We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice - good value for the price!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Baar, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice - good value for the price!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We did stay at the premises for 13 days and did choose the hotel based on the quality of the beach, even the Doubletree is on a lower level then the Hilton hotels.
Being a Hilton member for years, we normally went to the Hilton Arcadia at Karon beach, South of Patong.

Staying there just payed out, mainly because of the fantastic and clean beach of Surin, which is north of Patong. The beach is rather quiet, very clean, great white sand and turqoise waters.
There is no Hali-Gali like Patong and you will not find partying all night with it`s excesses!
The hotel itself is very clean, friendly service and we were given a Junior suite poolside. Turned out to be a little noisy starting around 8am because of the families with kids, but the evenings never prompted a problem.

Well, the breakfast buffet is rather on the `pragmatic` side and does not change for days but still represents fair value.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arnold R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Arnold R,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed our services and generally had a pleasant and memorable holiday. We truly appreciated your positive comments and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Thank you for your feedback.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    456
    402
    219
    43
    45
See reviews for
525
358
60
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
142 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014

I'm a Hilton Gold Member and travel a fair amount internationally. I'm fairly picky and usually only stay at 5 star hotels/resorts, but I booked this hotel since I was using points for my stay and wanted to see a different part of Thailand. Being a lower end Hilton property it was a good deal using points was a great value for my 10 day stay. I've read a lot of reviews on this property and I think they are a bit critical to be honest. Its not a 5 star property, but it has a lot going for it.
I was upgraded to a 2 room suite; good size rooms and very clean. I has a decent size covered patio and a good size frig. Breakfast is excellent and has a lot of choices; you won't go hungry. The beach is a 5 min walk across the park area which is across the street. I think Surin Beach is lovely. They have a bunch of restaurants, bars etc right on the beach and also lots of places to get a massage. You pay 300tbh for a chair, umbrella & towel and its nice! There are also a fair amount of restaurants in walking distance of the hotel. Surin Beach is much quieter than Patong for sure, so if you want something a bit low key/relax this is a great place and a decent value.

Room Tip: 1st floor with pool access
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yates26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Hotel beet disappointing . With young family at this price you can stay at the beta place. Food ordinary , pool cold , shower dripping , and air condition in the master room want work at all. Service very friendly and nice but not worth the money ...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed our services, however I am sorry for any inconvenience during your stay at the resort.

We truly appreciated your positive comments and hope you reconsider your decision to look elsewhere next time.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Double Tree Surin back in November 2012 on the day they were changing to the Hilton system, this made check in slightly longer than usual but we were given refreshments while we waited in the lobby area.

As we arrived late in the afternoon after staying in Kamala we dumped our bags in the room and went to explore the local area. The hotel is located just across the road from the impressive Surin beach making it the ideal location for beach lovers. Other than a few shops and restaurants we couldn't find much else to do so headed back to the hotel for a dip in the large family friendly pool.

We found the service and the staff to be second to none. Everyone was friendly and helpful; they even brought a bottle opener to our room. We ate in the restaurant on our first night as we were a bit too tired to venture any further, the food was ok and fairly good value.

The included breakfast buffet was heavily targeted at European customer with a vast choice of baked goods, fruit and cereals. There were also limited Thai dishes available.

Our room overlooked the pool and was modern and spacious, the only downfall was that the WiFi signal was extremely poor other than in the lobby area; its no real biggy as who wants to spend their holiday online?

Overall we thoroughly enjoyed our 3 stay but we feel we would have been bored if we had stayed much longer. (Having already done a few day trips whilst staying in Kamala)

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wednesdayrobyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

My husband and I spent a lot of time trying to identify the best beach to stay on in Thailand, while planning our trip. We finally chose the Doubltree Phuket near the Surin beach because we had a bunch of hotel points and we thought we might as well use it here. It turned out to be a great choice (other than a few complaints).

The Surin beach is really nice, and probably the best beach compared to Kamala and the main beach near the town area. It is more upscale and not as crowded. The beach is lovely, but can get a tad rough if the high tide comes in. There are many great restaurants along the beach and some great food stalls as well. The beach is a 5-10 walk from the hotel. The hotel provides you with towels.

The rooms itself are a little dated, but not bad at all. The shower however was probably one of the worst I have seen. The water would stagnate and overflow into the rest of the bathroom and wet the whole place!! The result is that the whole bathroom would become wet, with wet and messy bathmats and the works. I don’t know how a hotel would not fix an issue like this. Housekeeping was not up to the mark either, leaving used mugs and not replacing them with clean ones.

The breakfast buffet was very good. The front desk and the staff were very pleasant and helpful.

Overall a good stay, I wish we had got a different bathroom though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thecaribou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Thecaribou,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our resort and generally had a pleasant and memorable holiday. Your constructive feedback was greatly appreciated. We will improve our bathroom facilities and services as per your comments regarding the bathroom issue. If you have any suggestions, please feel free to contact me at thitirat.thongpat@hilton.com

Thanks again for your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back to our resort in the near future.

Best regards,

Thitirat T.
(On Behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Strange experience here. Good but something not quite right about the place.

Maybe management but it just never felt like a proper Hilton.

Rooms were good and spacious however cleaning was always strangely timed.

Front desk service was mediocre especially in a family hotel where it must be quite a necessity.

Location to the beach is brilliant, a stones throw! Highly recommend Catch bar/grill situated on the beach.

Staff service was weird. If people couldn't speak English they would just point you in a random direction. I waited 20 minutes for 2 cocktails and the general aura around staff service just wasn't there. I think management must not be so great.

Overall good for families though and it is a great place for kids.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LuiPickthall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We loved the staff and food at this hotel. Pool was great for kids and adults alike although watch out for your kids on the slide - some people go slow, others go fast and our son got a bit hurt on it as an adult came down after him. The staff are warm and welcoming with beautiful smiles. The food is great, particularly the breakfast buffet. Rooms are comfortable but furniture is a bit shabby. Air con works a dream. All in all we had a lovely staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Caireen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 2 February 2014
Dear Caireen,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was please to read that you enjoy our warm services, foods, hotel facilities and generally had a pleasant and memorable holiday.

We have shared with the team your positive comments which were truly appreciated and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
8.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
11.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#13 of 56 in Kata Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
6.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Property: Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Address: 106/27 Moo 3 | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach)
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#15 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a cool welcome drink on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand's premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing