We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sala Phuket what an OUTSTANDING resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Sala Resort is the most awesome, relaxing, magnificent, perfect, peaceful, private, place for a holiday. There are just no words to describe the design, facilities, INCREDIBLE RESTAURANT, gentle beautiful staff, spa, pools, grounds, breakfasts, dinners, lunches and surprisingly enough, entertainment. We had a two bedroom presidential pool villa situated by the pool and restaurant. So convenient and we could only hear the sea. It was extremely peaceful and quiet. The villa is done in cream and beige, very soothing on the eye. The layout of the villa is exceptional. Bath inside and two showers outdoors. What a treat...... I simply adored showering outdoors watching the birds in the garden. So many cool places with all amenities to chill out in your own private garden. STUNNING, AMAZING and truly BLISSFUL.
Love all the extras i.e. organic juices with your evening turn down, beautiful oils that are lit at the same time, soaps, lotions, sarongs, bags and sandals for your use. We had dancing girls one night and a great band who sang all the songs from the 80's to current. The breakfasts are a treat... best crispy bacon, Thai omelettes with morning glory, crispy waffles, mango pancakes, exotic juices and the list goes on. Always a great salad or burger in our own private villa for lunch. Dinner, what's to say? Just no words to describe this food. Three cheers to the chef, I'm now a Thai food addict. Sala and all who work there, we thank you very much. We had the most marvellous time and recommend this resort VERY VERRRRRY HIGHLY. Thank you to the pool man who put out beds and towells for us each day without us even asking, then followed up with delicious iced tea.
Thank you for making our holiday a glorious and comfortable one that will be fondly remembered always.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a two bedroom pool villa, choose the one closest to the ocean. So conveni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Signature mzion, where do we begin thanking you for such an amazingly positive review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. We are so glad you enjoyed your palatial 2 bedroom Presidential Suite with all is grandeur. Our culinary team work especially hard to ensure only the finest ingredients, preparation and presentation go in to everything they do. Sunday night we are proud to present the wonderful PJae Stanley band, she has one amazing voice and we will share your positive praise with her. It is so wonderful to hear you have taken away so many fond memories and thank you for choosing us to spend your holiday. Please let us know when you wish to return and we wish you all the best The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013

Fantastic hotel. Excellent service and atmosphere. We stayed two nights in two bed room pool villa . My family and i spent the time together with the good memory we swam together in the private pool talked and had some food in living room. our villa was so close with restaurant, pool, and beach. My family and i will go it again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Warunee P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Signature Warunee P, thank you for choosing SALA Phuket Resort & Spa for your family holiday away from Bangkok and for reviewing us so positively. Our 2 bedroom pool villa suite is certainly the perfect choice with its wonderful private pool, living room and sea facing right by our award winning restaurant. We shall look forward to your return, please do let us know. The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

I cant recommend this place highly enough!! A beautiful peaceful resort situated within a National Park, Sala is the perfect place to unwind and connect with Thailand's natural beauty. Wonderful staff, design oriented facilities, a great restaurant and wine list make a visit to Sala a must. This is my second visit and will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelbug0z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Signature Travelbug0z, thank you ever so much for returning to us and for writing such a lovely review. We are as you said set in the beautiful Sirinat National Park on Maikhao beach, north Phuket. Our F&B and Kitchen teams take great pride in all aspects of the cuisine and wine list as recognised by the renowned Wine Spectator and receiving their Award for the past 3 years. We look forward to your third visit. Please let us know when you wish to return. All the best The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Recently stayed at Sala and had the best time!! Couldn't have been a better holiday.

There was a slight delay in waiting for our room but the reception staff offered cold water, wrist flowers and a cold face cloth on arrival amazing touch.

The grounds were lovely a very good set up. Each morning many gardeners were sweeping, pruning and tending to the grounds all with a smiling face.

Breakfast ..... WOW! All amazing, lots of choice and super quick service, heart shaped watermelon a lovely touch the pancakes and waffles to die for!!! Wasn't too keen on the bacon but personal choice. The home made yoghurt was my vice I could have drank the stuff just yummy! Lovely views and all friendly staff with a smiling face, cleaning dirty dishes asking if everything was ok. Lovely touch having a daily breakdown of hotel activities, Thai phrases and words to learn a lovely touch.

We booked the 1 bedroom pool villa and couldn't have been happier!!!!! Private pool just the best, outdoor bathroom also lovely, no issues with bugs (turn down service each night lit the mozzie candles) bed very comfy and all facilities as you needed.

Room service menu was large totally spoilt for choice .... Pizzas are a MUST! quick and friendly service food brought right into your room great touch.

Be sure to book in for ribs and beats night ..... I ordered a half rack and a full rack for my partner which was a lot, a full rack for a couple to share would have been ample. Corn/crab starter yummmmmy!!! Chocolate baked lava cake also a must. Food on the expensive side and be sure to take into account the tax and service charges +++.

We hired a driver on two occasions through the hotel which was pricy but well worth it.

Lots of activities arranged by hotel and if there is anything you want to do they can arrange.

Top points:

1. Staff were amazing. Language barrier can be an issue but if you take the time to re- phrase or go over your questions no issues. The staff all remembered you which I loved, each morning knew your room number and always greeted you politely and with a smile!!!!
2. Location. Stunning setting, close to the airport but a bit far from Patong, not an issue for us.
3. Room. If you can book the 1 bedroom pool villa. Hotel pools great but nice to have privacy to skinny dip ;)
4. Spa. Lovely setting and massages fab but a little pricy.
5. Food. No negatives here all great,

We thoroughly had a great time just what we needed.

Thank you to Oh front office staff who bent over backwards to assist with anything we required.

Would recommend Sala to anyone who was looking for a similar get away.

Room Tip: Book a pool villa well worth the extra $$$'s
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ella K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2013

Dear Signature Ella K, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of SALA Phuket Resort & Spa on your stay with us in your one bedroom pool villa suite. We really appreciate you loved our little things heart shaped melon and daily F&B newsletter to name a few. Our Chef & Culinary team really do their utmost to provide fresh locally produced cuisine and we are fortunate with all our staff’s attitude and willingness to provide great Thai hospitality. Indeed our Ribs & Beats night on Wednesdays are highly popular and booking is recommended We will be sure to share all your comments with our SALA team. English can always be an issue when traveling overseas, we do provide our team with English language lessons from our resident native English trainer and thank you for your advice on speaking slowly and rephrasing from time to time. The staff are speaking their second or perhaps third language after all. We’re glad too that you enjoyed our award winning spa and look forward to your return. Please let us know when you wish to return. Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Really loved almost everything in this resort. The pool villa was really private and cozy, I could finish swimming and jump straight into the bathtub that I prepared with the bath salts that comes with... Plus the outdoor shower was simply dazzling. Really felt like I was standing in the open and had a real 'rain shower' experience (you could if it was raining too haha). The shower foams and shampoos were all lemon-grass scented, real relaxing.

The hospitality is top notch; staff were helpful and friendly, even during the rides to Patong and Phuket town they were chatty and offered tourist advice around the areas. With big outdoor areas within the villa, the staff would come in every late afternoon to set up the mosquito coils and the in-room aromatherapy burners to ensure that you start the evening mozzie-free and in the mood! And they even had free DVD rentals so that wife and I could snuggle up and catch a movie before we fall asleep.

And the food!!! OH the FOOD!! The ala-carte buffed breakfast was totally off the charts (honestly, the best Spanish scrambled eggs with chorizo, potatoes, peppers, sour cream and salsa I have ever tasted, and the bread pudding was way awesome). And the rest of the restaurant meals were gorgeous too. Had the kurobuta with mango salsa and I licked everything off the plate.

If you don't want to eat in, or travel far to Patong or Phuket Town, there's this amazing restaurant nearby called Kin Dee. Top notch authentic Thai food, you can either catch a cab to visit or you can just call them to deliver to Sala, they're literally 5 minutes away. Calamari highly recommended! Or just simply rent a bicycle, cycle to Turtle Village (it's beside Anantara and JW Marriott, which is less than 2km away), and there's an English pub, and The Coffee Club (the Aussie joint). Food is well priced and definitely tasty. You can get groceries from Turtle Mart at B1 too, though much more pricey compared to 7-Eleven or Family Mart. I found my Pokka Oolong Tea bottles there, so I ain't complaining!

And if you are a fan of Mt. Sapola goods, the Sala shop sells their soaps at a big discount over the shops outside, so go get them!

Overall, the most relaxing and comfortable trip I have taken in the longest time. Everything was just right. Thanks Sala!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andychoimh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear signature andychoimh, thank you so much for spending your time to write such a positive review on your stay and choosing one of our SALA signature pool villas at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa to celebrate your honeymoon. We are very proud of our staff and we will be sure to share your wonderful comments with them. Our Chefs take their food very seriously and ever effort is made to ensure only the finest ingredients, presentation and taste is achieved. We are glad you made the most of our complimentary bicycles so you could explore the Mai Khao area. We are thoroughly pleased you had such an amazingly relaxing honeymoon and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Please let us know when you do wish to return. Our best regards and we wish you a lifetime of happiness. The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Went there for my honeymoon. The place is not too far from the airport (5-6kms) and hence well away from the maddening rush of Patong beach (where most tourists end up).

We stayed at the garden pool villa and we found it to be great! The private pool is the highlight.

Some may find the breakfast buffet spread as limited but it should not really worry you if you are there for less than a week.

Everything about the resort is great! Service, cleanliness and food are all top notch!

I am really happy that i chose this place for my honeymoon. My wife still fondly remembers our time there.

The beach is amazing for walks and sunet gazing (not condusive for swimming cz it gets deep quickly). The best thing about the beach (8kms) is that you never see more than 5-10 people at anytime during the day. So you can imagine the rest!

Do note that (at least) the garden pool villa has OPEN (but private) toilets within the villa compound. It was not a big deal for us but couples with kids may have an issue!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NuravG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Signature NuravG, 5 out of 5 on all aspects of your stay! Thank you ever so much for such a positive review and for finding the time to share your wonderful experience at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. May we just say congratulations and we are so pleased you choose to spend your honeymoon with us. The beach is certainly amazing and is the longest and most undeveloped in Phuket, quite the perfect place a far cry from that of Patong! We hope to see you again maybe for one of your anniversaries, if so please let us know. All the best and thank you again, we wish you a lifetime of happiness, SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Nice hotel ... A bit far from city but quiet area and romantic place. The hotel overall excellent service especially restaurant and bar team. Lala (couldn't remember her name) provided good service with smile and helpful. The pool villa was so romantic too.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tum N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2013

Dear Signature Tum N, we are so very pleased you had such an enjoyable and romantic stay with us at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa in your pool villa. Thank you so much for your review and please let us know when you'd like to return in the future. Best regards SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
720 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,008 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Address: 333, Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: £112 - £555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort And Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing