We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old fashioned but great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostellerie Le Fenelon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carennac
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 July 2014

If you are a fan of old fashioned French provincial style, then this is the hotel for you. The rooms are firmly located in the 1970's/1980's with avocado bathrooms and dated fabrics, but our room was immaculately clean. Add to that its location in the village, its pool and friendly service and you have amazing value for money. Having wandered around the village, we also decided to eat in the restaurant. We chose to be outside on the terrace and enjoyed a delicious meal. Again good value. The surroundings were comfortable, there were other diners and a really pleasant ambiance. Better than other more expensive places we have stayed in elsewhere in France.
The only downside could be in much warmer weather - it was cool when we stayed- some rooms might get rather hot, so perhaps might be worth asking for a river view.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary-Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Hostellerie Le Fenelon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have a house near here, well about 40 mins drive, and discovered this pearl by chance on a drive down the route of the Dordogne.
We always go here on every visit to the house and have never been disappointed, the cousins is based on local fresh produce and cooked to perfection. I won't bore you with the menu but pâté, soups of the day limousine beef, lapin, all finished with home made ice cream all are the staple offerings on the fixed price sections which are great value at 40 Euro.
This is not a flash hotel but traditionally furnished with windows which open out to a stunning view which looks down onto the Dordogne, quite an amazing location in a 15th-16th century historic village.
Stay in the hotel and you can use the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Book a table near the windows overlooking the dordogne
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stingclive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have rented a lovely house near Lubressac in the Lot for 5 weeks and loads of friends are visiting. We eat out about 3 times a week so now know the local culinary scene quite well. In our experience most restaurants are OK, one or two are very good (we most like theRelais des Gourmand in Gramat) and few are awful. The Fenelon has proved both good and utterly awful. We were 5 on our first visit and all had a delicious meal. A week later 8 of us returned and, at our recommendation, most had the pot of crayfish and shellfish in a rich creamy broth and the double lamb chop . They were no longer delicious, they were horrid, everyone was unanimous in this view. The desserts were mainly sugar and aerosol cream. Only the cheese board was good. Do not risk it! When it is good it may be very very good but when it is bad it is truly horrid.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FoggMurphys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This 2 star family run hotel offers basic but comfortable and immaculately clean rooms that are good value for money. We stayed for one night whilst visiting local Dordogne attractions such as Rocamadour and the Gouffre de Padirac, although the village of Carennac is worth a visit in its own right, being one of the most attractive villages in this part of the Dordogne valley.Our room had a river view and we enjoyed an excellent evening meal in the hotel restaurant. Happy to recommend this hotel if you want a good value value stay in a beautiful part of France. On the down side we noted no air conditioning so a stay in high summer may be less comfortable if you are not keen on the heat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view which will also mean that you are away from the road (although t...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanHBournemouthUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed 4 days during the heat wave of early August. The staff were friendly and accommodating (e.g., need to extend by a night). The town of Carrenac is tres jolie. The pool is great. We found the food at the restaurant terrific. Beware, there's no air conditioning and there's no WiFi, just a single ethernet cable. The old town is lovely and so are the newer bits. I hope to return.

If you want to see cave art, make a reservation. We loved La Forêt des Singes (Barbary Macaques sanctuary).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

When you've been walking in the heat of August, it's nice to arrive at this little hotel and cool off in the pool. That was our experience. Located in the village of Carennac, beside the river, the hotel provides all you want: a good meal, a comfortable room and good service. It's worth walking round the old town, which has lots of picturesque buildings and views. But best of all, there's the piscine!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

Since the change of ownership this hotel's restaurant is no longer excellent. We ate here on Mother's day, french one, a year or two ago, both dining rooms were packed out, with a super menu well cooked and served. Today, Mother's day again, only the smaller dining room was open, there was no atmosphere and only elderly people, no children out with their mother, young or old. No special menu was offered, the service was not friendly, when the food arrived it was overcooked and the time between courses was too long, even for a french restaurant. With the number of covers being served, this should have been an opportunity to excel.
So no longer good value, better value can be found in one of the many other restaurants in the village.
Such a pity that this once excellent hotel has lost its way, and apparently most of its clientele.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank EuroTravler69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carennac
17.0 mi away
Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau
13.8 mi away
Hotel Victor Hugo
Hotel Victor Hugo
#1 of 4 in Saint-Cere
173 reviews
15.3 mi away
Auberge de la Fontaine
Auberge de la Fontaine
#1 of 1 in Autoire
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.5 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
417 reviews
26.4 mi away
Relais Sainte-Anne
Relais Sainte-Anne
#1 of 2 in Martel
150 reviews
15.4 mi away
Le Relais des Gourmands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostellerie Le Fenelon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Fenelon

Address: Lieu Dit le Bourg, 46110 Carennac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Carennac
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carennac
Price Range: £48 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie Le Fenelon 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hostellerie Le Fenelon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing