We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We didnt even stay 5 minutes”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Black Cat

Black Cat
Ranked #16 of 164 Restaurants in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$11
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Cash Only, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
manchester,uk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“We didnt even stay 5 minutes”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

We arrived and were ignored. The waitress then arrived and slammed menus on the table and walked away. No hello, no smile, nothing. Needless to say we got up and walked out and unsurprisingly no one followed us to ask why.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank linda&co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe c, Owner at Black Cat, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
Sorry to hear about your bad experience in our place. I really offer my apologies.
It is true that the last few days, Thai new year and Easter week, same as Christmas/new year and Chinese new year, we are so busy that we can't take care properly of all of our guests.
We are going to improve that by only accepting, during rush hours of these busy periods, guests with booking. I hope that you will offer us a second chance in the future. We are always trying to learn from our mistakes...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    281
    263
    98
    40
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Yuck”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

I just do not 'get' this place. The food is shocking and the service sucks, it's inundated by tourists that don't know better and expats who are past caring. The length of the menu is absurd and tells you all you need to know about the quality of the food.

Helpful?
3 Thank Littlelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Nice location, horrible food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Just the worse dining experience in Thailand so far.

2 Mohitos, 25 mins to get them and the taste... just make yourself a favour... don't order them.

Spaghetti carbonara floating in a sort of milk soup (yes, soup) with a sour taste of milk... , just wrong.

Fillet mignon...served in strips , like 4 small steaks very thin and over cooked, clearly no ida on what a fillet mignon is.
Quality of meat is average.
Side vegetables spongy and no taste.

Pretty disappointed since the place has so many great reviews and been recommended by some friends.

I'll try again in few weeks but for the moment I can't recommend this place at all.

Service is very poor and prices are average for the area.




Helpful?
Thank Naorad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
philippe19672803, Owner at Black Cat, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Sorry to hear about your disappointment. Not sure when you came, but if it was in the last few days, as it was so busy, even i know it is not an excuse, i do know that things were far to be perfect... Hope you will give us another chance in the future. Sawadee pee mai (happy new year) anyway!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overwhelming menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

Went on recommendation from local Thai driver. Lovely atmosphere, seems popular with western expat regulars. Pool and Foosball tables to keep the teenagers entertained. Wish I had of counted, but I think there may have been more than 250 items on the menu, covering all cuisines. French owner so there's a reasonable selection of French food. After a week of Thai food I was craving something different, so had the plate of prosciutto & salamis. Hit the spot! Friends had Thai and enjoyed.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank amtih2512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
108 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Always a favourite”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Excellent food. An extensive menu and they deliver also. Fast service. The food is fresh, exciting and authentic.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ZakMck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Black Cat also viewed

Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
Choeng Thale, Thalang District
 

Been to Black Cat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing