We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms need a refresh to meet modern standards and expectations and value.”

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostellerie Le Fenelon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carennac
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Rooms need a refresh to meet modern standards and expectations and value.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Our room at this establishment was dimly lit and basic. Apart from the bed, there were two wooden chairs and a small table. Bedside lamps featured lace crochet lampshades. The bathroom was also basic. Tv and wifi are available.
Carennac is so small that any location is central.
We didn't use the pool and restaurant so can't comment but they looked good.

I'm a fan of well preserved stylish 1970s or 1980s decor, but this paticular hotel needs a general refresh, because the prices currently do not offer value compared with other similar places.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian L, Propriétaire at Hostellerie Le Fenelon, responded to this review, 3 September 2015
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Nous sommes désolés que vous n'ayez pas apprécié votre chambre; si vous nous l'aviez dit dès votre arrivée, nous aurions pu vous en proposer une plus en adéquation avec vos goûts, puisqu'elles sont toutes différentes. Il me parait cependant normal que les plus économiques soient aussi les plus simples, bien que les équipements de base (literie, sanitaires, tété écran plat, WI-FI) soient tout aussi fonctionnels et de qualité.
Vous publiez une photo sensée montrer une chambre vieillotte, soit. Personnellement, j'y vois surtout la photo d'une chambre occupée par un client qui n'a pas un comportement respectueux: couvre-lit roulé en boule et jeté par terre (alors qu'il y a une grande armoire), bouteille de vin ne provenant pas de notre restaurant sur la table etc.
Cordialement,
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    53
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
30
56
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Montcaret, France
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

If you are a fan of old fashioned French provincial style, then this is the hotel for you. The rooms are firmly located in the 1970's/1980's with avocado bathrooms and dated fabrics, but our room was immaculately clean. Add to that its location in the village, its pool and friendly service and you have amazing value for money. Having wandered around the village, we also decided to eat in the restaurant. We chose to be outside on the terrace and enjoyed a delicious meal. Again good value. The surroundings were comfortable, there were other diners and a really pleasant ambiance. Better than other more expensive places we have stayed in elsewhere in France.
The only downside could be in much warmer weather - it was cool when we stayed- some rooms might get rather hot, so perhaps might be worth asking for a river view.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We have a house near here, well about 40 mins drive, and discovered this pearl by chance on a drive down the route of the Dordogne.
We always go here on every visit to the house and have never been disappointed, the cousins is based on local fresh produce and cooked to perfection. I won't bore you with the menu but pâté, soups of the day limousine beef, lapin, all finished with home made ice cream all are the staple offerings on the fixed price sections which are great value at 40 Euro.
This is not a flash hotel but traditionally furnished with windows which open out to a stunning view which looks down onto the Dordogne, quite an amazing location in a 15th-16th century historic village.
Stay in the hotel and you can use the swimming pool.

Room Tip: Book a table near the windows overlooking the dordogne
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
281 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 563 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We have rented a lovely house near Lubressac in the Lot for 5 weeks and loads of friends are visiting. We eat out about 3 times a week so now know the local culinary scene quite well. In our experience most restaurants are OK, one or two are very good (we most like theRelais des Gourmand in Gramat) and few are awful. The Fenelon has proved both good and utterly awful. We were 5 on our first visit and all had a delicious meal. A week later 8 of us returned and, at our recommendation, most had the pot of crayfish and shellfish in a rich creamy broth and the double lamb chop . They were no longer delicious, they were horrid, everyone was unanimous in this view. The desserts were mainly sugar and aerosol cream. Only the cheese board was good. Do not risk it! When it is good it may be very very good but when it is bad it is truly horrid.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth U K
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This 2 star family run hotel offers basic but comfortable and immaculately clean rooms that are good value for money. We stayed for one night whilst visiting local Dordogne attractions such as Rocamadour and the Gouffre de Padirac, although the village of Carennac is worth a visit in its own right, being one of the most attractive villages in this part of the Dordogne valley.Our room had a river view and we enjoyed an excellent evening meal in the hotel restaurant. Happy to recommend this hotel if you want a good value value stay in a beautiful part of France. On the down side we noted no air conditioning so a stay in high summer may be less comfortable if you are not keen on the heat.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a river view which will also mean that you are away from the road (although t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We stayed 4 days during the heat wave of early August. The staff were friendly and accommodating (e.g., need to extend by a night). The town of Carrenac is tres jolie. The pool is great. We found the food at the restaurant terrific. Beware, there's no air conditioning and there's no WiFi, just a single ethernet cable. The old town is lovely and so are the newer bits. I hope to return.

If you want to see cave art, make a reservation. We loved La Forêt des Singes (Barbary Macaques sanctuary).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

When you've been walking in the heat of August, it's nice to arrive at this little hotel and cool off in the pool. That was our experience. Located in the village of Carennac, beside the river, the hotel provides all you want: a good meal, a comfortable room and good service. It's worth walking round the old town, which has lots of picturesque buildings and views. But best of all, there's the piscine!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carennac
4.5 mi away
Inter-Hotel le Relais de Castelnau
6.5 mi away
Le Relais de Vellinus Logis
Le Relais de Vellinus Logis
#3 of 5 in Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne
83 reviews
8.9 mi away
Hotel Victor Hugo
Hotel Victor Hugo
#1 of 4 in Saint-Cere
160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Relais Sainte-Anne
Relais Sainte-Anne
#1 of 2 in Martel
145 reviews
6.6 mi away
Le Beaulieu
Le Beaulieu
#4 of 5 in Beaulieu-sur-Dordogne
46 reviews
8.8 mi away
Le Troubadour
Le Troubadour
#1 of 17 in Rocamadour
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Hostellerie Le Fenelon

Property: Hostellerie Le Fenelon
Address: Lieu Dit le Bourg, 46110 Carennac, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Lot > Carennac
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carennac
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hostellerie Le Fenelon 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hostellerie Le Fenelon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing