We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
US$419
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$145
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$287
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$83
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$205
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mai Khao Beach Bungalows(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa(Mai Khao)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$369
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$289
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$377
Marriott
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,795)
Filter reviews
1,795 results
Traveller rating
1,240
382
119
30
24
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,240
382
119
30
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoutdoor bathroomgarden pool villabalcony roomour honeymooniced tearibsturn down serviceday bedhead chefsun loungersevery eveningbeach bagmai khao beachturtle villagethai dishesheaven on earthbeach front
Filter
Updating list...
892 - 897 of 1,795 reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Modern hotel which attracts a mix of age groups. The villas are modern, very private with outdoor bathroom and rain shower. The pool is perfect to relax during the day and the sofas in the bar are a top spot for sunset. The beach is amazing, it stretches for miles in both directions and is practically deserted. There are plenty of small local restaurants/bars if you like to eat out.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Signature Chris S, thank you for your wondrous review of your stay at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. It’s so pleasing to read that you both enjoyed the peace and tranquility so much of our idealic setting on Phuket’s longest and most unspoilt beach. Thank you again and we shall look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future. The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2013

I recently had business in Phuket and took my team for a couple of nights of work and R&R. The pool villas were magically private - too bad there wasn't time for more relaxation - and the staff efficient and friendly. Entertained one afternoon and was pleased with the not-in-your-face laid back service attending to our every need.

Highly recommend this hotel for couples seeking privacy.

Room Tip: Choose any SALA Pool Villa
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michaelshoward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2013

Dear Michael, thank you ever so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa. We are so pleased we managed to assist you to relax and enjoy your business trip. We look forward to welcoming you both back in the near future. Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Just returned from a 1 week stay at the Sala Phuket. 5 adults & 2 young toddlers (both 20 months old). Stayed in 2 bedroom pool villa during mid November. My wife & I are discerning travellers – ok, ok, we can be tough, demanding customers. We’re willing to pay the $$$ but expect proper execution & goods in return or we will let it be known.

Weather was perfect for us (oh, how your definition changes when you travel w/ kids!!) for the majority of our stay – 32 degrees, partially sunny/cloudy (which was great for the kids), breezy. Rained non-stop on our last full day. As the resort has no real indoor facilities for kids, you are screwed if it rains a lot.

Accom: 2 bedroom pool villa (there are 3-4 that all sit closest to the beach & pool). There is also a separate living room (where we had the kids sleep in cots provided by the resort - ok quality tho flimsy sponge-like mattress). Room was nicely decorated & stocked. Ok sized but feels small as the bathroom is completely outside – the room itself probably measures 30 sq ft. The outside bathroom is form over function – the concept sounds cool in theory but when you need to get ready for dinner or use the toilet at night, the mozzies, frogs & geckos rule. My wife hated the bathroom - "I prefer to shower w/out frogs joining me".

The real problem was the danger of walking around the pool area in the villa – a warning often repeated on Tripadvisor. The surrounding tiles / walking area were incredibly dangerous once they get a little wet, be it from rain (even a little) or just splashing from the pool . As the walking area was so narrow, we ended up not using the villa pool as it would cause a deathtrap once water landed on the tile. The danger was multiplied with kids who could walk/run & act like drunken hobbits. I’m surprised nobody has cracked their head yet. This danger caused a lot of grief for the adults. A couple of the adults slipped.

Service/Staff: Hit or miss. The supervisors (they wear purple outfits) were generally very good & had better English. The regular rank & file (usually in white) were inconsistent. We often had to repeat our orders or requests (for anything) 5-6x & even then, we were never sure if we would actually get our actual order/request. Food or beverage orders were often forgotten or brought in duplicate – I lost count of the number of times I received an extra or wrong order of watermelon or mango juice or beer (I simply stopped trying to explain or return the item after day 2).

Was also told inconsistent information by the staff all the time. Re the tuk tuk service to Turtle Village – we had 5 staff members each tell us different things re whether it was running that evening or not. We just took a local taxi (for 100 baht) since we couldn’t rely on the staff for the accurate information. Re Ribs Night – some staff told us it had been moved to Friday Night yet other staff said it was on the usual Wednesday. Again, we booked alternative dinner arrangements (off the resort) because we had no idea who to believe.

But there were also some stellar performers. Mr. Leo, the supervisor at the breakfast service, was excellent – not only did he not forget orders/requests but he remembered preferences & requirements (he was by far the best member of staff at the resort). Ms. Mon & Mr. Au were also impressive. These guys were all great re our bespoke orders or requirements for our kids' meals as 1 example

Cleaning staff were punctual (2x/day). Came at the time we requested at check in day.

F&B: Good. Quality, taste & presentation were high. Grilled/market fish cost around 800 baht (US$25). Similar prices as neighbouring hotels (we ate at the Renaissance & Anantara too) – we were averaging 4,000-4,500 baht for 4 adults at the hotel restaurants (no wine but a couple of beers). We didn’t do any of the theme nights. Enjoyed the Renaissance Thai restaurant & Kin Dee restaurant the most - the latter was also great value (for the food) at 3,000 baht for 4 adults w/ & too much food (tho the additional 600 taxi service makes it pretty much equivalent to the hotel prices at the end of the day). Also ate at 1 of local barebones restaurants very close to the Sala beach (2 min walk) – Nam Mai or something like that (which is the 1st restaurant of a group of 5-6). It was cheap (relative to above) but not as tasty. It was ok only (Kin Dee was far above). Skip Anantara's Sea.Fire.Salt - overpriced & mediocre western (meats & seafood) food. It wasn't bad by any means. Just damn pricey for what you got.

Be careful re your happy hr bill - every day we would go for happy hr & an early dinner & each time they would forget to take off the happy hr discount of our drinks on the bill. Check your bill.

Facilities: Gym is small – any more than 3 people in the gym at the same time made it very tight. Old equipment. If you are serious gym user, you won’t like. Spa was hit & miss. Wife liked it. I was less impressed as they kept doing the opposite of what i requested for some reason - close the door so they open the door to let the mosquitoes in (night massage), turn on the fan so they turn off the fan, etc.

Resort pools (2) are nice. Although the resort was pretty full, you could always get a pool chair. Beach was long & slopey. Waves too strong to swim in w/ kids (red flags) tho lots of pple were going in the water.

We checked out the rooms & facilities at the Renaissance & Anantara – the former’s 1 & 3 bedroom pool villas looked nice tho smaller; latter less modern & more “teaky” & “jungly” (my wife & I both commented that the Anantara would be mozzie heaven & we couldn’t go there with our kids).

Clientele/Ambience: Mix of Europeans & Asians. Surprised that there weren’t more mainlanders & by the high number of Russian guests. By far, the Russians were the majority clientele (I think this is the case in all of Phuket nowadays judging by the airport departure lounge). Educated & well-travelled clientele at Sala as opposed to the velvet jogging pants-wearing, gold necklace-&-bracelot-adorned Essex/Jersey/Oshawa/St. Petersburg crowd (let me stereotype, it's my review!!) who probably prefer the Kata resorts.

In light of the poor English of the staff, I kept wondering how the Russians (as it seemed their English, in general, wasn't great either) could communicate with the staff. Any question or request that was outside the box or not straightforward was a challenge to staff coming from a fluent English speaker such as myself. If you’re English was not strong, you would have trouble I kept thinking. ie. 1 Russian family was trying to explain to the restaurant staff that their baby had serious allergies to dairy products in broken English (it took me a few minutes to put it together). The staff were clearly not understanding as their dishes had to be returned as the parents found dairy in them!!

Costs: I know it’s Thailand but relative to its direct competitors in the same area, the Sala was reasonably priced. You're at a 5 star resort. It is not the Holiday Inn Express. Know where you're going before you complain about the prices.

Conclusion: Really liked it. Recommend to couples or family w/ babies under 1 yrs old (ie. can’t walk/run yet) but not for families with toddlers due to the walking deathtrap issue around the villa pool.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank horatiojml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2013

Dear Signature horatiojml, thank you for your extensive review and for choosing to spend your family holiday at SALA Phuket Resort & Spa in one of our 2 bedroom pool villa suites. Thank you for your many suggestive comments, we as a team have discussed and we'll try our utmost to improve on and eradicate as best we can. All our guest contact staff learn English as part of their working schedule every week with our in-house native British training manager. We take our language training very seriously and understand the importance and the challenges with accents, listening skills, confidence and cultural restraints. We train constantly throughout the year and this will continue as we strive to constantly improve on this key area, though appreciate the frustration you must’ve felt. Thank you for singling out some of our SALA stars and we have passed your kind compliments on to them as well as our culinary team too. Thank you again for your frank and honest review with areas for us to improve on and we do hope to see you return in the future to compare. Our best regards The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We stayed at Sala Phuket in November 2013 and had an amazing time. The staff and service was 5 star! They were always willing to assist and assure the guests comfort before anything. The Sala Pool Room was beautiful and we had everything at our finger tips! The room was cleaned daily and even after the turn down service it felt as though they had cleaned the room again! Such an awesome welcome and staff were so knowledgable and friendly. They remember your name and room number and even provide a quick lesson in learning how to speak Thai at the bar. A shuttle service is available for day trips and even night trips to Pa Tong beach. Extra costs not included in the room rate were expensive compared to other places in Phuket however worth it completely for the service. A fantastic experience and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BecHau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Signature BecHau, thank you ever so much for such a wondrous review of your stay in one of our Signature SALA pool villas. It’s so lovely to read you had such an amazing time and was so impressed with our service excellence. It certainly sounds like you left us with many fond memories. We shall look forward to you returning. Our very best wishes The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

After the commotion I lived it in Bangkok four days, here we are after one hour and 10 minutes flight with a rental car from the airport to the hotel, the romantic getaway lived in Phuket -Hotel Sala . The hotel consists of luxury villas with their own pool and living area , bathroom , outdoor shower . The design of the hotel is very modern and minimalist . Everything in this place is five stars. All the details that you did not think this was taken into account : from bathroom slippers , sun hat , beach mattress , toothpaste, toothbrushes, shower gel, body cream in large quantities, bar room equipped with everything you need , great staff , excellent services. Service table of our choice was full pension because they are charged high prices in the hotel.

The beach is very clean and wild indoor area without sunbeds, but carefully water currents are very strong .

The downside is that I was not informed that the hotel is located very far( the Mai Khao Beach) , once we have found quite far from Patong ( 45 minutes by car) prices a little steep on the Service but the hotel was kept expected.

I resorted to renting a car to travel 1,100 baht / day plus a fuel supply worth 50 Bachte . Very convenient compared to vanul hotel which were conditioned in the range of 17.30-22.30 hours for visiting Patong and the price was 1,400 baht / 2 persons .

The experience was unique to right-hand drive car rental into an hellish and chaotic traffic

I bought two tours in Patong , Phi Phi island one and one on the island of James Bond in 5200 baht price from the prices offered by the hotel worth bach 11000 . Agencies can use with confidence on the street are fair and comply with the time that is announced at the hotel.

Chaos in Bangkok which is also found in Patog , nightclubs , bars , parties on the beach. Perfect destination for shopping enthusiasts is Jungceylon Shopping Center mall .

I recommend the hotel to those who want to spend a romantic and peaceful stay for those restless and eager to recommend the move Kata Beach ...

Pleasant vacation all ...

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aalina00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SLP_Manager, Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2013

Dear Signature aalina00, it’s so wonderful to read you had such a memorable stay in one of our Signature SALA pool villas and that you enjoyed all our amenities and facilities. We are certainly a long way from the hustle and bustle of the south and Patong and a haven for peace and tranquility. We do hope you will return in the future. All the best The SALA Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews