We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great relaxed base for an active family holiday”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Pointe Du Hock

Character Farmhouse dating back to the mid 1800s, used as a Bistro/Cinema until the early 60s.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Character Farmhouse dating back to the mid 1800s, used as a Bistro/Cinema until the early 60s.
Enjoy the garden in full bloom! Cocktail by the pool...?
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
Character Farmhouse dating back to the mid 1800s, used as a Bistro/Cinema until the early 60s.
Enjoy the garden in full bloom!
Cocktail by the pool...?
Enjoy freshly grown organic veg from the garden!
Fresh free range eggs for breakfast?
Watch the ducks swimming and frolicking in the pond...
Enjoy spectacular sunsets...
Enjoy the tranquility of the organic vegetable garden
Be sure to visit Eymoutiers and take advantage of the great local businesses...
La Vienne
Charming Treignac
Chateauneuf la Foret, just 5km away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Eymoutiers, Haute-Vienne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
PiersT21
1 review
“A great relaxed base for an active family holiday”
Reviewed 4 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The house is set in an idyllic spot overlooking this beautiful part of the French countryside and has a lot of space for the parents to relax while the kids explore. The areas of the large garden and pool all offer a little something different.
The supermarket is a short 10 minute drive away, as is the nearest lakeside beach.
And of course it would be wrong not to give credit to our excellent hosts and the dogs.
Thanks for a great stay, hope to be back soon.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bill C
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Perfection...........”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

As a family of 6, 2 adults 4 kids ranging from 4 to 13 we were looking for a something that would tick as many boxes as possible. Seclusion, pool, biking, kayaking, relaxing....What we found was a truly beautiful, tranquil place in a secluded stunning area.
Dave, Mo are fantastic hosts and along with their family offer the perfect family get away. The hard work they are all putting into the land to eventually live self sufficiently is an inspiration.
I cannot compliment Point Du Hock enough - especially after our van had to be repatriated to the UK due to mechanical failure - just wish we were all still there with the van and not back here in the UK !
Thanks guys so much for making it our best holiday ever - we will return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Delightful comments from delightful guests who entered into the spirit of Pointe du Hock.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon D
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Relaxing house and garden”
Reviewed 25 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We've stayed at pointe du hock for one week in august with 4 small children. It was a very relaxing time. The house is beautiful, almost picturesque. It's an old house, but it has al the modern equipment. Very good beds also. The best part is the garden. Its more a little farm, with chickens and sheep. Also a nice swimming pool and lots of places you can sit and relax to see the sunset or the animals and flowers. The owners have a goal to be all self supporting off their own land. They grow their own food in the 'food-forest'. They can tell you all about their sustainable living.Very inspiring!
The surrounding is very green, with forest and meadow. Also some lakes within a 30min drive. Their is not much to do in the villages around this place, but if you like tranquility or you like outdoor sports (like cycling, hiking or canoeing) you are at the right place. (especially round lac de vassiviere).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Sep 2016
Very welcome visitors. Eymoutiers now has a a new creperie and two good restaurants.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dave P
Bridgwater, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The perfect French getaway experience”
Reviewed 4 January 2015 for a stay in August 2014

This family run property had everything that we wanted in a French experience holiday. The owners, Dave and Mo were brilliant hosts and explained the area comprehensively to us so enabling us to get the most out of our stay. It was also quite unique to see the way in which they and their family are attempting to live a fully sustainable lifestyle which was shown to us by Ben, Dave and Mo's son, and his enthusiasm was infectious, so much so that immediately on our return we also tried our hand at keeping poultry (without Ben's professional ability I might add!) We enjoyed the holiday so much that we have booked for 2015 already!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The experienced company of the owners
Liked least: The fact that we couldn't stay for a month
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen E
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Thoroughly enjoyable holiday”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in September 2014

The property stands in an amazing location and has beautiful views of the country side, the accommodation was homely and the decor and furnishings were well in keeping with the rustic feel of the property.The hospitality was second to none,such lovely people!
Weather was hot, so spent days outside either in the garden or in the pool. Played tennis in nearby courts and went swimming in the beautiful lakes,always plenty to do and see.
Beautiful walks on your doorstep.
Ate wonderful food as was able to pick fresh produce from the garden every day.
The property is in easy reach of shops, pubs and restaurants.
Would absolutely recommend a holiday in this property, will definitely be going back!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing