We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chava Resort
Nearby Hotels
Outrigger Laguna Phuket Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$143
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$66
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Angsana Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$156
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa Surin Beach(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dusit Thani Laguna Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$171
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Premier Bangtao Beach Resort & Spa(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$140
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Pavilions Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Layan Phuket Resort(Choeng Thale)(Great Value!)
US$219
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$179
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trisara(Choeng Thale)
US$1,176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (593)
Filter reviews
593 results
Traveller rating
513
62
8
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
513
62
8
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter jonestwo bedroom apartmentplunge poolbeach matsfull kitchenshort walkwashing machinebig balconythe general managerfamily holidayhome away from homebeautiful surin beacha wonderful staythai foodrestaurant staffpool sidegreat pool
Filter
Updating list...
350 - 355 of 593 reviews
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed here in April (family with 8 and 10 year old boys) to celebrate my birthday and had a fantastic time. The resort is extremely well run and all the staff very helpful. One thing that particularly impressed me was the coffee. It was as good as any coffee you find in Melbourne. Thanks. We stayed in a pool apartment which was very spacious and beautifully decorated. However, we only used the apartment pool once, as the resort pool was located directly outside our apartment - the pool was fantastic. Most of the time we had the pool to ourselves, and even when there were other people there, there was lots of room. I'd only comment that it is probably time for the pool towels to be replaced.

The location of the room was great too. Only a few minutes walk to Surin Beach and the many great restaurants.

We were there during the Thai New Year and the water festival. The staff were great, and set up a "water station" at the front of the resort, and encouraged guests to join in the festivities. It was a lot of fun and our two boys loved wetting people. They were out the front for over an hour.

I would highly recommend this resort to anyone coming to Phuket, especially if you want to stay away from the hustle and bustle of Patong. If you are travelling with a family, it would be worthwhile to ask for a room with a washing machine/dryer. Our room (B4) didn't have one, and although laundry costs are cheap, it is nice to be able to pop the clothes and bathers in for a quick rinse.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a washing machine/dryer.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rydel100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Rydel100- Melbourne people sure do know their coffee, I'm glad you enjoyed ours from the highlands around Chiang Mai in northern Thailand and roasted right here in Phuket. Glad you also enjoyed our lovely spacious pool, and you were spot on-we have replaced all of our beach towels- they were on order during your visit. Songkran that celebrates the Thai New Year with a water festival is one of the many great annual festivals that we enjoy in Phuket-perhaps none more than this one celebrated each year from the 13th-15th April. Guests love that we are 20 minutes from Patong-close enough for some, far enough away for most!! Hope to see you for your next birthday celebration-regards, Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This place was amazing! service if fantastic and always with a smile. 2min walk to surin beach front with amazing places to eat and drink, 25 min scooter or tuk tuk ride to Patong beach. Would not stay anywhere else Phuket.

Room Tip: Any room, they are all amazing!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Natalie M- it sure sounds like you have enjoyed your recent stay with us here at The Chava- I'm sure it was great to get away from the chill of Nova Scotia. I have just checked and it's 11 degrees at present in Sydney, NS -currently 31 degrees, fine and sunny in Surin Beach- want to pop back for another visit? No sign of the political issues plaguing Bangkok at present down here in Phuket-this time of the year is a great time to visit. Drop me a line on peter@thechavaresort.com if I've talked you into it!!! Kind regards, Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

This was the last stop in our 3 stop tour of the region with andaman sky, which was a thoroughly enjoyable experience and one I would recommend to anybody who is looking for something a bit different from the flight-plus-one-hotel package which most people book when they go oj holiday. We like to see a bit more of a region when we travel, so we liked going to see 3 destinations. The Chava is a top place where the accommodation was first rate, the service rapid and the food very tasty (not particularly expensive either). I recommend this hotel to fellow travelers.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Juan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Juan G- Thank you for choosing The Chava to round out your recent overseas holidays and we really appreciate your comments-hoping to see you on your next visit to Thailand-regards, Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

we had 3 nights with a family of four (18m old and a 3 year old). Apartments were a great size and in very good condition. Location fantastic with short 5 min walk to Surin Beach, and able to use one of the beach clubs at no charge as staying in the Chava (they did charge if you wanted to use a towel). A nice mix of upmarket beach clubs and more local food outlets.
The pool at the Chava was not huge but more than adequate and the staff and food were very good.
We used the facilities and kids club at the Doubletree next door for a small charge (THB400pp) although if you wanted to leave kids under 4 an extra charge is required for a babysitter service (well worth it).
Highly recommended and we will return sometime soon.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hkmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Hkmoo- thanks for your review-you are our our primary target market-2 adults and 2 children, so I'm glad that we were able to offer you facilities that fulfilled your needs. Our proximity to Surin Beach always rates highly with our guests-glad you enjoyed the complimentary access at Diamond Beach Club available to Chava guests-we do suggest you take a towel from our poolside area with you. We are a boutique sized resort and our pool at 35 metres in length is enough for laps in the mornings if you desire and many family guests make use of our friendly arrangement with our neighboring property for usage of their Kid's Club. Glad you enjoyed, regards Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This nice little resort in a great location. andaman a adventures making booking for us. Yes, this hotel small but very nice. The team who working there is very friendly, like the manager. Not a big place, but perfect size and well run place.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Mohammed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you Mohammed A for your review of our small, boutique business here in beautiful Surin Beach. The acknowledgement from you of the efforts of our staff is truly appreciated. With a non stop, direct flight time of just over 6 hours only from Dubai to Phuket, access from the UAE is very quick and easy-please keep us in mind the next time you are considering a break, regards,
Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews