We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Chava Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Twinpalms Phuket(Thalang District)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surintra(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
MANATHAI Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
AM Surin Place(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Benyada Lodge(Thalang District)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Pen Villa Hotel(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Surin Phuket(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Surin Beach Resort(Choeng Thale)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (581)
Filter reviews
581 results
Traveller rating
503
61
7
1
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
503
61
7
1
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspeter jonestwo bedroom apartmentplunge poolbeach matsfull kitchenshort walkwashing machinebig balconythe general managerfamily holidayhome away from homebeautiful surin beacha wonderful staythai foodrestaurant staffpool sidegreat pool
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
332 - 337 of 581 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Lovely big apartments, perfect for families. The pool area is great for kids - and also long enough for laps! Walking distance to Surin beach and a myriad of restaurants to choose from. The a la carte breakfast by the pool is fabulous - and decent coffee too (a rarity in Thailand).

The staff were very helpful - we have a child with a peanut allergy and all cook staff had been briefed before our arrival and the front desk staff had also printed out a few cards in Thai explaining the allergy, that we could show to the more local restaurants.

Everyone had a great holiday, Well done Chava! We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hkkiwis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear hkkiwis-thank you for your comments about your very recent visit with us. We are very pleased to know that the extra few yards that we try to take for our guests is appreciated-simple things can have critical consequences and a child's health and safety is of the utmost importance, so we were only too happy to assist you with your son's allergy. Did happen to notice you pushing out the laps in the pool each morning-well done-helped make room for breakfast I think!!! Thanks also for the mention of our great coffee. See you again soon, we hope-drop me an email on
peter@thechavaresort.com and I will ensure you get best available rates. Kind regards, Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My wife an I just returned from the Chava Resort for our 25th wedding anniversary. We could not have asked for a better experience. The Chava Resort is truly a first class facility. The rooms were great and we just loved laying on the cabanas by the pool ordering cocktails. Peter and his team made us feel at home. It was our first time to Phuket and his advice and assistance in terms of what to see, restaurants to go, etc. was spot on. We will definitely be coming again.

Room Tip: Rooms with the pool view was great.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Vik K- It was our great pleasure to host you and your wife here in Surin Beach whilst you celebrated your 25th wedding anniversary - we felt quite honored! Assisting our guests with personal recommendations on the best of what Phuket has to offer is part of what we are able to provide in our small intimate resort. Pool view rooms are in either block B or C, for your next stay with us- hopefully before your 30th! Kind regards, Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We just returned from our first family holiday to Thailand, staying at the wonderful The Chava Resort, Surin Beach, Phuket.
One of our best holidays ever with both of our kids rating it a "10 out of 10".
Phuket was great but The Chava Resort made it a memorable stay. The pool area is superb as is the standard of accommodation. The team at The Chava were fabulous and ensured we never had anything to think about but relaxing. Also met some other terrific people staying there. Brilliant coffee as well!
Thank you to Peter Jones, Sharon and the team for a brilliant time - we will definitely be back.
Wayne, Laura, Riley & Eliza Scurrah NZ

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Scurrahs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Dear Wayne & Family- we are so glad that the "bosses" gave us a 10/10-every parent knows these are the guys who really dictate where we are going to holiday, so we are very pleased that your kids enjoyed their stay with us. We are also delighted that you enjoyed our facilities and that our team made this such a memorable stay for you. Yet another mention about our coffee which most of our guests seem to love-Chiang Mai grown and Phuket roasted! Hope to see you back again very soon-go The Warriors! Regards, Peter J.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Great place to stay with family.
Pro's
Quiet, enough to do without being hectic
Close to beach and shops at Surin Beach
Wonderful staff, very friendly!
Great big rooms to suit any size family
Only a Cheap tuk tuk ride to kamala, or patong
Bang Tao Beach short walk and very interesting little place
Breakfast by the pool and all made fresh to order

Cons
No gym or kids club, but access to this at doubletree resort next door for a fee

Thanks Peter and staff for a great stay. Go Blues!!!

Mckenzie. Clan, Melbourne

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Topbloke68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2014

Topbloke68 - it's always great to receive a review from a Senior Reviewer such as yourself, so we thank you for your valued comments. You have mentioned our location, staff, Apartment size and breakfasts as being highlights for you and your family. The access arrangements that we have with our neighboring hotels for gym usage and "Kid's Club" activities are both at pretty "friendly" rates. Taxis are available at our front gate for easy access to all that Phuket has to offer and Patong is a short 20 minute ride away- "close enough for some, far enough away for most".
We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us-please think of us again the next time you are planning your holidays-regards, PeterJ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have been coming to the Chava for many years now and our recent trip in June was as good as all of the past trips. The location, staff, management and tranquil grounds keep us coming back time after time. Peter had big shoes to fill when Larry left and to his credit nothing has changed. If your after a first class resort with great rooms, awesome pool and friendly staff, make The Chava one of your stays. Even though the crazy 'Farang' was trying to talk to the staff in broken Thai they would always smile and laugh along with me. We can't wait to come back to our Thai home away from home. Kup kun maak krap!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank SimonThai2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter J, General Manager at The Chava Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

SimonThai2014- great to have a regular returning guest still very much enjoy every visit to us here at The Chava. Location, staff and tranquility are features often mentioned to us very favorably by our guests-you couldn't have been kinder with your praise. We are very complemented by your comment of us being your Thai home away from home and look forward to another visit from you in the future-kind regards to Tahnee, Jessica and yourself- PeterJ

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews