We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great finish to honeymoon...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Mai Khao
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

After 2 weeks of experiencing 'big cities', my wife and I were in need of some pampering and relaxation on the last 6 nights of our honeymoon. Sala Phuket certainly did not disappoint.

We had booked a Deluxe Balcony room, but were upgraded to a pool villa on arrival to Sala, which was a lovely touch. The chap that checked us in had 'Trainee' as his name badge...either an unfortunate name for someone in a hotel or, if he was in fact a Trainee member of staff his 'meet and greet' was exceptional. We received the flower bracelets, the iced tea while we checked in and were then escorted to our Villa, which had a bath full of rose petals and two hearts shaped out on the bed. Even being an alpha male I thought that was a nice touch...

The young lad also returned 5 minutes after leaving us with a bunch of flowers for my wife, and on return from the poolside bar that night (we arrived at Sala circa 20:00...) after a couple of cocktails to settle us in there was a bottle of fizz and some chocolates waiting for us in the room.

We were asked what time we wanted the cleaners to come in, we never saw them (in a good way) during our stay, and our room was always was spotless. The turn down service in the evening was very nice, especially enjoyed the fruit drinks that were left.

We were booked into the spa for a 60 minute Thai Massage, the sort of torture that although feels like one of the worst beatings you've ever had, is surprisingly relaxing and satisfying.

The food in the restaurant was superb, I've seen previous reviews about it not being 'cheap', well I cant say I would want to pay for cheap food in a resort like Sala, the quality of the food (we also met the Chef on NYE after he came and introduced himself as we standing by the bar enjoying cocktails and tapas, top guy...) was top drawer. Was the service fast? Not really. Do you want fast service on holiday or do you want to relax? Exactly. The only night that the service could have been a bit sharper was New Years Day, however this happened to fall on the very busy 'rib night', and to be honest if the staff were as hungover as some of the guests were after NYE then I don't blame them for being a bit slower than usual...

NYE was a great night, cocktails and tapas by the pool bar, superb food menu including Lobster and Wagyu Beef Cheeks washed down with some lovely wine, then down to the beach side for more cocktails from the ice bar and finished with some great fireworks.

We booked a trip to Ko Phi Phi which was great fun, and all in all were gutted to leave Sala. It's far away from Patong, thank god, if you really must go then you wont mind travelling a bit, if you don't get to go then go to Blackpool, apparently it's very similar. The only time we really ventured outside of Sala was when we took the bikes to Turtle Village, not much to see but worth a visit to Bill Bentley's for a 'pint'.

All in all, our experience was fantastic, would we go back? Not sure, it might not live up to our experience, but would recommend to friends/family without hesitation.

Room Tip: If you can go for a private pool villa...do it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SB161113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Signature SB161113 London, UK.Thank you both for your positive review and constructive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the resort, location and guest facilities and of course our NYE party held on the 31st of December at the resort. We are fortunate to have Jan our Executive Chef and EAM who is extremely passionate about his cuisine and guest experience along with such a positive team of employees, We look forward to welcoming you or any of your family and friends as you have mentioned back to SALA in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,631)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

741 - 747 of 1,631 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

A good place to stay when comparing what else is on offer hotel wise but service very hit and miss, happy hour, you were happy to get a drink half the time! Could wait up to 50 mins to get lunch even when the restaurant was empty. New Years Eve air con wasn't working. Someone came to fix it, 10 mins later not working again, was offered change of villa, whole process took 2 hrs out of our day, had to pack up and move, not much in the way of an apology or offered even a comp drink for inconvenience. On check out was presented with the full bill again even though we had paid already for what we had so far that morning. Staff as lovely and friendly really do not work well as team,what hurts as well is the 10 per cent service charge on everything,don't mind paying that if the service is there.....sorry Sala feel a bit let down for money paid and money spent.Probably will not be returning.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank adele186411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Signature adele 186411, Leeds, UK. Firstly thank you for your review and our sincere apologies on your service experience in the bar and front office. We have reviewed your feedback with our dept managers after you posted it on the 8th January so we can try to rectify these issues and improve on our guest service delivery in the future. Again our sincere apologies and we do hope you will reconsider returning to SALA and Phuket in the not too distant future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This is my first time writing a review. I felt I had to because Sala made our vacation so special and people need to know about this amazing hotel. From the moment you step into the Sala Reception area, you know that you're for a treat!
Our villa was beautiful, we very much enjoyed the private pool and the outdoor bathroom was so special. We lived outside for 4 days!
What made our vacation at Sala so stress-free and enjoyable is that the Chef customized all the meals of my child who suffers from lots of food allergies! she ate so well and the food was still so tasty! she was so well taken care!
The Sala staff was very friendly and very accommodating. I would and will easily recommend this hotel to anybody looking for a peaceful vacation! Thank you Sala for making our vacation so unforgettable!!

Room Tip: For 2 adults and 3 children (9, 7 and 6 yo), we booked the 1-bdrm pool villa and were comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyonfr2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Signature Lyonfr2, Hong Kong, China. Thank you and your family for such a positive review and constructive feedback, we are glad you enjoyed the resort, location and guest facilities and we managed to cater to all of your childs needs. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I've stayed in some great hotels before.
But I must say this was the concept and ideal of the perfect way to treat a guest.
The hotel it's stunning,a beautiful and easy design, tho a bi far from the city centre, so perfect if you're looking to get away from the world.
The most important point for me was the staff! An absolutely and incredible service from the moment we checked in, to the moment we left we were treated as Royalty!
I remember a gentleman called POP and another lady which I dont really remember her name but she was absolutely lovely booking all my tours and making me feel so special every day.
I would definitely come back! And will certainly recommend this to all my friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josias S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Signature Josias S, London, UK. Thank you for your review and constructive feedback during your recent visit. We are so glad you enjoyed the resort, and guest facilities and most importantly our staff and guest services. We will ensure to share all of your positive points with our staff and copy Khun Pop our newly appointed GRO (Guest Relation Officer) in on your response. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We stayed in a 2 bedroom suite and the location was perfect, right by the main pool and restaurant. Loved the villa - especially huge bathrooms, pool and lounge chairs. Rooms were clean and comfortable bed. Very pleased with the resort overall and staff was very friendly. This resort if perfect if you are looking for a quiet, tranquill, spa like environment. We had an amazing time - can't wait to return again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Signature Sandra H, New York City, NY. Thank you all very much for choosing SALA for your visit and taking the time to complete your review. We are really glad you enjoyed your private 2 bedroom pool villa suite and all of the resort facilities. Please do let us know if we can assist in the future if you are considering to return to the friendly shores of Phuket and SALA Resorts. Sincerely, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Thank heavens and great good luck that we find ourselves back at one of my favourite hotels in the world. Such a lovely welcome from the staff. All the notes for us hit perfectly here, and also with a lovely tiny gym - Hello Hotel de la PAix - Please....?

Room Tip: Talk to management direct - all so helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrietRobinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Signature Harriel Robinson, London UK. Thank you very much for your review and feedback, we are all so glad you enjoyed the resort and its guest facilities, We do hope to see you both again and look forward to welcoming you back to SALA and the friendly shores of Phuket in the near future. Regards, Jon Ashenden General Manager SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Beautifully designed modern resort (might be a bit too clinical for those looking for traditional Thailand style resort)
Not suitable for families and much more suited to young, trendy couples
Fabulous Spa --- must have a massage to experience the incredible ambience of this spa.
Excellent food in restaurant for both lunch and dinner !
Very helpful staff
Pool villas very comfortable although after staying at the Anantara Phuket Villas next door, we found the actual rooms to be quite small in comparison.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank markslk250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SALA_General_Manager, General Manager at SALA Phuket Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2014

Dear Signature markSLK London, UK, thank you for your encouraging review we are pleased you enjoyed the resort's award winning design and facilities. Our SALA Spa as you pointed out also has won a number of awards for design, providing guests with the infamous Clarins product across all of our treatments. I will ensure the Executive Chef Jan Hollister is complimented on his menu and food offerings you indulged in during your visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the friendly shores of Phuket and SALA in the near future. Our best wishes and a healthy and prosperous New Year 2014, The SALA Management.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mai Khao
0.2 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
9.3 mi away
The Pavilions Phuket
The Pavilions Phuket
#4 of 36 in Choeng Thale
724 reviews
6.7 mi away
Pullman Phuket Arcadia Naithon Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Phuket Resort & Spa
18.8 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 329 in Patong
6,016 reviews
2.5 mi away
Anantara Mai Khao Phuket Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SALA Phuket Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SALA Phuket Resort and Spa

Address: 333, Moo 3 | Mai Khao Beach, Mai Khao, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Mai Khao
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mai Khao
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Business Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Luxury Hotel in Mai Khao
#5 Spa Hotel in Mai Khao
#8 Family Hotel in Mai Khao
Price Range: £108 - £563 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — SALA Phuket Resort and Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is a stunning deluxe pool villa resort, featuring private swimming pools in 63 out of 79 rooms, villas, and suites. SALA Phuket boutique resort is an impressive compliment to its popular sister property, SALA Samui. SALA Phuket combines rare historical Sino - Portuguese architecture with modern 5-star facilities. Located on pristine Mai Khao beach on Phuket's northwest shoreline, SALA Phuket Resort and Spa is just 20 minutes from Phuket International Airport. The famous Blue Canyon Golf Course is a short distance from SALA Phuket and the picturesque Phang Nga Bay is located just 25 minutes away. SALA Phuket is the ideal location for a Phuket wedding and honeymoon with its vast and private pristine golden sand beach and lush beach side lawn surrounded by a coconut tree plantation swaying in the wind. In addition to friendly, professional and personalized service, SALA Phuket luxury resort offers facilities including:- 3 large beachfront swimming pools, world class international beachfront restaurant and bar with an air-conditioned dining option, Award winning SALA Spa, full equipped gym, steam rooms & salon, complimentary wi-fi internet connection throughout the entire resort, gift shop, business traveler services, entertainment and theme nights, nightly villa turn down service, In-Villa dining, miles of untouched beach front, the longest and least developed in Phuket, an array of local activities and excursions are available. Weddings at SALA Phuket, marriage is an occasion that should be cherished always. A variety of locations for your ceremony are available, from golden sand beach stretches, lush green lawn expanses or an intimate sunset rooftop vantage. Our personal and intuitive staff will ensure your special occasion receives the attention it deserves. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your SALA Phuket Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sala Phuket Mai Khao
Sala Phuket Hotel Mai Khao
SALA Phuket Resort And Spa Mai Khao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing