provided exceeded my expectations. Our room was spacious and wonderfully maintained. Just out the patio door and a short walk across the meticulously maintained grounds is a stellar beach. I enjoyed the hotel location, although it is a 30 minute drive to Phuket city. Cabs are plentiful and reasonably priced. We ate at many of the resort's restaurants and found the food to be pretty decent, however quite pricey for the area. Try getting out and exploring the local area for excellent food at a fraction of the cost. We especially enjoyed Kin Dee restaurant...a local gem just a 5-minute drive away.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid to try lunch at the little Thai food shack just off the beach...it's cheap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TReichert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2014

Dear TReichert,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

I am very glad to hear that we were able to exceed your expectations and that you enjoyed the Food and Beverage offer at the resort as well as our manicured gardens.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Quick recap - This resort is perfect in virtually every way. When you enter the open air lobby you are greeted by flawlessly friendly, helpful staff and a spectacular view of a huge infinity pool backed up by the Indian Ocean. And it only gets better from their. Highly recommend this place!

Pros -
Several pools, including one with a swim up bar and in pool jacuzzi lounges
Secluded location with massive semi-private beach
Flawless service and staff

Cons -
Having the secluded location means it's a long taxi to get to other parts of the Island (not a con if you just want to relax)
The restaurants are a bit overpriced, but the food in general is excellent

More comments:

We stayed in the ocean front suite and had dinner every night on the private gazebo on our terrace overlooking the Indian Ocean. Magical! If you can afford it, the suite is definitely worth it!

The resort has almost everything you could possibly want including tennis courts with an instructor on site. The grounds are constantly kept immaculate with several swimming pools including one for families. The beach front location offers not only the chance to relax and swim but a variety of water sports as well. The sushi is excellent at the Japanese restaurant and there are a dozen (maybe less :) other restaurants to choose from throughout the massive resort. So unless you wanted to do some excursions, there is no reason to ever leave the resort.

Highly recommend this place!

Room Tip: If you can afford it take the ocean front suite with a massive wrap-around ocean front terrace and p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Seaside_65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oriol M, General Manager at JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Seaside_65,

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at JW Marriott Phuket Resort and Spa.

I am extremely happy to hear you enjoyed our facilities and delighted to read that our Associates took such great care of you.

We look forward to seeing you again when you next visit Phuket for another magical experience in the future.

Best regards,

Oriol Montal
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.8 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
15.2 mi away
COMO Point Yamu
COMO Point Yamu
#1 of 2 in Pa Khlok
1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Phuket Mai Khao Beach Resort
5.9 mi away
Phuket Marriott Resort and Spa, Nai Yang Beach
19.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 338 in Patong
6,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa

Address: 231, Moo 3, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Mai Khao
#1 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#2 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: £110 - £486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 265
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa is set in lush tropical gardens, with 17 kms of natural beachfront. Twenty minutes north of the airport, our Phuket resort's grounds comprise 265 spacious rooms including 13 suites, all facing towards the Andaman Sea. Facilities include eleven restaurants and bars, Thai cooking school, three magnificent pools, full-service Mandara Spa, on-site turtle shelter, shopping arcade, activities-packed kids club including on-site turtle shelter. The fitness center includes two tennis courts, yoga sala. Golf available nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Phuket Resort And Spa
Jw Marriott Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
Jw Marriott Mai Khao
Marriott Phuket
Phuket Marriott
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing