We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot of work to do”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Ranked #18 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lot of work to do”
Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

I wouldn't stay here every again. The staff can barely speak English, no WIFI in the rooms and WIFI that keeps dropping out in public areas. No service by the pool - we had dishes piling up with flies buzzing round and they still wouldn't take them. Woken early every morning by maids walking past our front doors having a mother's club meeting. Screaming children everywhere with the hotel doing nothing to rein in their behaviour. I know it's a cheap hotel (to stay at) but it's still under the Hilton brand.

On top of this, the military closed down the beach on Surin - the food stalls, beach restaurants, bars and clubs half way through our trip. We left a day early, couldn't take it anymore.

I will never go back to Phuket - so many better places to go.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank PosyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Posy B,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent visit, your constructive feedback was greatly appreciated.

Please allow me to apologize for a disappointing stay you had with us recently, it is definitely not what we set out to achieve for our guests and I am sorry for any inconvenience during your stay at the resort. We are now working on this closely with our Training Department to develop our staffs and improve the services,

I would appreciate if you can give us your suggestions. I can be contacted on thitirat.thongpat@hilton.com

Thank you and best regards,
Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    477
    416
    219
    45
    46
See reviews for
550
361
61
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

I recently stayed in this hotel & was extremely disapponted. Staff barely spoke English, there was little to no customer service & was awoken several mornings to scretching from the housekeepers outside my room. Location is amazing & value was quite good, but don't recommend this hotel if you are looking for a relaxing experience

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Becstar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Dear Becstar 99,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent visit, your constructive feedback was greatly appreciated.

I would like to apologize for a disappointing stay you had with us recently, it is definitely not what we set out to achieve for our guests and I am sorry for any inconvenience during your stay at the resort.

Thank you for your comment regarding the staff services, this is very important to us that our staffs must provide a good service to all guests. We are working on this closely with our Training Department to improve staff's English communications and services.

I would appreciate if you can give us your suggestions. I can be contacted on thitirat.thongpat@hilton.com

Thank you and best regards,

Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stay at this hotel with my wifi with celebrate our anniversary date. It is so Amazing hotel. Staff was very friend and helpful.We book through AirAsia package and upgrade to suite room upon we check in.It is above our expectation,room is clean and good view.Breakfast is international breakfast, food quality is excellent. Maybe due to Thailand politics issue, hotel is low occupancy, but staff is still doing well,every one with a sweet smile.
For sure I will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlvinYap27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear AlvinYap 27,

I was pleased to read that you enjoyed the hotel facilities and a friendliness of staffs. Your constructive feedback will be shared with the team. I also was pleased to see that you had a great time at our resort and we look forward to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Since we are the member of the Hilton club, we enjoyed 50% of the room charges with the upgrade of deluxe to suite. Foods are good. We tried buffet breakfast,lunch & dinner. Staff are friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanwong7228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Susanwong 7228,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to note that you enjoyed our services and generally had a pleasant and memorable holiday. We truly appreciated your positive comments and look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We have recently returned from The Double Tree Resort by Hilton. This generally a lovely family hhotel where chidren are loved by all the staff. The hotel has excellent facilities even a daily"school" where children can chill out with many others, play games watch films overseen by lovely staff. The room we were first shown was not acceptable for a two week stay, and agreed a fair price for an upgrade to a suite, which was lovely. Everyone around the pool is very friendly. Reception staff are very good in particular the young man on reception (sorry no name) who organised a speedboat with crew for the day. However I have to report the food was very basic and costly for what it was. Breafast was not good and boring. There is much improvement needed there. I did make suggestions and surprisingly they did take notice. Be warned the sea on the beach can get very rough at times.

Room Tip: Pay the extra when you get there and upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leslie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Leslie W

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the resort after your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to see that you enjoyed our facilities, especially the kids world and staff services. I was also happy that whist you felt the initial room was below your expectation, we were able to move you swiftly. Your kind words about the staff friendliness will be shared with the team.
As for the breakfast issue, please feel free to share your suggestions to me at thitirat.thongpat@hilton.com.

Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Best Regards,
Thitirat T.
(On behalf of General Manager)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coolangatta, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at Doubletree with my wife for 4 nights, we found the place to be very friendly and welcoming. Staff were always helpful, great breakfast Buffett open until 11am which suited us as we could sleep in and didn't have to rush. Short walk to the beach with heaps of bars and massage etc. The central location meant we were close to Airport, Patong, and Phuket city, they all cost about 600 Baht for a taxi. Our room was really comfortable and well appointed, sliding door straight out to the pool, air conditioner was quiet so sleeping was easy and a great bed. We stocked our fridge from the family mart down the road, room also had a safe.
Overall the hotel was very comfortable and although we didn't have our kids with us the kids club looked great and had plenty of activities for the kids. I will Definately stay there next time I'm in Phuket. We had dinner in the restaurant and it was first class, big range of meals.

Room Tip: Ask for a pool side room, we got a free upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear David F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property so constructively following your recent stay with us.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, foods and services and generally had a pleasant holiday during you stay with us.

We have shared with the team your positive comments which were truly appreciated and we look forward to welcome you and your family back in the future.

Thank you and best regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cebu City, Philippines
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here and had a real good time. The pool facilities are amazing and invite family from all over the world to have a superb and fun time.
Location is great as it allows you in a short time to be everywhere, but then I enjoyed being out or the crowded places for the stay. Forgot to mention that good food and friendly service rounds up the experience!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steff_my
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thitirat T, General Manager at Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort., responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Steff_my,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property so constructively following your recent stay with us.
I was pleased to read that you enjoyed our hotel facilities, food and services and generally had a pleasant holiday.
We have shared with the team your positive comments which were truly appreciated and we look forward to welcome you and your family back in the future.

Thank you and best regards,
Brian Connelly, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
1.0 mi away
Novotel Phuket Kamala Beach
11.5 mi away
Chanalai Garden Resort
Chanalai Garden Resort
#12 of 56 in Kata Beach
1,082 reviews
8.6 mi away
Novotel Phuket Karon Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Renaissance Phuket Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#11 of 34 in Choeng Thale
317 reviews
6.3 mi away
Amari Phuket
Amari Phuket
#2 of 327 in Patong
5,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.

Property: Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Address: 106/27 Moo 3 | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand (Formerly DoubleTree Resort by Hilton, Phuket-Surin Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Choeng Thale
#14 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#15 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
#16 Luxury Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just steps from the crystal waters and white sands of Surin Beach, the Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort offers the perfect retreat. Contemporary comfort, a warm welcome and a cool welcome drink on arrival helps make your stay stress-free. Located just 30 minutes drive from Phuket International Airport and 25 minutes from the nightlife and shopping of Patong, you can really make the most of your time in one of Thailand's premier beach resorts. Stay connected from your deluxe room or suite at this resort-style hotel in Phuket thanks to high-speed internet access. Relax in front of the flat-screen TV as you watch a movie, or unwind on your private balcony or terrace. The white sands of Surin Beach are just a short stroll away as is the popular Catch Beach Club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Phuket At Surin Beach Hotel 1234587
Courtyard Hotel Cherngtalay
Phuket Courtyard
Courtyard Surin Beach
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort. Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing