We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great rooms and location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Ranked #16 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great rooms and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We went to Courtyard by Marriott at Surin Beach in February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We travelled with our two children (aged 2 and 4) and my parents. We had a one bedroom unit with a connecting deluxe room for my parents, it was a great layout. The kids beds were setup in the lounge, it was a single bed with another single trundle bed on the bottom - it was perfect. The rooms are very modern, very clean, lovely linen and a nice little balcony. It also has a medium sized fridge so if you planned to stay longer, you could stock up easily. We found the resort to be in great condition, with two great slides and a really nice bar atmosphere and great food, especially the charcoal BBQ menu. Breakfast was the usual big breakfast, with lots of variety. Staff were friendly and assisted us with a quick check in. This was handy seeing that we arrived at 10.30pm with two very tired kids. Directly across the road and literally a 3 minute walk was the beach with a huge selection of restaurants, all offering different lounge packages. We tried 3 different ones, they charged 100 baht per lounge chair for the whole day. The food selection was very nice and the alcohol was quite cheap. The beach at Surin is lovely, a little rough at first for my two and a half year old, but he got the hang of it after a while. We took a taxi to Patong which cost 500 baht and took approx 15 minutes. It was nice to be away for the hustle and bustle of Patong. We definitely recommend this hotel, especially for families.

Room Tip: The building with only 2 levels was a great location (all others have 4 levels). If you stay on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AspasiaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    390
    210
    41
    42
See reviews for
506
346
60
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

Our second visit to this hotel and we revisited it as we love this hotel and it's close to the most fabulous beach in Phuket. The staff are always polite and helpful and we were luckily upgraded to a ground floor room facing the pool which meant we could exit our room by the patio door and walk a short distance to plunge into the pool. These rooms are worth booking if you're not upgraded. The bedrooms have a larger than normal hotel fridge and you are supplied with 2 bottles of water a day and also a plug in room mosquito repellent. As there are limited poolside beds we preferred the beach which is just a stroll across the road and over the open grassed area. Here the hire of 2 beds with umbrella is 100baht a day. The hotel supplies beach towels which you collect and sign for on reception. On the beach there are plenty of choices of restaurants/bars and massage spots (charge approx 300 baht for 1 hour). The Cefalu restaurant on the beach offers a lunchtime special of 99 baht for salad and 149 baht for any pasta meal. There's also an area half way down the beach where there are stalls selling 'street food' which is very good and cheap - chicken satay for 20baht. If you fancy going into Patong or Phuket the hotel has a minibus which goes to both places and can be booked and paid for at reception and is cheaper than using the taxi rank opposite the hotel. There's a small supermarket and exchange shop left out of the hotel and approx 100 yds down. The supermarket also exchanges money and gives a better rate. The choice at breakfast is fantastic and worth including it as part of your booking but I would recommend the beach restaurants for your evening meal as they are a lot cheaper.

Room Tip: Ground floor blocks 1 2 &3 pool facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cherylwelshgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Orange, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

The hotel was amazing in every facet. While Surin isn't the hustle and bustle of Phuket (steer clear of Pattong if you're looking for peace and quiet), it's a very relaxed and comfortable atmosphere and much of this starts right at the Courtyard. We got upgraded to a 1-bedroom suite on check-in (along with many other benefits for being recognized as a higher-level Marriott rewards member) and it didn't stop there. Their daily breakfast was the best we had in all of Thailand as it had many, many options of all fares and lots of fresh fruit and juices. The grounds are nicely manicured and kept up and the pool is great. The water-slides are a hit among kids and even my wife and I used them quite a bit. The 2-for-1 happy hour was a nice little bonus. The service at the hotel is fantastic and they're more than ready to help with info, setting things up or answering any questions you have. The beach is only a short walk across the street with tons of restaurants and shops to keep you busy. There are many things to see and do within a short walk from the hotel, including a 7-11 and a Family Mart just around the corner and since you get a decent sized fridge in the room you've got plenty of space to keep extra bottles of water or adult beverages. The only drawback (and it wasn't an issue for us) is that if you are looking for more 'action', you'll have to take Taxi's around the island (or rent a motorbike) and that can add up. Otherwise, there really isn't anything left for wanting.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on the ground floor. While it has it's benefits, rooms on the ground floor ty...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Landgraf13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2012

We stayed from 3 to 15 January 2012 in deluxe room on the 2nd floor.
Nice hotel with spacious rooms, quite clean. No mosquitos just tiny ants not very annoying. Very good quality of sleep.
Friendly staff. Comfortable Kids Club. Cartoon Network channel made my son's nights.
Beautiful garden around the pool and at the main entrance.
Perfect choice for breakfast.
Too expensive for lunches and dinners, but you have many other very nice places to eat around.
As you expect everything to be flawless when you pay that much things like below get on the nerves quite a lot.
Upon arrival I was requested for 1,500.00 Baht per day deposit for 12 days of our stay blocked on my credit card even though 100% of accommodation cost had been pre-paid 6 months in advance. The girl explained it was for any possible extras. I said 18000 baht was a bit too much for something that you do not intend to spend but she said it was the hotel policy and so on. As we arrived at midnight after a long flight I was too tired to argue plus her English was or seemed very poor. When she returned with my credit card she said there were two other options: 5,000.00 Baht cash deposit or paying cash each time for everything extra. After the money in the amount of $600 had just been blocked for 2 weeks her offer did not make much sense.
I have chosen this hotel mostly because of the water slides that my 10 years old son adores. But joints of the water slides and scarce water flow make them useless and dangerous. My son bruised and scratched all his back one day and never used them again.
People tried to occupy sun-beds near the swimming pool at about 8 a.m. and there was not that easy to find vacant ones between 10 a.m. and 4 p.m.
Twice during our stay there was power cutoff in the hotel and nearby area. Not very nice to stay without AC. It didn't take long though to get fixed.
Once they ran out of beach towels and we had to wait for 20 minutes to get them.
The biggest treat is the sea!!! Surin beach is gorgeous! Water is very clean and warm, always enough sun-beds on the beach. I really could not understand all those who preferred overcrowded hotel swimming pool. )))

Room Tip: I would never choose to live on the ground floor as the access to the pool is not what I would dream...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alessia_XS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

This hotel was the highlight of our trip. Stunning, clean, hygienic and great service. Food and restaraunt was amazing!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ralphmolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We were staying in the hotel for 13 nights. Surin Beach is a perfect place for those who are looking for relax and a quiet atmosphere. Contrary to Pattong Beach which is very dynamic place with discos and sex bars, Surin Beach is offering everything an average family needs - a wonderful beach with all necessary facilities (shops, restaurants, pharmacies, laundry services etc.) located nearby.

As far as hotel is concerned, the rice quality ratio is OK. We were booking the stay individually and the only thing I regret is the fact that the hotel does not inform clearly that it is accepting mass tourist groups from travel agencies. Russians are clearly prevailing nationality among the tourists, followed by Scandinavians. The potential guests have to be aware that Russian tourists ignore any rules of the hotel (i.e. opening hours of the pool) and organise private parties in the middle of the night at the pool side. Rooms were spacious enough and clean, staff were very friendly and helpful. However, we had a serious problem with the toilet splush in our room which could not be fixed over 5 days. The toilet splush was causing a small flood disaster in the bathroom after every usage. I have to admit that we were compensated by the hotel for this. Prices for food& beverage are exaggerated. Breakfast buffet was included in the price and the restaurant offered great choice of food. However, the price for a dinner (nothing special!!!) was between 15 and 20 euro while the restaurants nearby were offering delicious local dishes at 20% of the Courtyard's price. The same concerned spa facilities which were quite expensive as compared with massage options offered on the beach. The distance to the beach is short although you have to cross a local road with heavy traffic to get there.

The hotel has a well equipped fitness room and facilities for children like Kids Club and some aquapark facilities at pool side.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in upper floors in order to avoid the noise from the pool in the night. The rooms wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krzys1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

We booked our holiday through Trailfinders as we wanted somewhere to relax for a few nights on our way back from Australia, the tour company recommended this hotel and it didn't disappoint. From the moment you walked through the door we were made to feel very welcome by the Staff and this continued throughout our stay. The Staff were very courteous and polite.
The breakfasts were delicious and there was more than enough choice to suit all tastes. We also had lunch in the Hotel and that was very good and reasonably priced.
Our room overlooked the pool, the room was modern and clean with a massive bed, one slight negative was that there was only one bedside cabinet and on my side of the bed there wasn't any room to get out as the wall was too close which made it a little bit awkward. The bathroom was modern spacious and clean.
We travelled as a couple in early December and yes it is a very child friendly Hotel but this did not bother us at all though the pool area was not too busy. We spent time around the pool and never had a problem getting a sun bed and we had a pool snack each day which were very good and reasonably priced.
It is a short walk to the beah front and shops.
All in all I would recommend this Hotel .

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jax76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
1.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#15 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
8.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
6.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 319 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,023 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Surin Phuket
The Surin Phuket
#2 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Property: Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Address: 106/27 Moo 3 | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#14 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
#15 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a cool welcome drink on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand's premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing