We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for family”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surin Sabai Condominium
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Perfect for family”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The condo is nice, located very close to beautiful Surin beach and its charming restaurants on the beach. The appartment was incredibly spacious (more than expected) and perfectly equipped. The staff was friendly and helpful. Will return for sure!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marianne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    19
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
21
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
128 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 401 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

This is essentially an upscale residential complex with some of the owned units being rented out as hotel rooms. It's not a hotel, but your room does get cleaned every day like at a hotel.

It's surprising to see something like this in Thailand, but there are apparently quite a few Europeans and others who have purchased flats in this area, removed from the madness of places like Patong Beach and Phuket, but close enough to go there if you want to. The area is not completely developed, but it's fast getting that way. There are still local Thai elements around. However, this is an area where you'll find exquisite antique dealers, high-end retailers, expensive restaurants catering to Europeans, and so on.

There are a handful of restaurants, convenience stores and other amenities located on the main road close to the condo. We tried various cheap restaurants in the area, but we never really found one that suited us. We appreciated having Tesco's and 7-11 so close by.

There are three beaches nearby, conceivably within walking distance: Surin Beach, Bang Tao and Laem Sing.

Surin Beach is the closest, about a 500 metre walk along a busy road. From what we saw, it was not our kind of beach. Highly developed. Busy. So many deck chairs, you could barely see the beach. Overpriced. Very European crowd. It's like they're trying to recreate the Med here. Very boring. Even when we go to the Med we don't go to beaches like this. If you come to this area, google Surin Beach to make sure it's the kind of beach you like.

Bang Tao is a 15 minute walk away. A beautiful strand, about 6 kilometres long. There are hotels the whole way, but the development is low key (so far) and the beach still feels natural. Google it and you'll see what I mean. We enjoyed this beach a lot and we're grateful to the condo manager for telling us about it. If you don't want to walk a lot, a taxi can take you there. (Or you could book a hotel right on this beach....)

The third beach (Laem Sing) is a cute little out-of-the-way beach and perhaps the best of the three. The waves in particular were fun here. If the 20 min walk uphill along the busy road is too difficult, you can get to Laem Sing by taxi. You'll still have to walk down to the bottom though.

Laem Sing is such a nice beach that it helped make our stay here worthwhile. You see, we felt rather trapped at this condo. You might want to rent a moped or a car while you're here. However, we didn't bother (OK, we didn't dare given the traffic). The taxis seemed overpriced, so we had to find ways of getting around. Haggling sometimes worked, but the drivers in the area are working in collusion. It cost about 600 baht to get to Patong Beach or the airport. We also ended up exploring some of the area on foot, but of course we didn't have much choice. That's why we were relieved when we found Laem Sing. All of a sudden it made sense to be staying at this condo.

On your way to Surin Beach, turn right before the driveway and you'll get to a number of restaurants and hotels that put on nice breakfasts at various prices. 200 baht was the price of one I remember. I know, it's a lot for Thailand. Many of the people staying in this area are staying in the hotels here.

At the condo we had booked the smallest room (a studio). It was about 20 square metres, I'd say. It included a small hotel fridge, sink, hotplate, kettle and dishes. Useful. Our room faced outside and had a view of a some greenery and complete privacy. Nice shaded balcony. (Some of the units facing inside towards the pool have a more communal set-up though.)

The bathroom was small, the door actually hitting the toilet when it was opened. Whenever the light was switched on, the fan made a huge noise, a problem reported to the efficient management so I'm sure it'll be fixed. The shower was large (for such a small bathroom).

The room had a small flat-screen TV with five or six English stations, a couple of which were quite watchable (eg shows like Law & Order). The bed, linen, towlels, etc. were fine.

I booked this resort partly because of the gym and pool. The pool was nice, but smaller than it looks in the photos. The gym had enough weights to get a serious workout in.

There was free wifi in the lobby, but it would have been nice to have it in the rooms.

We were initially quite disappointed when we got to the condo and saw the small room, the location and Surin Beach. The room was not expensive, but nor was it cheap. We were expecting more for this price, especially outside of town. We had stayed at a place in Patong for the same price (breakfast included) and this hotel and this area just suffered in comparison.

However, we enjoyed exploring Bang Tao and Laem Sing and we're glad this condo offered us a chance to do it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank zwerf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

After a few nights each in Patong, Kata and Karon, it was time for us to slow down the pace of our trip. We felt lucky to find this the Surin Sabai as the staff were friendly and our room was clean, spacious and private. There's a gym, pool and pool table. The hotel is really quiet which we appreciated.

We rented scooters right at the hotel and cut down our travel time to get to Surin Beach (2 minutes away), Bang Tao & Naithon beaches.

There's also a fruit stand across the main street which you can't go wrong with prices compared to buying them at the beach.

The management leaves the hotel at night, so be sure to make arrangement if you are arriving late.

There's no shuttle service to the airport, however if you let management know, they will make sure there is a taxi waiting for you.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

great location close to beach within 4-6 mins walk clean large apartments quite at night two thumbs up

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank familyof321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2011

Hotel is located a fair distance by taxi from the airport which is convenient. It is just a five minute walk, if that to the tranquil Surin Beach, with fantastic white sandy beaches and great for swimming and relaxing. The hotel is spacious, have a very well equipped gym (which we didnt use), clean and large swimming pool, free internet access and is located near some great shops close by. They offer some above standard amenities for self catering, i.e. plates, cutlery, toaster etc. This made for a great cheap few nights for us as we could get some beers and make our own food. Definately worth a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Manchester_285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2010

We stayed at this self catering condo and totally pleased, Its clean, nice jacuzzi pool and spacious. Its a 10 minute walk up the hill to Surin beach with quite a few eateries close by if you want pampering.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank happychappie62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2010

We stayed at the Surin Sabai in April 2010 with our two teenage sons. It is great value for money we had friends staying at the Marriott Hotel around the corner and they paid loads more than us and had less space. We only booked into the sabai because we could not get a room at the marriott and we were so glad when we arrived. Large spacious rooms two bedrooms, fully equiped kitchen, if I went back to surin I would not stay anywhere else. Yes it is about a 5 minute walk to the beach but when it is too hot to walk you can get a tuk tuk for £2.00 that will take 4 of you.
The staff do not stay on site at night but they are there in the day and our room was cleaned and beds made, towels changed everyday.
Cannot complain about anything.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SeahorseBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.2 mi away
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
#7 of 34 in Choeng Thale
801 reviews
0.1 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#13 of 34 in Choeng Thale
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
472 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#8 of 96 in Thalang District
1,866 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surintra
Surintra
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surin Sabai Condominium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surin Sabai Condominium

Property: Surin Sabai Condominium
Address: 25 Moo 3 Srisunthorn Road | Surin Beach, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surin Sabai Condominium 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These simple yet comfortable apartments are located approximately 400 metres from one of Phuket’s finest beaches, Surin Beach. Take the pleasant stroll down to the beach to enjoy basking in the tropical sun and swimming in the clear waters. Alternatively, you are welcome to enjoy the outdoor pool at the complex while fitness fanatics will love the fully-equipped gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surin Sabai Condominium reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surin Sabai Condominium Hotel Thalang
Surin Sabai Condominium Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing