We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Okay, but could be so much better”
Review of Surintra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Surintra
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Choeng Thale
Certificate of Excellence
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Okay, but could be so much better”
Reviewed 20 February 2013

My husband and I spent three nights and four days here as part of our Thailand honeymoon, and while this is a nice hotel and we had no major complaints, overall the experience was a bit of a letdown.

The central pool area, which our room opened on to, is very pretty and clean. Our room was large and the outdoor patio and big bathroom were nice pluses. However, from the beginning we felt that the staff was disinterested, and all of our interactions with them were relatively frustrating. Their English was poor (this is an island and they did not even know the word for "pier" to help us get to a ferry one day), and staff members at the concierge desk spent most of their time on Facebook and Thai chat sites rather than helping or interacting with guests. Rooms were well-cleaned each day, but our white bedsheet was swapped out for one with noticeable stains on it, which was kind of gross.

Also, nearly all Thai beds are firm, but this mattress was rock-hard and springy and reminscent of a dorm room. It was tough to get a good night's sleep.

Free breakfast is great, but it is only served from 8-10 on an island where if you want to do any sort of excursion or ferry trip, you need to leave by 7 to be at the pier. This means we had to fend for ourselves for breakfast nearly every morning. So if you plan on diving, snorkeling or traveling to Ko Phi Phi or another island while at this hotel, plan to take care of your own breakfast.

All cabs on Phuket will overcharge you inflated flat fees, but the taxi service that works with this hotel is particularly bad. We had two terrible experiences; the first in which the driver dropped us in an area of Phuket Town where we hadn't wanted to go, and the second in which the driver took us to the pier and then demanded commission from our boat company, thus prompting them to rescind our tickets. It was awful and we recommend you not allow the hotel to book your taxis for you.

Surin beach, just across the street, is a beautiful stretch of sand with gorgeous blue water, but if you are an American tourist (as we are) expect to see mostly Europeans (many of whom sun topless!)

Free wi-fi is technically offered as part of the room, but we could hardly ever get a connection, which was especially frustrating since the phones in the room do not call out and we had to use google chat to make our travel plans for the rest of our trip, thus relying on the Internet.

Overall, this is a pretty property which a nice pool and proximity to a great beach, but don't expect a warm welcome or much help from the staff.

Room Tip: It's nice to book a room overlooking the pool, but expect noise from other guests and a feeling...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you have raised. We have discussed it to the relevant department the points you have mentioned and improvements have been done.

Thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us here and we hope to be of service to you again. We're always eager to hear what you liked, disliked and how we can improve them to be able to reach our guests satisfaction. Please do not hesitate to reach me should you require further assistance or information.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    213
    68
    16
    13
See reviews for
92
243
57
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2013

This is our second stay at the hotel. The first time we stayed in the original building. This time we stayed in the middle floor of the new.
The rooms are large and fresh with a large balcony. The concrete floor is great, easy to clean, looks good, modern and cool. They have improved the bathrooms, toilet was good and a great shower. There is ample space for luggage and clothes hanging. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Linen was always fresh.
We had bottled water replenished every day.
There is a safe, fridge and the rooms have a fan and air cond.
The breakfast was good. I'm not one for massive buffets so the eggs cooked 3 ways, cereals, fruit, juice, toast was more than enough for us. The hotel is owned and run by a local Thai family, they try very very hard and are a delight to know.
We had no communication problems, if in doubt, always ask twice.
There is 2 pools, they are great for a cool off, we go to the best beach in Phuket and that's across the road.
This hotel was well positioned and very reasonable compared to whats around. We will be back again.
Thank you to all at Surintra :)

Room Tip: Ask for middle or top rooms in new building. Its a bit of a walk but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank George V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort!

Thank you very much for staying with us and giving us an opportunity to serve you. We really appreciate your feedback and our team are just pleased that we made your holiday a good one.

Again, thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us here and we hope to be of service to you again here at Surintra Boutique Resort. Please do not hesitate to reach me if you may need further assistance or information.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

concrete rooms, lighting in bathroom didn't work properly. came back to room in evening to find a woman standing outside our room and a man trying to unlock the door. didn't think much of it until we noticed a pair of male underpants hanging off the bathroom door handle that did not belong to my husband.
poor service at reception. awful breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kellie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Service Supervisor at Surintra, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Warm greetings from Surintra Boutique Resort.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the issues that you have raised. We have discussed it to the relevant department the points you have mentioned and improvements had been done.

Thank you for taking your time to share your stay with us here and we hope to be of service to you again. We're always eager to hear what you liked, disliked and how we can improve them to be able to reach our guests satisfaction. Should you require further assistance or information, please do not hesitate to contact back to us.

Yours sincerely,

Marcelle R. Puntanar
Guest Service Supervisor
Surintra Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

If it wasn't for builders inability in Thailand to build hotel walls which offer sound insulation, this would have been a rather enjoyable stay. The place is quite well run; it's clean; the rooms are cleaned properly on a daily basis; the room has tv and the beds are comfortable; the staff are very friendly. The 'breakfast' area is a bit 'basic' but the staff are there to please and for that it's perfectly fine. The pool area is perfectly nice and quite peaceful. It's the neighbours that troubled me. If young (backpacking) guests are determind to return to their room in the early hours of the morning and then chat all night, it's a huge problem, but if they keep 'normal hours', your stay should be quite pleasant.

Room Tip: I wish I new....there is a newer block (I think I was in the original building) but I got the impres...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vanguard_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Guest Relations Manager at Surintra, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Hi!

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with our hotel.
We try our best to give a better service every time that's why your opinion is very important to us.
Next time, you can also try the new rooms in the new building. And i must say if you want more privacy, the top floor rooms suits you. :)
Thank you once again and we hope to see you soon in our hotel!

All the best for this year!

Best regards,

Surintra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
129 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

in principle a nice hotel with spacious rooms and decoration, it shows lack of maintenance in every corner...mildew smell when you enter a room, a/c not working properly, bathroom and shower holes and cracks in the wall.

same applies to staff service - safe was closed when we arrived and they forgot to open it, no information about breakfast or anything else, vouchers for breakfast were forgotten,...

pool is nice enough, not bad if you want to cool down, but don't want to walk down to the beach. breakfast is outside the hotel, but is ok.

the beach is about 5 minutes away (up the alley, cross the street and cross the trees), however, surin beach is packed with sunbeds and there is hardly any space for people who do not want to rent one. it is nice in the evening with good restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arianna47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Public Relations Manager at Surintra, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Hi,

We thank you for sharing your experience with us. From that, we try our best to give a better service next time and train the staff more. We also apologize for some errors as our staff sometimes are so busy and tend to forgot some things.

Thank you for pointing out those important facts, i will surely discuss this with the management for further action and for the betterment of our Hotel.

All the best for you this year!

Best regards,

Surintra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

I am writing this review on October 6th, 2012.

I booked three nights in this hotel and it was simply impossible to stay there.

It is not easy to find for one, it is at the bottom of a very narrow alley...

This may one day be a nice hotel, but PLEASE note it will be a building site for quite some time to come... They are building an attachment to the entire building, and they are in the initial stages of construction... They will require many more months to finish this...

They start to work at 8 in the morning, grinding, knocking, hammering, drilling, digging, ...

Not only is it a nuisance when you are on your holiday, forget a leisurely afternoon snooze by the pool as they are building literally less than 5 meters away from you... And it is a serious hazard if your children want to play in or around the pool...

I am in no way affiliated with any other hotel or business around :) I do not hold a grudge... I simply want to avoid anyone else being as disappointed as I was...

The room was indeed quite spacious, nicely designed... and in a few years, this hotel may well be worth it... but just not this or a big chunk of next year.

The internet connection was also very poor... You cannot complain there is no connection, because you can connect... but you do get the "Limited or no connectivity"...

Phuket is a wonderful island, Surin beach is a beautiful place... just give this hotel the necessary time to finish its construction and pick another location for now...

The picture they show here is quite correct (the pool really is very small) but if you were to take this picture today, you would be standing on the construction site :)

I just realized I should have taken some pictures... it simply did not occur to me at the time...

Room Tip: Do not choose this room in 2012 and check and double check if you want to book in 2013... From what...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arno J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Director of Sales at Surintra, responded to this review, 30 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Please accept our deepest apology for the late response in our behalf. We do understand your point of view. At the time you stayed in our hotel, we were making the new pool, and that pool is in between the new building and the old building that's why we took out the cover that was dividing the construction site to the main building. We started to build the new rooms 8 months ago and till the end of September we don't have much complain about the noise and the dust. But we do understand that every guest is different. We also have some small complains but we always talk to the guest and explain the situation. But the Construction is done as we will have a soft opening of the New Building on the 5th of December and fully open it on the 15th of December. We are fully sure with that as the owner of this hotel is also the Designer and Construction Owner, so we have full control of everything.

You can Check our Construction Progress in our FACEBOOK page. Surintra Boutique Resort.
We will also post some new photos of the current look of our hotel.

We will update you the best way we can.

Best Regards,

Surintra TEAM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

I stayed this hotel for my 4 days Phuket trip. The room is large and clean. Staff are helpful and friendly. Swimming pool is very nice. The location of hotel is near the Surin Beach where can access in 5 mins.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lamlokki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surintra, Public Relations Manager at Surintra, responded to this review, 12 January 2013
Hi!

Surintra Management is very glad to know that you had a good stay with us.
Thank you very much for sharing your nice experience. :)
We had expanded the hotel and added 30 rooms and open it last December.
Anyway, thank you very much once again and we hope to see you again in our hotel!!
You are more than welcome to come back . :)

Best Regards,

Surintra Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Choeng Thale
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
MANATHAI Surin Phuket
#14 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chava Resort
The Chava Resort
#1 of 34 in Choeng Thale
5.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Phuket Surin Beach Resort.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Patong Mansion Hotel
Patong Mansion Hotel
#3 of 321 in Patong
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.1 mi away
Twinpalms Phuket
Twinpalms Phuket
#9 of 95 in Thalang District
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,853 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
Ayara Hilltops Resort and Spa
#7 of 34 in Choeng Thale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surintra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surintra

Property: Surintra
Address: 49/1 Moo 3, Surin Beach Road, Choeng Thale, Phuket 83110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Phuket > Thalang District > Choeng Thale
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Choeng Thale
#11 Romantic Hotel in Choeng Thale
#13 Family Hotel in Choeng Thale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Surintra 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surintra is a chic modern and at charming Phuket boutique resort Surin beach Phuket. Intimate, serene and relaxing hotel resort on Surin beach. Surintra is an oasis of calm and tranquility on Phuket most popular Surin beach. Surrounded by tropical trees quaint shopping Surin beach road and set around a service of garden courtyards Surintra is the perfect base for exploring Surin beach, Phuket and beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Surintra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surintra Hotel Thalang
Surintra Phuket, Thailand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing